Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly spine chilling his is a real page turner.
Since moving into an apartment in Boothgate House in the Yorkshire city of Eborby Lydia Brookes has been having nightmares, but always the same one. She discovers that Boothgate House prior to being converted into a luxury apartment building was formerly known as Havenby Hall, an asylum for the insane, and it was here that the serial killer Peter Brockmeister was sent on...
Published on 29 May 2012 by Elizabeth Hayes

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The series gets better
I've read all the books in the Joe Plantagenet series so far and this is the best. I have to qualify that comment by stating that I don't think that Kate Ellis is a particularly gifted crime writer, but this is an entertaining yarn none the less.

One of the weaknesses with Kate's writing is her characterisation - I really want to know more about he protagonist...
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by Mortbook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly spine chilling his is a real page turner., 29 May 2012
This review is from: Watching the Ghosts (Joe Plantagenet Mysteries) (Hardcover)
Since moving into an apartment in Boothgate House in the Yorkshire city of Eborby Lydia Brookes has been having nightmares, but always the same one. She discovers that Boothgate House prior to being converted into a luxury apartment building was formerly known as Havenby Hall, an asylum for the insane, and it was here that the serial killer Peter Brockmeister was sent on his release from prison in 1978. Three years later Havenby Hall was closed.

Taking a call from her senior partner whilst in the park with her small daughter Daisy, solicitor Melanie Hawkes takes her eyes off Daisy for a few minutes and Daisy is gone.

Investigating both a burglary reported by Lydia Brooks, and the kidnapping of Daisy Hawkes, DI Joe Plantagenet learns that at the time of the kidnapping Melanie Hawkes was looking into suspicious events at Havenby Hall on behalf of a client.

When by chance Lydia Brooks comes face to face with her nightmare which links back to Havenby Hall, Lydia decides to do some research herself, and uncovers some disturbing information. While Joe Plantagenet's investigations reveal the sickening truth about Havenby Hall, the knowledge places Joe in terrible danger.

Kate Ellis has woven a fascinating mystery as several seemingly unrelated matters lead back to the sinister past of Havenby Hall, and the death of Peter Brockmeister in mysterious circumstances. Incredibly spine chilling this is a real page turner. Although sometimes so creepy, I was almost fearful of turning the page. Highly recommended.
-----
Lizzie Hayes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read for Pleasure, 17 May 2012
This review is from: Watching the Ghosts (Joe Plantagenet Mysteries) (Hardcover)
I really liked this book as I have everything else written by Kate Ellis. I read for pleasure and don't tend to try and analysis it page by page afterwards! The story gripped me and I read it in a day. I found the characters beliveable and didn't expect the twist at the end. Surely that is a sign of a good book! Carry on, Kate, I look forward to the next one. Readers: just enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching the Ghosts, 12 May 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A small child is kidnapped apparently under her mother's nose. A burglar is going round piling up furniture against his victims' front doors so that he can make a quick getaway through the back door if the owners of the property suddenly arrive home. Lydia has just moved into a newly converted flat in what was a mental hospital in the historic city of Eborby and is troubled by nightmares which feature a malevolent clock. DI Joe Plantagenet and his boss, DCI Emily Thwaite are trying to keep a lid on the crime rate.

If you add into the mix a university researcher who has found something evil and a man with an obsession with a serial killer the result is spine chilling and a frightening read. This is a fast paced and well written story with more than a hint of supernatural happenings which make the hairs on the back of the reader's neck stand on end. I got close to the end of the book quite late last night but made myself leave the last three chapters until daylight!

I like the police characters in this series - Joe, with his troubled past and his current loneliness, Emily trying to juggle a hectic job and family life; I also like George Merryweather - the clergyman with the job of dealing with supernatural happenings. The background of the ancient city with its narrow streets and chequered past gives an added frisson to this series which mixes ghostly happenings with crime which is all too real and substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The series gets better, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Mortbook (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all the books in the Joe Plantagenet series so far and this is the best. I have to qualify that comment by stating that I don't think that Kate Ellis is a particularly gifted crime writer, but this is an entertaining yarn none the less.

One of the weaknesses with Kate's writing is her characterisation - I really want to know more about he protagonist. This is disappointing because I live near York (pseudonymously called Eborby in the books) and this is what keeps me reading. A strong editorial hand, less plot and stronger characters and this series could be memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excllent, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic page turner. Have read every Kate Ellis book and have not been disappointed yet. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Kate Ellis as always, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan and Kate Ellis has written yet another book I found impossible to put down. I cannot wait for Book 5 in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner!!, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well developed characters and an interesting storyline made for a most entertaining read. I highly recommend this book and suggest you check out the other books Kate Ellis has written. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kate Ellis delivers once again., 29 Nov. 2012
By 
CaroleHarry (England, Guisborough) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another excellent police novel featuring DI Joe Plantagenet & DCI Thwaite. Set in the fictional city of Eborby, North Yorkshire(York to you & I). Once again the past & the supernatural rear their heads as the pair race to solve a kidnapping & set of murders. Are they interlinked? Has Joe finally found a female companion or will she be the next victim? Has a dead murderer re surfaced or is it a copy cat killer. The book twists & turns before the truth is revealed. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Read, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Another well constructed,fascinating novel by Kate Ellis.The reader's attention is held right the way through with plenty of fascinating twists & turns.There's a deserved outcome for one of the characters,a satisfying outcome. A well written & well thought out tale of suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the Ghosts (Joe Plantagenet Mysteries) (Hardcover)
This is the fourth in the Joe Plantagenet series. I was really looking forward to reading this and I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watching the Ghosts (Joe Plantagenet Mysteries)
Watching the Ghosts (Joe Plantagenet Mysteries) by Kate Ellis (Hardcover - 31 May 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews