Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted and fun read
I was so pleased to see The Miser of Mayfair had been re-issued. It and other Regencies were originally published in the 1980s under MC Beaton's alternative pen name of Marion Chesney. They were extremely hard to find and expensive, but now several of her Regency series are available again in paperback and kindle editions, with fabulous new covers.

The Miser...
Published 16 months ago by Miss Cupcake

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars REGENCY FAIRYTALE
This is the first book in the House for the Season Series by M.C. Beaton.

Retired Scottish lawyer Roderick Sinclair is disappointed to discover that instead of the vast fortune he hoped for, after his brother's death he only inherits his brother's ward, Miss Fiona Sinclair. Practically penniless, desperate, and unable to provide for the young woman, Sinclair...
Published 15 months ago by Eleni


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted and fun read, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so pleased to see The Miser of Mayfair had been re-issued. It and other Regencies were originally published in the 1980s under MC Beaton's alternative pen name of Marion Chesney. They were extremely hard to find and expensive, but now several of her Regency series are available again in paperback and kindle editions, with fabulous new covers.

The Miser of Mayfair is a fun, easy read, the first in a series featuring the various tenants of a London townhouse, No. 67 Clarges Street. No. 67 is in Mayfair and comes complete with staff, but it has a reputation for being unlucky. Consequently it remains vacant year after year and the servants are struggling to survive.

The staff hope the arrival of Mr Roderick Sinclair and his lovely ward Fiona at No 67 may change their fortunes, but then it appears Mr Sinclair is a miser and Fiona is a beautiful airhead. Or are they?

Great light reading with a fabulous cast of characters, especially Rainbird the butler. Plenty of gentle humour and the plot rattles along nicely. The romantic elements are glossed over somewhat but MC Beaton is such an entertaining storyteller, you barely miss them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Miser of Mayfair, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The house at 67 Clarges Street Mayfair has developed a reputation for being unlucky and consequently no one wants to hire it for the season but this year it looks as though the house's luck might have changed. Roderick Sinclair has been left custody of his brother's ward, Fiona Sinclair, and decides to launch her on the marriage market in London. A cheap house in the right area looks like just the thing for him as his brother neglected to leave him his fortune along with his ward.

I enjoyed this light hearted and fast paced story where the servants - led by the butler, Mr Rainbird, are as much part of it as the Sinclairs. Fiona herself is an interesting character who is definitely more than just a very beautiful face. I liked the way the characters of the servants was developed in the book and the way they struggle to make ends meet because of very low wages paid by the agent who manages the house for its owner.

If you enjoy Regency romances then try this one as it is something a little different from the usual book in this genre. There are plenty of humorous touches and interesting characters as well. This is the first book in the House for a Season series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good introduction to the series. The characters a good fun and it is enjoyable getting to know them. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars REGENCY FAIRYTALE, 24 April 2013
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Miser of Mayfair (A House for the Season) (Paperback)
This is the first book in the House for the Season Series by M.C. Beaton.

Retired Scottish lawyer Roderick Sinclair is disappointed to discover that instead of the vast fortune he hoped for, after his brother's death he only inherits his brother's ward, Miss Fiona Sinclair. Practically penniless, desperate, and unable to provide for the young woman, Sinclair decides to take Fiona to London for the Season, hoping that her astonishing beauty will secure her a rich husband, so he sells his few possessions and rents the cheapest house in Mayfair, Number 67 Clarges Street. The house has a reputation of being unlucky and the servants have been unemployed for a long time, so they are delighted to help the beautiful, but seemingly stupid Miss Fiona acquire a respectable husband and change their fortune as well.

This is a light read with likable characters, somewhat interesting plot and some humour. Something between a simplified uninspired version of a Jane Austen novel and a fairytale, with the normal set of characters, like the damsel in distress, the evil villains, the honest and helpful servants, and a slightly unattractive prince charming. The story was rather predictable and a little depressing, the characters not very well developed and the relationships superficial. The best thing about this little book were the servants of the house, and the descriptions of their everyday life and the problems the have to face when the house is not rented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Miser of Mayfair, 26 April 2013
By 
E. A. Irwin (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant 0h so brilliant this book was again extremely cleverly written to deal with another different type of story I can`t get enough of M C Beaton`s style of writing in all her different types of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Main Character, 21 April 2013
I loved the heroine of this book. As the book progresses the denouement of her full nature is fabulous. It's a very easy read and I loved the misbehaving Lords and gambling Ladies of this historic comedy. And who doesn't love a novel set in Mayfair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I fell out of my seat laughing and it is only the first in a series featuring this house promising more joy to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mcbeaton miser of mayfair, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what you need for a lose yourself in romance fun, will also bring a tear to the eyes of the more silly of you such as me. M.c.beaton never fails to deliver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Started well - rushed finish, 29 April 2014
By 
K. Hare (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book started well and I was really enjoying it but it somewhat fell apart towards the end with a disappointing and rushed finish that had me wanting to throw it into the bin! Disappointing after a promising start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like Georgette Heyer at her best, 13 April 2014
By 
E. WOOLSTON (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a while since I've met a character that I've liked as much as Fiona, vacant, biddable bird-brain on the surface, smart as paint underneath. And then the wonderful butler, Rainbird, what a dream!. This book had me smiling all the way through. It was never sickly or obvious and brought you right into the Regency period with its stars and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Miser of Mayfair (A House for the Season)
The Miser of Mayfair (A House for the Season) by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 7 Feb 2013)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews