Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally....
Here they are! I have been waiting and WAITING for Carola Dunn to be reprinted with fresh, contemporary covers and here they are, and they do not leave you wanting. Keep them coming!!I will buy them all.

So, this is Book 1 of the Rothschild Trilogy, Miss Jacobson's Journey. Miriam Jacobson is a strong character who defies her parents wishes for her to marry a...
Published on 25 Nov. 2012 by victorianwannabe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars European journey
Miriam Jacobson rejects the match made for her by her parents with Isaac Cohen and humiliates Isaac by her rejection. For nine years she travels across Europe with her uncle who is a medical man and her faithful servant, Hannah.

When her uncle dies Miriam finds herself stuck in Europe because of the war with Napoleon until she is offered safe passage home if...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Damaskcat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally...., 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Jacobsonís Journey (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
Here they are! I have been waiting and WAITING for Carola Dunn to be reprinted with fresh, contemporary covers and here they are, and they do not leave you wanting. Keep them coming!!I will buy them all.

So, this is Book 1 of the Rothschild Trilogy, Miss Jacobson's Journey. Miriam Jacobson is a strong character who defies her parents wishes for her to marry a Mr Cohen, "a mere youth", "thin as a rake, pallidly sallow" with eyes that are "weak", "lackluster" and "red rimmed". And he can't grow a beard. After only one brief meeting, Miriam rejects him in favour of a life of adventure with her Uncle Amos, a doctor, who travels around Europe.

The story jumps to 1811, Uncle Amos has died, war has begun and Miriam knows it's time to go back to England, but how to get there? She strikes a deal with Mr Rothschild- he will get her home to England if she helps transport gold to General Wellington. She has two companions for her journey through France and Spain, handsome and arrogant Lord Felix Roworth, who has a grudge against Jews, and Isaac Cohen, who is of course the poor lad Miriam rejected in 1802, and for a while, Mr Cohen can't seem to let it go...

I don't want to spoil the ending, suffice to say that, as always, Carola Dunn delivers the perfect ending. The guy who gets Miriam does so because he's deserving of her, and not because he is "the very embodiment of her schoolgirl dreams". I've just given it away, haven't I?

I loved this book, Carola Dunn's writing style and her choice of language. I'm never bored by her, she keeps me turning the pages as if my life depends on it, and I'm only ever disappointed when the book ends. The research she must have put into this novel is pretty impressive. This lady knows what she is talking about, which is so refreshing and makes the read so much more enjoyable, I think.

Buy the whole trilogy, it's adorable and you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miss Jacobson a strong and lovely character, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Jacobsonís Journey (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
Miss Jacobson's Journey is the first of the Rothschild Trilogy,and my favourite!

This girl decides to refuse the young boy her parents choose for her as a husband and departs with her uncle Amos doctor . He is a researcher in génétical diseases and will go in all Europe . She will go with him till he dies. When she wants tio come back to England and settle down she canno't because of the blocus during Napoleon era.
So the adventure will begin: she will help Rothschild and he will send her safely to England.
A lot of romance,dangerous journey's and adventures! Mis Jacobson is a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful read and even more delighted when it turn out to be a trilogy., 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved reading this book only to find out there were two more. Just a wonderful read and beautifully written Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Jacobsen's Journey, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a 'different' romance story, set in the time of the Napoleonic war. It had plenty to keep the readers interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and disappointing, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read quite a few of the Daisy Dalrymple adventures I thought I would try one of Carola Dunn's other sagas. Oh dear I'm afraid I found this as ponderous as the old berline carriage which figured large in the plot. I confess that an episode from Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe kept hovering in the background of my mind whilst reading, and I missed its excitement and drive (and of course Sean Bean!) I also found it quite frustrating when Ms Dunn kept referring to Jewish life and practices, but then just failing to give you that little extra information to satisfy the curious. For instance what IS a "mezuzah"? Mentioned a couple of times but not explained. I get the impression that Ms Dunn was treading a fine line between using her knowledge of Jewish customs to set the tale in an unusual scenario, but running scared of overloading the story with explanations and information so that it became a text book. To sum up, a thin story line, implausible situations and stereotypical characters. I'm afraid I will not be rushing to get the next book in the saga. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable traditional regency romance, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Caz "So many books, so little time..." (Frinton-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fabulous trad. Regency, this time also featuring a large dollop of history alongside the romance.

We first meet the eponymous Miss Jacobson (Miriam) at the age of eighteen on the day she is to meet the young man her parents - and the matchmaker - have chosen for her to marry, but on glimpsing the rather gawky youth selected, she immediately rejects him rather cruelly. Instead, she announces her decision to accompany her uncle - a doctor - on his upcoming travels to Europe.

This is in 1802, and shortly afterwards travel between England and the Continent becomes difficult and dangerous, and Miriam is unable to return home.

We meet her again some nine years later when, after the death of her uncle, she decides to make the attempt to get back to England. Her quest for transport leads her to a meeting with Jakob Rothschild, who recruits her to assist two couriers - Isaac Cohen and Felix, Viscount Roworth - who are to smuggle badly needed gold through France and into Spain and into the coffers of the Duke of Wellington.
In return for her assistance, Rothschild guarantees to arrange Miriam's passage home, and she agrees.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading about their journey. Felix and Isaac are initially very hostile towards each other. In the early stages, Felix is often insulting and makes many derogatory remarks about Jews, which are quite hard to read in this day and age, although I imagine his attitude is typical of the men of his time.

The relationships between Miriam and the men are very well-drawn, and I especially enjoyed reading about Felix's progress from bigotry to tolerance and sympathy. He is soon won over by Isaac's loyalty and Miriam's resourcefulness, and the three of them become fast friends.

All does not go smoothly however, as in the course of their journey, the men are imprisoned, they are pursued and Felix is badly injured meaning that Isaac has to continue alone. Also serving to complicate matters is the fact that both the men are falling for Miriam and she for them. Felix - tall, strong, blond and blue-eyed - is the embodiment of her girlish dreams, yet Isaac (who she now knows to be the young man she rejected all those years ago) has changed much from the weedy scholar she first met, and has grown into a handsome and compassionate man - and Miriam is torn between them.

I found this to be enjoyable and engaging and am really looking forward to reading the other books in the trilogy - Lord Roworth's Reward and Captain Ingram's Inheritance (Rothschild Trilogy 3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars European journey, 20 May 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Miriam Jacobson rejects the match made for her by her parents with Isaac Cohen and humiliates Isaac by her rejection. For nine years she travels across Europe with her uncle who is a medical man and her faithful servant, Hannah.

When her uncle dies Miriam finds herself stuck in Europe because of the war with Napoleon until she is offered safe passage home if she will travel first to Spain with a consignment of gold for Wellington's army. Miriam agrees and finds herself on a coach journey across France with Felix Lord Roworth and the same Isaac Cohen she rejected nine years ago.

I found this book did not hold my attention quite as much as other Regency romances by this author have done. It is just as well written and the plot is interesting but there was something lacking and the book did not quite gel for me.

I sympathised with Miriam's impatience with the restrictions placed on women at the time and I liked the way the four travellers gradually settled into a workable relationship. Maybe I was in the wrong mood for this particular book and it will not stop me reading others by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rothschild 1, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Jacobsonís Journey (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
not sure to start with because used to Daisy Dalrymple series but the book grew on me an I could not wait to read the other two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars perfect light holiday reading, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect holiday reading. I love c. dunn's books and this is one of my regency favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Jacobsonís Journey (Daisy Dalrymple)
Miss Jacobson’s Journey (Daisy Dalrymple) by Carola Dunn (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews