Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful study of the economics of the September decision
Gavin McCrone was for 20 years Chief Economic Adviser to Secretaries of State for Scotland. He is now Professor of Economics at Edinburgh University Business School. He writes, “This is not a book beholden to either the independence or the ‘Better Together’ campaigns; its purpose has been to set out the issues for both independence and a greater degree...
Published 14 months ago by William Podmore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Has not made me make up my mind, still undecided
Published 10 months ago by Peter Lourie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Well balanced read, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well balanced view on a very complex subject and reviews every aspect of Scottish Independence. The book gives a good insight into the numerous points of view, both historic and modern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still on the fence., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear information well presented in bite sized chunks. The author obviously knows his subject. It was helpful to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Readable, 9 April 2014
An excellent book explaining the economics associated with independence in a way that is mostly understandable for someone like me with no background in economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great summary of the issues., 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sparing use of relevant statistics leads to a simple and clear statement of the areas that are important in the debate. The writing is also very clear and jargon free. This book should be read by both those in Scotland and those in the other parts of the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended... especially if you are undecided!, 27 Aug. 2014
Highly recommended, regardless of how you're going to vote. This is about the most impartial analysis of the referendum debate I have seen so far. I read through 200 pages of this book and after finishing it, I still have no idea how Prof. McCrone is going to cast his vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Referendum Info, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where are all these people who "require answers" coming from.
All the information is out there if you just apply youself and you can do no better than to start with this excellent publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some thinking matter re Scottish independence, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
CSD 1109 (Nairn, Highland, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Independence: Weighing Up the Economics (Paperback)
I had seen the author, Gavin McCrone, interviewed on Newsnight and found his arguments persuasive - hence my decision to purchase his book. It arrived quickly and is a fascinating read. I consider that voters in the forthcoming referendum need a properly informed basis to guide their voting intentions. This book certainly meets that requirement in respect of the economic argument. Essential reading for all voters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ian, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book. Well balanced, easy read which has greatly enhanced my understanding of the economic issues. Everyone would benefit from reading this referendum or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you need on this topic, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lucid, objective balanced account by an insider with 30 years experience in Scottish politics. Makes the "White Paper" look like a fairly tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and accessible, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and accessible exposition of the underlying economic arguments to consider in grappling with Scottish independence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scottish Independence: Weighing Up the Economics
Scottish Independence: Weighing Up the Economics by Gavin McCrone (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews