Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bradley Wiggins Tour De Force by John Deering
John Deering is passionate about cycling and he shares his knowledge, drive and enthusiasm with the reader so that by the end of it you want to go out on your bike,cycle up a steep hill wearing a yellow jumper and a pair Wiggins sideburns.....I am not a cycle enthusiast or Tour De France follower but like most Brits I think what Bradley Wiggins has achieved is amazing...
Published on 21 Oct 2012 by EmmaG

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tour de Force? Hardly - but not a bad read
I bought this as a light read, which meant that it met my expectations exactly - it passed the time pretty painlessly and didn't take a lot of concentration. However, it is very "tabloid", with lots of emphatic language and relatively cliched expressions, which I sometimes found a bit tiring. I like the mix of "now" - the stage-by-stage unfolding of the 2012 TdF - and the...
Published on 22 Nov 2012 by boomdidiboom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bradley Wiggins Tour De Force by John Deering, 21 Oct 2012
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force (Paperback)
John Deering is passionate about cycling and he shares his knowledge, drive and enthusiasm with the reader so that by the end of it you want to go out on your bike,cycle up a steep hill wearing a yellow jumper and a pair Wiggins sideburns.....I am not a cycle enthusiast or Tour De France follower but like most Brits I think what Bradley Wiggins has achieved is amazing. Also he is a bit of a cool dude, mod, etc. which helps. I read this book in about 3 days and loved it. It is very accessible for anyone to read and that is the skill of the author. He has made something quite complicated and technical - all the stages of the tour, the different jerseys, the teams, the gradient of mountains accessible and by the end of it you are urging Team Sky and Wiggo past the finish with gusto! The balance of each chapter between each day of the Tour and Bradley's personal biography from birth to present day makes you want to know more and progress to the next stage of the race as well as the next chapter of Wiggin's life. I was captured, I was there, I even shed a tear or two at the end. I would recommend that you buy this book for anyone who likes a good story about a natural born hero for 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Tour fans, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Oddstuff1 (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a journalistic look at the 2012 Tour de France and, specifically, the race as raced by Bradley Wiggins. It's a great read if you're a Wiggins fan and followed this year's Tour. Even better if you've been a fan for a while and have been following the Tour for a few years.

Each chapter describes one of the stages and is very evocative. The book is written in a journalistic style, but it works well to bring the race to life. At the end of each chapter is a section on Wiggin's life, gradually moving from his early years through to the 2012 Tour.

As a fan who has watched the Tour and followed Wiggins, Cavendish and Team Sky for several years this really hits the spot and deserved 5 stars. If you didn't watch the 2012 Tour it probably wouldn't be as compelling, but still a good read for anyone interested in cycling and a great sporting achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book, 10 Oct 2012
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force (Paperback)
A really enjoyable and informative read. The book is well written and well researched and I love it :-)Some fascinating 'behind the scenes' info. I would have liked more, higher quality photos, but other than that it comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wiggo - dream time in 2012, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read diary-style entries taking you along the Tour de France route as if you were there. Must read for any cycling aficionado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an Achievement !, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force (Paperback)
I am an amateur cyclist having ridden extensively throughout Europe and devour all books on cycling and especially the Tour de France. This is a sportsman who deserves all the accolades heaped upon him for his sheer determination. I recommend this to all people interested in sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tour de Force? Hardly - but not a bad read, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a light read, which meant that it met my expectations exactly - it passed the time pretty painlessly and didn't take a lot of concentration. However, it is very "tabloid", with lots of emphatic language and relatively cliched expressions, which I sometimes found a bit tiring. I like the mix of "now" - the stage-by-stage unfolding of the 2012 TdF - and the past, of Wiggo and other more historical cycling figures, in the build-up to 2012 or in previous TdFs. I'm going to read David Millar's much darker tome next, so hopefully it'll balance out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The tabloid tour, 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force (Paperback)
Anything about Wiggo's outstanding win is interesting, however, this is very much at the tabloid end of the spectrum. I' m sure there will be other publications which will be of greater interest to the serious cyclist or cycling fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably not as good as his own book. "My Time" but enjoyable all the same. Funny laugh out loud moments make this an entertaining book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK if you're a huge fan, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Detailed account of Bradley's rise to fame. Up to date and interesting but too detailed for me to rate higher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bradley, 15 Dec 2012
By 
S. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read - lot of background info too blended in. It's not too nerdy either and has given some helpful meaning to what occasional appears complicated when watching the Tour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force
Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force by John Deering (Paperback - 1 Oct 2012)
£11.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews