Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rake's Progress
Lord Guy Carlton rents 67 Clarges Street in Mayfair. He has just returned from the war against Napoleon and wants a season of wine women and song. He has no intention of marrying - or he hasn't until he meets the beautiful and supremely wealthy, Miss Esther Jones.

The servants at the Clarges Street house think they'd be ideally suited and their track record...
Published 21 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars House for the Season - Rake's Progress
Rake's Progress (A House for the Season) is the fourth book in this series of books. Apparently, I'm reading them out of order. The remaining books are: The Miser of Mayfair (A House for the Season), Plain Jane (A House for the Season Series, Vol. 2), The Wicked Godmother (A House for the Season), The Adventuress (A House for the Season), Rainbird's Revenge (A House...
Published 1 month ago by Judge Tabor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars House for the Season - Rake's Progress, 20 Nov 2014
Rake's Progress (A House for the Season) is the fourth book in this series of books. Apparently, I'm reading them out of order. The remaining books are: The Miser of Mayfair (A House for the Season), Plain Jane (A House for the Season Series, Vol. 2), The Wicked Godmother (A House for the Season), The Adventuress (A House for the Season), Rainbird's Revenge (A House for the Season).

I'll get back to reading them in order, but wanted to write this review before I completely lose the plot and characters from what remains of my memory. Apparently the tall thin townhouse that sits at Number 67, Clarges Street in London's Mayfair neighborhood, has a type of permanent "family" which consists of a motley crew of servants who have become a family by choice - to this end they watch out for one another and basically pull together to get through life and all its happenings - finding it much easier to join together than go it alone.

Because the owner of the home, the Duke of Pelham's agent is a bully, cheat and liar, ripping off the duke and cheating the staff, the servants look forward to each season with the hopeful anticipation of getting tenants who will host house parties, routs, social events placing them in the path of guests who are generous with vails. You see, the servants are putting their money together into one common pot, so to speak, saving for the day when they will be able to purchase their very own inn. This enterprising group consists of: Head of the family - the butler, Rainbird; the housekeeper - Mrs. Middleton; the cook - Angus MacGregor; the somewhat effeminate footman - Joseph; the chambermaid - Jenny; the housemaid - Alice; the scullery maid - Lizzy; and, last but not least - Dave, the pot boy, who has been rescued from his miserable life as a climbing boy.

Seasonal tenants may come and go into 67 Clarges Street, but Rainbird and his group know who the real tenants are and they have become absolutely master manipulators and controllers in order to do whatever it takes to keep their little family intact. In fact, you've never found a more adaptable group and believe me - they are often challenged by their hey-go-mad tenants.

Into this home, the most recent tenant is shortly to descend - the younger son of the Earl of Cramworth, Lord Guy Carlton, home on leave from the war while he recuperates from wounds and a bit of PTSD. He's in a mood to partay hard along with his compadre, Mr. Tommy Roger. The first bash he holds is one I actually found despicable and prude that I can be, thereafter found it difficult to not hold Lord Guy in dislike. He got off to a bad start with this reader as well as some of the folks in the neighborhood.

It seems he and his friend Roger in their ventures out and about London have invited every light skirt they come across to a debauched evening, shocking even Rainbird and his staff who probably thought they'd seen it all. It was so bad, the female servants had to be kept below until the party was over. Lord Guy wakes up in bed naked along with three naked women, wondering if he'd "had" any of them.

So, as I said - bad start for me. Very shortly, however, Guy notices a beautiful Amazonian redhead, Esther, descending from the steps of a home in the neighborhood. Further investigation reveals her identity and a bit about her life. But... she knows about the party and wants nothing to do with him. For in fact, our lovely heroine was raised by a father who was a total rakehell and she is now very religious and conservative, caring for her younger brother and sister, Peter and Amy.

From here on out, the story improves as Lord Carlton does his utmost to prove himself to the lovely Esther, engaging Rainbird and his staff to aid him in his quest to capture Esther's heart. Lots of fun, some decent adventures, a valet who may or may not be a spy. Read to see how Lord Carlton makes progress in his efforts to woo Esther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rake's Progress, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lord Guy Carlton rents 67 Clarges Street in Mayfair. He has just returned from the war against Napoleon and wants a season of wine women and song. He has no intention of marrying - or he hasn't until he meets the beautiful and supremely wealthy, Miss Esther Jones.

The servants at the Clarges Street house think they'd be ideally suited and their track record at matchmaking is pretty good.
I enjoyed this fast paced romantic romp with its disastrous social situations caused by Esther's lack of knowledge of the ton and acceptable social behaviour. It was interesting to catch up with the activities of the servants headed by the multi-talented John Rainbird.

This is an entertaining light-hearted Regency romance and the fourth in the series featuring the tenants and servants of the house at 67 Clarges street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rakes Progress - Book, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
M. C. Beaton - what more can be said! An excellent read as usual from this lady. Historical - very evocative of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to form., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
M C Beaton is faultless. Cannot recommend enough if you are looking for an easy read that keeps your interest to the last page....and always on to the next in the series! Very clever! Have read all the Agatha Raisin, Hamish Macbeth, traveling matchmaker, A House For The Season, Six Sisters series etc, etc.. Can't get enough. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A light bit of fun, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a light hearted historical romance. The characters are engaging with the right amount of intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read for the end of the day, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find this series an interesting one to follow. with the servants of the house playing just as an important role to the hero and heroine. I did find the 'rake' slightly shallow in his character and hard to believe hence my three stars overall. However I have got the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable book. I enjoyed the whole series and would recommend them to anyone. I have read a few of this authors other books and found them enjoyable too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a very enjoyable read,it had humour, romance and some suspense, it is one os a series of books all of which are enjoyable and easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rake progress, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Rake's Progress (A House for the Season) (Paperback)
Very good - entertaining! The whole set of book well worth a read! Characters great! M C Beaton always write very witty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rake's Progress (A House for the Season) (Paperback)
A classic case of opposites attract, this novel is entertaining and continues to develop the relationships between the servants of this most unusual household...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rake's Progress (A House for the Season)
Rake's Progress (A House for the Season) by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews