Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable for dipping in to, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
Ideal for the cricket enthusiast used to talking or reminiscing about the anecdotes and history of the game. I liked the article about Derek Randall batting against the Australians (by Mike Brierley), which I half-remember, and the one about Holmes and Sutcliffe making their 555 opening partnership, which my dad half-remembered and eulogised about to me, in my youth. This book is great for dipping in to, to see if there's something you watched, remember or know about, and to read new things about the game in very varied times and places (not all entirely factual, I feel). If you, or someone you know, has an interest in cricket, and likes to pass a few hours at a time reflecting and cogitating upon the game, to no immediately discernible effect, this is a book to keep at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to dip into again, and again, and again, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
Brian Levison has compiled a wonderfully eclectic collection of cricket writing, with more than 150 pieces, arranged by topic in 22 chapters. The writers range from the 18th Century (John Nyren) to the present day, by famous writers (Cardus, Arlott, Robertson-Glasgow) to the more obscure (for example, William Slatter, Head Groundsman at Lord's at the start of the 20th Century), and geographically from Fiji and Samoa to Denmark and New Jersey (WG Grace's reminiscences of playing there). The selection includes many contemporary writers and players: Angus Fraser, Vic Marks, Mike Brearley, Rachel Heyhoe Flint, Marcus Trescothick, Phil Tufnell among many others. This is a book to dip into again and again, and always find something new and fascinating: perfect bedside reading on a balmy summer's night, or in freezing February. But, rather as with a box of chocolates, once you've `dipped in' to read one piece, you will find yourself reading another, and another, and another ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best cricket anthology I've read, 8 Jun 2014
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
...and I've read a few!

This is the kind of book that I have usually bought or been given as a gift since I was so high. But, three decades since my fascination with the sport and its literature began, this anthology is, by a stretch, the best collection of cricket writing I have read. Levison's range is born of a wide, wide knowledge and an ear for a finely tuned sentence. There is not a duff piece in here, and, to his great credit, it steers away from the humdrum, platitudinous "oh, my dear old thing, isn't it marvellous" rubbish that often uses up space in these collections.

I got this for Xmas, and have deliberately played a longish innings with it. There are pieces that the avid reader of the game will have come across before, but that is to be expected; Levison's skill is in managing to pick some of the best passages from already familiar books and allow you to enjoy them again. That said, there will be some really interesting new pieces for everyone. When I finished the other day, it was with some regret; I am sure Levison has the breadth for another volume.

Highly recommended for the cricket and cricket literature enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All In a Days Cricket, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
I was looking for a cricket anthology to read to an elderly gentleman and this is just perfect! It even got me interested in the game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift for someone interested in cricket and they said they enjoyed it. Easy to dip in and out of and a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spell-binding, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
A truly magical book, which deserves all the praises that reviewers have heaped upon it. You can open it anywhere, because it gives you the keys to a minor universe. But be warned - it's not so easy to close it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gift for a cricketer, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. M. Cawsey "flagpole@lechlade.com" (At the head of the Thames) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
A good read according to the recipient. I really cannot add any more about this well presented book which was despatched as a Christmas present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present post-Christmas, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing (Hardcover)
Bought for a very, very discerning cricket fan - who was absolutely delighted with it. Highly recommended for all fans of the willow and leather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All in a Day's Cricket: An Anthology of Outstanding Cricket Writing
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews