Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars139
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2015
"[...] I loved the fact that the mountain had been given by Queen Victoria to Prince Friedrich of Prussia when he married her daughter, Vicky, the Princess Royal, in 1858. As a result the mountain became part of German Tanganyika and the mapmakers had to draw a little bubble in the straight line of the frontier between British Kenia and Tanganyika. The imperial couple reigned briefly as German Emperor and Empress; Fritz, as he was known, being seriously ill and dying just three months after his accession. They had strong liberal and anglophile leanings, completely at variance with their eldest son, 'Kaiser Bill', who took Germany into the First World War. It is a simplistic view, but I like to think that there would have been no First World War, and subsequently no Hitler, and no Second World War, if Fritz had lived."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Margaret Rhodes, Cousin to our Sovereign Lady, ( and I bet She is proud to own Ms Rhodes) gives a lot of enthralling reading. She writes well about her about her extraordinary life and high connections. I wept at her account of the Queen Mother's passing. They were very close - Aunt and niece.

Other high connections in her entertaining book, relate to the high Himalayas, and Royalty ( she had a wedding invitation and felt compelled to attend) in those snowy heights. Her description of the nearly unbelievable trek for endless miles, on foot, on horseback , climbing to nose-bleed altitudes over uber- rough terrain, is heroic. She is captured by hostile military men, held hostage along with the celebrate Shirley McLean, and MUCH WORSE than that - och, read the book, 'tis a belter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
I regret to say that I found this rather disappointing. The author had known the Queen Mother all of her life and I felt that there was not a great deal of information in the book. So much has been written about QEQM that I thought this would give a real insight into a very important lady; it did not. The book is rather thin and I felt it was written in a 'school-girlish' style. I am not sure it is good value for money.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I found this book very disappointing. I usually enjoy books about the Royal Family and expected this one to be better than it was. However it was too short and it felt very rushed as if the author had just carelessly chucked a few stories down on paper.

The passage on page 91 (mentioned by another reviewer) shows an unfortunate attitude to the servants. This could have been a good book but if feels as if the author either couldn't do it or couldn't be bothered.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The life story of the Queen's little-known cousin and lifelong best friend, Margaret Rhodes, a daughter of a sister of the late Queen Mother.

Although never Royal either by birth or marriage, her life has been spent largely in very close association with the Royals, as a relative, a friend, a co-resident at Buckingham Palace (during WWII), and latterly as a senior Lady-in-Waiting to the Queen. She is rarely noticed by the public and remains largely in the background, but she is ever-present. Her story is interesting and includes some surprises, especially her secret War work.

The book is thin, 150 pages in total, and includes several photos in colour and a few more in black and white, the latter scattered throughout its meager few pages.

It offers an interesting insight into the Royal Family, not completely within but not from outside either. It is probably more inclusive and open than something similar from an outside author might be.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
What an interesting life this lady has had! This is a straightforward account of a selection of events from her life. The tone is direct and no-nonsense. Rhodes relates several anecdotes about the royal family, but there is no sensationalism, and the overall effect is that the reader feels that they have learned more about the personalities involved without their privacy being violated. The author has shared her family history, but the reader does not feel as if he/she has intruded. A nice balance, I feel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Boring and monotonous springs to mind, i was expecting to read about the relationship Margaret had with the Queen mum not to read a few pages about her own life.
The shocking remark about the dying farm chap put me right off reading any more as i found this so awful and no way amusing,
The last thing i found disgusting was a photo of Margaret holding a gun after killing two gazelles. How horrid the royals are and so cruel and heartless.
This has truly made me despise the royals now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Since Margaret Rhodes comes across as a thoroughly nice woman, I think even she would agree that this book wouldn't have seen the light of day if it hadn't been for her very close connection to the Royal family. Mrs Rhodes grew up with the young princesses and the Queen Mother sometimes referred to her as 'my third daughter', and she knows them in a way that few others do. Anyone expecting exciting revelations about them will be in for a disappointment; the only breath of criticism is about Princess Margaret, who is described as 'demanding' and 'a difficult guest' (translation - an absolute nightmare). There is an amusing anecdote about Margaret and her husband breaking a loo seat one weekend chez Rhodes and demanding a replacement straight away, which suggests Lord Snowdon was every bit as difficult as his wife. Apart from this, it's all pretty anodyne stuff. Even living at Buckingham Palace during the war, which must have been fascinating, is made to sound rather mundane.

Unfortunately Mrs Rhodes isn't a very inspiring writer and although she has led a fascinating life few episodes come to life - perhaps it's an unfair comparison, but this is nothing like as good as another book about upper-crust life, the marvellous To War With Whitaker by the Countess of Ranfurly.

One other gripe - the proof-reading in this book is appalling. Names misspelt (Alex Douglas Home, for instance, instead of Alec) and typos galore. The publishers should hang their heads in shame.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
No surprises here, as you might imagine. Margaret Rhodes was the niece of HM Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother and was close to her aunt for much of her life (and indeed, continues to be a well regarded friend, as well as cousin, to HM the Queen). This account is told in a conversational manner and is interesting, though anyone seeking revelations should look elsewhere. Like some other reviewers, I found the typos somewhat annoying, though not enough to prove fatal!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
This is a rather thin and superficial book that offers no new insights; readers looking for an insider's Royal secrets will be dissatisfied. It is, however, a fairly interesting tale of the vanished world into which Rhodes was born and of her own (very full) life.

The author does not have the writing gift of a Duchess of Devonshire but her style is accessible and fluid. She has been badly let down by the sloppy editing, as other reviewers have opined.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)