Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly moving.
I bought this on a whim when it was a daily deal, and it's taken me a while to finish simply because I have been savouring it.

Dunphy is skilled at creating pencil portraits of both his charges and his fellow careworkers, and some of those portraits are heartbreaking. His compassion shines through, though he is also ready to confess the mistakes he made...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by tiggrie AKA Sarah

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Children in Need
Although I found this book very informative, I couldn't actually say I liked it. I think the organisation that helped this child, and others like her, have a very important place in today's life.
Published 22 months ago by sandra benardout


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy all of Shanes book. if you buy this book,it follows that you will become a fan of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. Elaine C. Martindale (watford.herts, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Couldn't Smile (Paperback)
What a fantastic book, just like all his others. Leaves you wanting to read more. I cant wait for another book from Shane. He really draws you into the story. We need an update book now for all his stories to update us on the progress these kids make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read,, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice easy read with a mix of humour and sadness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars still a good read., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable but obvious., still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy reading, 5 July 2014
By 
K Harrop (cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read in 2 days. Author has a great style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read that is hard to put down. A mixture of funny and sad at the same time. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 24 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully written true story about a man and his short time in a nursery for children who no one else wanted. Loved reading about their adventures and the staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read it, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was an excellent book a real insight into some of the heroes of our world. People who care about the less fortunate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the girl who couldnt' smile, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found it very interesting. Couldn't put it down. Quite an eye opener for me into some of the problems these children have to put up with. Admire the patience of those who work with them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this is not my field I found it a compelling read, not too taxing but thought provoking at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl Who Couldn't Smile
The Girl Who Couldn't Smile by Shane Dunphy (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews