Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars102
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 December 2014
This is a brilliant book. It's not so much about Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cauty and the music industry but about chaos, magic, Discordianism, Dadaism, anarchism, The Illuminatus, the meaning of art and the meaning of life. And if that sounds pretentious, just be assured that this is an extremely intelligently written book and one of the most rational discussions of the importance of the irrational.

I think history has been kind to the KLF, and it is the vanities of the music industry and art world they set out to disrupt that now seem ridiculous. Arguably, the K Foundation's prize of £40,000 to Rachel Whiteread as 'Worst Artist of the Year', in the form of £50 notes nailed to a board, at the moment she had been awarded the Turner Prize (£20,000) now seems more significant that Whiteread's work itself.
As for the burning of a million pounds, while it still seems as absurd and disastrous as ever, this book presents another reading of the event as necessary and prescient. It is to the credit of John Higgs' powers of reasoning that both those views can be held simultaneously.

The book even has two endings - one for those who entertain magical thinking and one for those who don't. But that makes it sound both crazier and dumber than it really is; this is a very smart book, and even if, despite it all, you end with the opinion that Drummond and Cauty are a pair of attention-seeking idiots rather geniuses, you will have had a glorious ride on the way. Or, more likely, you will believe that Drummond and Cauty are indeed attention-seeking idiots and geniuses at the same time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
A brilliant book, not what I expected but all the better for it. If you have any interest in music and it's creation then read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Fantastic book, covers a lot of interesting ideas as well as providing a history of The KLF. Would definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
This is not your average music biog. When it says chaos magic music money it means it. Tons of fun. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Brilliant stuff. Excellent writing, clear and concise. I think I liked it for exactly the reasons some of the one star reviewers disliked it - the mix of philosophy, magic and counter-cultural history was great fun and also informative. Like the band itself, you don't know quite whether to take it seriously or not.
I think this book itself is caught up in whatever it was that made the KLF so great. I was surprised to see a few ideas I'd had myself - which I thought were wacky, original and a bit too mad to be shared - popping up in here almost exactly as I'd envisaged them. There's nothing that guarantees five stars from me more than a perceived art/magic connection with my deeper psyche which appears to confirm Jung's ideas of the collective unconscious.
I lament the lack of free gift, however. A whistle or some stickers would have been nice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
This is possibly the most important and inspiring book I have ever read. Buy it and love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
reread its that good loved the book transported me back to my youth. not your average read nor for the faint hearted
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Absolutely fantastic read where the k.l.f. are bit players in a much bigger story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
This book is as unconventional as its subject matter: JMR Higgs sets out to discover why the KLF decided to burn £1 million sterling on the Isle of Jura back in 1994. Along the way he tells the story of Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cauty from the early days of Liverpool punk through Acid House and beyond; the story is told with a narrative framework but with many and extensive asides on a wide range of topics from the fiction of Robert Anton Wilson to the Kennedy Assassination to the Situationist Movement. I found the book a great read and thoroughly absorbing; I have no reservations in recommending it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
First half good re the band and the time, lost interest in the second half...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)