Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SENSORY JOURNEY
TOM ALL ALONE'S by Lynn Shepherd conjures up so many vivid images that it is like taking trip back in time to Victorian England ala H.G. Wells time machine. The writing is so descriptive you can almost smell the aromas pouring from the sewage laden streets which are inhabited by their equally filthy residents. Add to this scenario a former policeman turned private...
Published 19 months ago by Red Rock Bookworm

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but Flawed
This is a good idea that doesn't quite come off. Using characters from both "Bleak House" and "The Woman in White", the author attempts to fashion a detective story that runs alongside the two classic novels - that is, she is not writing a sequel or a "prequel" but inserting her novel into the same time frame as the two novels she is attempting to emulate.Like the new...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by Smith


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real corker, 24 Feb 2012
By 
I loved this book. Great if you know the Dicken's characters, because I found the minds eye picture you have of them adds a really full dimension. Written well and a really clever plot. I loved authors use of words that were current, but are now out of use. Full 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same book, different titles, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs (Sudbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an enthralling book with a clever use of Dicken's characters. I was happy to see another book by this author coming out in May BUT, and I think this should be made clear; A Solitary House is the US title of Tom-All-Alone's. I hope there will be more books featuring Charles Maddox>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth reading...unlike the works of JK Rowling, 9 April 2014
This review is from: Tom-All-Alone's (Charles Maddox 2) (Paperback)
I wont dignify this hack with the courtesy of commenting heavily on her book save to say its nothing special. At least ive read the books. Which is more than can be said of this author vis a vis other authors.

Basically, dont waste your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Margaret (Roydon, Diss, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and well plotted. It has made me go back and reread BLEAK HOUSE and THE WOMAN IN WHITE so I can reread TOM-ALL-ALONE and not miss any of the allusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will seriously encroach on your time! Brilliant read, 21 Feb 2012
By 
D. Cameron (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can only add my voice to the previous reviews - i note it gets five stars from everyone! Beautifully written, evocative, engrossing, thought provoking, daringly using characters from The Man himself - and using them well. I literally! could not put this book down - anything else i was doing seriously interfered with my immersion in this book, Absolulely first class and please please let there be a sequel, wiith Charles Maddox in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars apparently.., 9 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Tom-All-Alone's (Charles Maddox 2) (Paperback)
according to lynn shepherd you don't need to read a book to critique it, so this must be very poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An inferior novel for inferior people. Probably., 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Tom-All-Alone's (Charles Maddox 2) (Paperback)
I haven't read a word of this book. Why would I, when "there’s so many other books out there that are surely more stimulating for grown-up minds". You might be thinking, well how could I know that, seeing as I haven't read it, and that I'm a complete goof for saying anything so asinine. And you would be right. But
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Interested, 9 April 2014
Unfortunately this author believes that other top authors should cease writing novels once the have been successful. I cannot agree with the attitude and therefore will not buy any book written by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Tom, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom-All-Alone's (Charles Maddox 2) (Paperback)
Not a bad read but nothing special. There are some much better historicals about,
Doesn't rate with Sansom or Parris.j
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom-All-Alone's (Charles Maddox 2)
Tom-All-Alone's (Charles Maddox 2) by Lynn Shepherd (Paperback - 6 Sep 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews