Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain Jane
The Harts have two daughters - Euphemia and Jane. Euphemia is a beauty and Jane is always regarded as plain but it is Jane who has the nicer character and who endears herself to the servants at 67 Clarges Street in Mayfair which the family rents for the season. Fashionable rake, Lord Tregarthan, much prefers Jane to her sister and he finds common ground with the taciturn...
Published 18 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another easy read
Read this on hols after I'd read the Miser of Mayfair. Same house, same servants. Easy reading. More plot driven than character driven but the characters are a likeable bunch and the story chugs along at a good pace to a foregone conclusion. Perfect holiday reading.
Published 12 months ago by Jill in East Kent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain Jane, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Harts have two daughters - Euphemia and Jane. Euphemia is a beauty and Jane is always regarded as plain but it is Jane who has the nicer character and who endears herself to the servants at 67 Clarges Street in Mayfair which the family rents for the season. Fashionable rake, Lord Tregarthan, much prefers Jane to her sister and he finds common ground with the taciturn Mr Hart as they have both been involved in the Napoleonic wars.

Those who have read the first book in this series `The Miser of Mayfair' will find all the servants returned to their accustomed jobs and still poor through a series of misfortunes. Will the new tenants improve things for them?

I enjoyed this light hearted Regency romance with its many twists and turns and the entertaining characters. There are many amusing incidents too as the servants take the tenants to their hearts and endeavour to help along the cause of true love. Everyone is hoping that a few successful tenancies will help dispel the house's reputation for bad luck.

If you like well-drawn characters, and out of the ordinary plot and in insight into the life of servants then try this series. They can be read in any order but it helps if you read them in the order on which they were published to follow the developments with the servants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 9 Feb 2014
This review is from: Plain Jane (A House for the Season) (Paperback)
I always find MC Beaton books a mixture of comforting and un-put-downable. I have never read one I didnt like, from Agatha Raisin to these historical romps they are all full of lovely characters and they all have this wonderful atmosphere that makes me sad when they have finished. Its not rocket science, the plots would be laughable if anyone else had written them, but Beatons books have charm in buckets and I love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read!, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the story line and the history woven through it.i am quite hooked on m c Beaton and her regency tales. L j.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy the characters in this series, and this book is just as much fun as the others. I have read them out of order for some reason but they all stand on their own as stories so it doesn't really matter somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light reading 2, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lively read without having to think too much -perfect for a convalescent who cannot be bothered to read something deeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The house for a season, 12 Sep 2013
By 
KR "kr" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A house for the season. Great fun, light reading. Georgette Heyer type novel with an appealing heroine. A good fireside novel and ideal Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another easy read, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this on hols after I'd read the Miser of Mayfair. Same house, same servants. Easy reading. More plot driven than character driven but the characters are a likeable bunch and the story chugs along at a good pace to a foregone conclusion. Perfect holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep them coming...., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
M C Beaton is faultless. Cannot recommend enough if you are looking for an easy read that keeps your interest to the last page....and always on to the next in the series! Very clever! Have read all the Agatha Raisin, Hamish Macbeth, traveling matchmaker, A House For The Season, Six Sisters series etc, etc.. Can't get enough. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes I would recommend this book. I like the historical background and the romantic feel of the book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
l recommend this book to my friends. The romantic and historic background made it all the more interesting. I found it and excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What you see is what you get, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another consistent regency tale from M C Beaton and part of one of many series of stories. This story has good background detail without reaching any original heights. A pleasant and undemanding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plain Jane (A House for the Season)
Plain Jane (A House for the Season) by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 7 Feb 2013)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews