Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent application of strategies, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
As a Positive Psychology coach I have been using the strategies detailed in Miriam's book for the past 18 months. Whilst the strategies themselves are not new, the way Miriam has applied them and the examples provided are excellent.

I help people who are suffering from depression and they have all benefitted from the use of these strategies. If you want to help yourself to achieve that virtuous spiral, then buy this book and take it one step at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to positive psychology, 17 May 2013
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
You don't need to be depressed to benefit from this book. It's full of realistic techniques to help you flourish and reach your potential in life, whatever your emotional starting point. One of my favourites is asking yourself three simple questions: `What's going right in my life right now? What is there to be pleased about? What is there to be grateful for?' It's easy to do and a guaranteed way to lift your mood at any point in the day. What I also love is that it's fantastic value for money, as for the cost of one book, you also get the condensed wisdom of several others, in an easy-to-understand format. In fact, it works as a concise and readable introduction to positive psychology and it's a great source of ideas for further reading - I have this book to thank for introducing me to the wonderful Carol Dweck and her inspiring book Mindset. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read !, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
This is the first book I've read about depression that hasn't made me feel depressed. It's uplifting, inspiring, hopeful, often amusing and of course - positive.

I urge everyone to read it, not just people who have been or are depressed. As Miriam explains, the Positive Psychology aspect of this book isn't just about getting out of depression, its about moving into a positive emotional state - happiness!

There are lots of simple and practical suggestions and exercises to do and Miriam shares her own personal experience and journey from a downward spiral of depression to an upward spiral of positivity.

I read this book in 2 days because I couldn't put it down! Although there is lots of research evidence to support Miriam's suggestions, this does not read like a dreary textbook and each concept is explained in simple and easily understood terms.

Reading this book will cheer and encourage you, whether you have depression or not! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coverage of an important new approach, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
Miriam Akhtar's excellent book breaks new ground, being the first self-help guide for depression that is based on Positive Psychology. It is well-written, accessible and reflects the latest research that applies Positive Psychology (which is often referred to as 'happiness science') to helping people who are in emotional distress. Of course, there is the disclaimer that this book is not a substitute for professional help, and those who are experiencing severe clinical depression will certainly need the help of a professional clinician, but there is growing acknowledgement that much can be done to aid recovery, to build resilience, and to reduce the risk of subsequent relapse by helping people to address aspects of their outlook and their lifestyle. This is what this book does extremely well. Miriam Akhtar is very well-versed in positive psychology research and she presents a well-informed guide to increasing optimism, cultivating an attitude of gratitude, engaging in mindfulness and other strategies for building resilience and turning a vicious circle into a virtuous circle in which things get better and better. Martin Seligman has said that when he was successful in treating people with depression he recognised that he didn't generally leave them happy; he often left them empty. There is increasing proof, and increasing recognition, that continued well-being comes from having a lifestyle that is engaged and meaningful. The need to strategically create a life of meaning and engagement is especially strong for people who are vulnerable to depression or other kinds of emotional distress. This very readable and thoroughly sensible book will help people to manage their thinking and their lifestyle so that they reduce their current distress and reduce the risk of future distress. There is growing interest in the application of positive psychology ideas and strategies to clinical issues and this book is an excellent early example of what might well become a highly significant movement.

Professor Neil Frude, Consultant Clinical Psychologist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A helpful mix of techniques and information, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Steve "steve31393" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book before taking one of Miriam Akhtar's Positive Psychology Master Classes as a primer. I found it well written and very easy to follow, which was a relief as sometimes psychology research can be a bit dry. The book contains not just the theory but practical exercises the reader can do to actually experience the theory. Another bonus was the author's obvious passion and commitment to the work that she does. The success stories she quotes are heartwarming. The reader is left in no doubt that positive psychology is a force for good in the world, not some re-packaged jaded self-help advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better future focus, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
Helps to view situation in a much better light helping a person to obtain a happier outlook making a happy future seem attainable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as part of continuing professional development for my job working with people with .mental health issues. It was so good I worked through the exercises myself; even though I'm quite a happy person this book still improved my happiness level. It's really turned me on to positive psychology, I am a convert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just what I needed, 25 Jun 2013
By 
BP1 "BP1" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
This is just what I needed... A book that helps me to turn my life around, is research based but has not lost its' humanity. Superb doesn't really cover it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An innovative approach to depression, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
As I am currently studying psychology at the Open University, I am always interested in reading about the latest innovations in the field. I was drawn to Miriam Akhtar's book as it seems to be the first so far to link what has been learnt from positive psychology to the experience of depression. Miriam uses the scientific findings from positive psychology to suggest strategies which can help people with depression in an insightful way. The book is extremely readable and I would recommend it for anyone interested in positive psychology, mental health, or as a handbook if you are yourself depressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical and effective approach, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression (Paperback)
This has to be by far the most interesting and accessible book dealing with this subject. Miriam Akhtar writes in a style that is informative, entertaining and made all the more poignant by her own experiences. With one in two adults expected to have an episode of depression in their lives perhaps this book should be available on the NHS! The easy to follow strategies are effective in building resilience and changing your view of the world and your place within it. It is an uplifting and inspiring book which puts happiness within the reach of everyone. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression
Positive Psychology for Overcoming Depression by Miriam Akhtar (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews