Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain Jane
The Harts have two daughters - Euphemia and Jane. Euphemia is a beauty and Jane is always regarded as plain but it is Jane who has the nicer character and who endears herself to the servants at 67 Clarges Street in Mayfair which the family rents for the season. Fashionable rake, Lord Tregarthan, much prefers Jane to her sister and he finds common ground with the taciturn...
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another easy read
Read this on hols after I'd read the Miser of Mayfair. Same house, same servants. Easy reading. More plot driven than character driven but the characters are a likeable bunch and the story chugs along at a good pace to a foregone conclusion. Perfect holiday reading.
Published 19 months ago by Jill in East Kent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain Jane, 19 Feb. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Harts have two daughters - Euphemia and Jane. Euphemia is a beauty and Jane is always regarded as plain but it is Jane who has the nicer character and who endears herself to the servants at 67 Clarges Street in Mayfair which the family rents for the season. Fashionable rake, Lord Tregarthan, much prefers Jane to her sister and he finds common ground with the taciturn Mr Hart as they have both been involved in the Napoleonic wars.

Those who have read the first book in this series `The Miser of Mayfair' will find all the servants returned to their accustomed jobs and still poor through a series of misfortunes. Will the new tenants improve things for them?

I enjoyed this light hearted Regency romance with its many twists and turns and the entertaining characters. There are many amusing incidents too as the servants take the tenants to their hearts and endeavour to help along the cause of true love. Everyone is hoping that a few successful tenancies will help dispel the house's reputation for bad luck.

If you like well-drawn characters, and out of the ordinary plot and in insight into the life of servants then try this series. They can be read in any order but it helps if you read them in the order on which they were published to follow the developments with the servants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 9 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Plain Jane (A House for the Season) (Paperback)
I always find MC Beaton books a mixture of comforting and un-put-downable. I have never read one I didnt like, from Agatha Raisin to these historical romps they are all full of lovely characters and they all have this wonderful atmosphere that makes me sad when they have finished. Its not rocket science, the plots would be laughable if anyone else had written them, but Beatons books have charm in buckets and I love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read!, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the story line and the history woven through it.i am quite hooked on m c Beaton and her regency tales. L j.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy the characters in this series, and this book is just as much fun as the others. I have read them out of order for some reason but they all stand on their own as stories so it doesn't really matter somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read but generally overpriced, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book of the House for a Season series - one of M C Beaton's historical romance series originally published under one of her other pen names (Marion Chesney). I read the first book of this series some time ago at discount and was delighted to pick up the second one as a Kindle Daily Deal. If you've read any of Beaton's other Georgian series' (the School for Manners/Travelling Matchmaker/Six Sisters all share some of the same tropes) you'll find nothing to surprise you here. It's still a good fun read, even if you sense it does very much follow a formula (and a formula that I like I'll admit) and I suspect I know how the end of the series will turn out for the unfortunate servants of No. 67 Clarges Street (although I'll be waiting for the prices to come down or to pick them up from the library/charity shop to find out).

This entry to the series concerns a plain sister transformed into the belle of the ball, whilst her beautiful-on-the-outside sister fails to shine. I enjoyed it, but as it only took me about 90 minutes to read I was pleased with the price that I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light reading 2, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lively read without having to think too much -perfect for a convalescent who cannot be bothered to read something deeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The house for a season, 12 Sept. 2013
By 
KR "kr" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A house for the season. Great fun, light reading. Georgette Heyer type novel with an appealing heroine. A good fireside novel and ideal Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another easy read, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this on hols after I'd read the Miser of Mayfair. Same house, same servants. Easy reading. More plot driven than character driven but the characters are a likeable bunch and the story chugs along at a good pace to a foregone conclusion. Perfect holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep them coming...., 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
M C Beaton is faultless. Cannot recommend enough if you are looking for an easy read that keeps your interest to the last page....and always on to the next in the series! Very clever! Have read all the Agatha Raisin, Hamish Macbeth, traveling matchmaker, A House For The Season, Six Sisters series etc, etc.. Can't get enough. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes I would recommend this book. I like the historical background and the romantic feel of the book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
l recommend this book to my friends. The romantic and historic background made it all the more interesting. I found it and excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plain Jane (A House for the Season)
Plain Jane (A House for the Season) by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 7 Feb. 2013)
£6.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews