Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Guide for the Casual Fan
I've just read the reviews on the US site, and there seems to be some annoyance about the films included. I came to this book as a casual fan of horror films, and the selection of films didn't seem a big deal to me, I simply enjoyed it for what it was.

In his introduction, Peter Normanton clearly states that this is not a comprehensive list, despite having over...
Published on 21 Oct. 2012 by Michelle Moore

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough book but missing the genre point
The book is good at giving information on the films it lists but doesn't just list "Slasher Films" and is sorely missing key Slasher Film from throughout the years from it's pages,
Published 21 months ago by Edward Horrorman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Guide for the Casual Fan, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Michelle Moore (Dartford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Slasher Movies (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I've just read the reviews on the US site, and there seems to be some annoyance about the films included. I came to this book as a casual fan of horror films, and the selection of films didn't seem a big deal to me, I simply enjoyed it for what it was.

In his introduction, Peter Normanton clearly states that this is not a comprehensive list, despite having over 250 films listed. By the end of his research, he had over 1000, so he's tried to come up with a good selection. One thing I did notice is that sequels don't get their own entries, but are simply mentioned under the original film. I'm sure a whole book could be written about horror movie sequels, but don't expect to find them here.

The films included are in alphabetical order, with basic info, a synopsis of the story, and some background information, such as whether they were banned, or notes on filming. They're also given a 'splatter rating'. It seems important to point out that these are 'slasher and splatter' movies, which means a lot of zombie type films are included.

There are a few little extras, such as an overview of the genre, information on some of the directors, and a list of 'video nasties' which were banned.

I enjoyed looking up the films I've watched in the past, as well as finding some I'd like to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable book., 20 Dec. 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Slasher Movies (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I have plenty of books that cover the same ground but for the price and size this one is a winner.
The reviews are enjoyable and well written and whilst it's not the most comprehensive of reference books (something the author admits to in his introduction) it's still a fine effort.
Great for dipping into or just reminding you of what great films are out there if you are stuck for something to watch in the evening.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. Jason E. Parry "paz" (cwmbran,wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book if you like your slasher movies,lots of good info on the films and covers all the best slasher movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but..., 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Slasher Movies (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Great book indeed!!! Not that I agree with all the reviews (which is only OK, as every review is subjective), but I can't help it, reading the review for Hostel I have noticed the mention of "war-torn Slovakia", well, considering the last war in my country ended in 1945, such a statement doesn't really do good to the author (who, as many Americans do, evidently mistakes Slovakia for ex-Yugoslavian republic of Slovenia). Other than that, I can only recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 21 April 2013
By 
Joe A. Morrison (Dysart,Fife,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im a fan of the slasher genre. This book brought a few new films to my attention. Good indepth analysis of each movie,even if the gore rating is slightly too heavy for my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Slasher Movies (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
nice books for fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough book but missing the genre point, 14 May 2013
By 
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Slasher Movies (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
The book is good at giving information on the films it lists but doesn't just list "Slasher Films" and is sorely missing key Slasher Film from throughout the years from it's pages,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mammoth Book of Slasher Movies (Mammoth Books)
The Mammoth Book of Slasher Movies (Mammoth Books) by Peter Normanton (Paperback - 18 Oct. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews