Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars130
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2013
This was a book which should make everyone who works with children think more deeply about what is going on in the minds of youngsters who appear to be "difficult".
Shane Dunphy must be a very empathic and patient person and those who either work with him or are helped by him are fortunate indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
As a new foster carer I thought that it would be beneficial to me to read books about children with behavioural issues & unique needs. I really enjoyed the book, I will read more so that I can maybe learn how to deal with challenging situations in my fostering future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
This is the first of his books I have read, it was very enjoyable. Interesting read and good account of his time working with some troubled nursery school children. True and interesting story and I will read more by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
This is the true story about children with various disabilities in a creche and how they were helped to sort out their problems. I found it extremely interesting and well written and encouraging. Definitely worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
This is a good book to read if you enjoy finding out about children with problems and how they are made to feel they are part of their community all thanks to one man who was prepared to give them his time and dedication
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
This is my favourite book for a long time - a most heartwarming and admirable account of overcoming the difficulties of working with and influencing some very difficult children who have so many problems to overcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
This book is so sad and it really gets to you emotions. It makes you understand how the children feel in this situation. i cried so much reading what this lille girl went through throughout her life. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Shane tells this tale with passion and love for the children he cared for. How he managed to give all the time he did is amazing. A well written book with lots of smiles as well as tears. Couldn't put it downu
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I couldnt work out if this was fiction or autobiography to begin with, but it soon became clear. A brilliant concise account of how adults can work with hurt and damaged children and achieve amazing results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Didn't realise until the end this was a true story. Incredible compassion shown whilst full acceptance and description of human failings, including the author's own. Going to read more of his works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)