Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rugby at its best!, 20 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
I LOVE this book. I've always been a big rugby fan but have never really been that into reading books about it - I find them pretty dry most of the time. But this is completely different - apart from some small introductions at the start of each chapter which set the scene, all the narrative is told straight from the players' point of view and you get this incredible tapestry of stories which paints a conversational history of Scottish rugby. The anecdotes vary from the hilarious to the poignant to the inspirational. It is just wonderful and I can't recommend it enough.Behind the Thistle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph - a true reminder of what sport is really all about, 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
Genuinely absolutely brilliant read - something you can read snippets of and put down to pick up again later.

The modern era stuff gets a little drier but that's to be expected - the older stories are an incredible insight into the elements of rugby that used to make the sport truly unique - brtual confrontations balanced against true sportsmanship and cameradere between all players and fans, regardless of nationality or social standing.

It's all the stories you hear at dinners or myths you talk about with friends condensed into one book. I particularly enjoyed the Calcutta Cup damamge explanations, tales from the back rows of the 80's and their mind games with other teams... as well as the hotel wrecking bill on Romania tour.

A triumph that has to be adapted for the other home nations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Thistle, 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
I was disappointed that I couldn't make it to the book launch but I was delighted to find out that my fiancee had attended, and purchased me a copy of 'Behind the Thistle'. The copy had been signed by both authors.
On my return home, I quickly became engrossed in the fantastic mix of stories from Scotland's greatest rugby players and stayed up to read it well past my bedtime! Rock and roll I know but as soon as a book grips you like this one did to me, then you are very satisfied indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last . . ., 23 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
It seem strange to me that no one has written such a comprehensive book outlining the ups and downs of Scottish rugby over the past sixty years or so until now.
Copiously illustrated and attractively assembled - my only reservation is perhaps the sheer physical weight of the book!
Barnes and Burns are to be congratulated on producing a very readable and well-researched tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 11 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
This excellent compendium is a "must have" for any true supporter of Scottish Rugby. Barnes and Burns navigate the reader along the ups and downs that come with being a Scotland fan, in a humorous and illuminating style. Amusing anecdotes and interesting reports from players' perspectives make this book first rate coffee table material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you know anyone who likes Scottish rugby, 23 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
You must buy them this book. It is the perfect present and I haven't seen anything quite like it on the market before - entertaining, well written, well illustrated - even if you know nothing about rugby, it is worth dipping into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining ..., 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a Christmas present for my husband and he loves it, particularly the stories from the older generation of (ex) players. As others have said, a great present for a Scottish rugby fan.

A minor point - I am informed that it has a noticeable number of typos, which don't spoil it, but are a bit irritating. For example `tires' instead of `tries'. Also, I don't know why Amazon are quoting the RRP as £31.98 because our book clearly has £20 written on it. At the current price of £19.19 therefore, it's not much of a bargain, but since I bought it when it was £8.80, I think I got a good deal, and can even forgive the poor proof reading !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Scottish Rugby Enthusiasts This Christmas!, 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
Get your copy of "Behind The Thistle" - a fantastic book; dedicated to what it means to represent Scotland at rugby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Thistle -playing rugby for Scotland, 31 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
If you have ever played rugby in Scotland or been a follower of Scottish rugby over the last 40/50 years you will love this book. As an ex player from the 60/70s era it has brought back many memories of players I played with or looked up to as well as the joys and frustrations of being a scottish rugby supporter over these last fifty years. Very well written and certainly worth a place on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly good, 11 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Thistle (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book - absolutely superb. Brilliant insights from over 70 players past and present, fantastic photographs. The best rugby book I've ever read - and a format that would work really well for other countries too. Nothing better than getting it all from the horse's mouth. Enthralling. Behind the Thistle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind the Thistle: Playing Rugby for Scotland
Behind the Thistle: Playing Rugby for Scotland by Peter Burns (Paperback - 2 May 2014)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews