Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justified - in giving it five
Highly recommended - what a great and wondrously different read that was. Many thanks, Mr Higgs. The money burning incident was something that had lodged itself in a dark recess of my mind and popped out every so often for no apparent reason - so I was excited to hear about the existence of Chaos Magic Music Money and hoped to find the truth behind the...
Published on 9 Feb. 2013 by Graham Ellis

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious Bad Science
My friend Matt recommended this book. Matt’s a quiet genius with very well-defined musical taste and he plays in a band. Also, he recommended to me “Le Freak” by Nile Rodgers which I read and loved, so I thought nothing of taking another recommendation from him.

The book arrived and, to my pleasant surprise, a quote from Ben Goldacre...
Published 2 months ago by Athan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justified - in giving it five, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended - what a great and wondrously different read that was. Many thanks, Mr Higgs. The money burning incident was something that had lodged itself in a dark recess of my mind and popped out every so often for no apparent reason - so I was excited to hear about the existence of Chaos Magic Music Money and hoped to find the truth behind the art/madness/stupidity of the Zippo-happy KLF. But Mr Higgs has managed to write a book about the KLF while most definitely not writing a book about the KLF, if you know what I mean. I'm taking much away with me from this book, and the reasons for those lads burning a million is a tiny piece of that big chunk. It did need more spirit bunnies though, but hey . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour de force of the most awesome ideas ever, 7 Dec. 2012
By 
P. Ashton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't really about the KLF. it's about the ideas that led to the KLF doing the things they did, and the ideas that led to those ideas. As such it's much more interesting and, dare I say, useful than your bog standard music biography.

It's also a really good guide to understanding where Bill Drummond is coming from in his art over the last decade, complementing books like The 17 well.

Personally I enjoyed how ideas and people I've been fascinated by over the last few decades are tied together, from Ken Campbell to Alan Moore to Robert Anton Wilson, and how often pretentious, academic issues that idiots love to obsfucate are explained and contextualised in plain entertaining language.

Book of the year, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head mangler, 13 May 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly amazing book that deals with philosophy, cults, madness, paranoia, business deals, the art world, synchronicity, murder and loads more.......

It starts off with the burning of £1 million by Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cautie, formerly known as the KLF. The book then tries to make sense of why they did it and in doing so touches upon so much heavy duty head mangling information and supposition that at one point I was going to put in the top 5 thought stimulating books that I have read in all my time as a reader, until I got to the end. There is a twist, which I will not even hint at, but suffice to say it left me pondering about the book itself(further instillation of paranoia).

Anyway, a most enjoyable, lucid and well written book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly brilliant, 1 May 2013
By 
J. Marshall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having lived through the rise and fall of the KLF without really caring all that much about the weirdness that surrounded them, this book is a wonderful exploration of just how weird Messrs Cauty and Drummond are and why.

Genius, I couldn't put it down and now I can't stop thinking about it. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's gonna rock ya, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was up until 3am reading this. It's brilliant.

It's certainly about the KLF and burning a million pounds, but it's also about so much else. Including itself.

It's thought provoking, deeply considered, and lively, whilst also being very clearly written. Perfectly balanced.

If you remember the KLF and something about them burning a million pounds, you should read it. If you're the KLF's biggest ever fan, you should read it. And if you've never heard of the KLF you should most definitely absolutely download it right now and start reading it straight away because your life is about to change.

Really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you believe in magic?, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds (Paperback)
John Higgs overlays a standard chronological history of The KLF (a wonderful, and very successful, pop duo active in the late 1980s and early 1990s who adopted the philosophy contained in "The Illuminatus! Trilogy") with all manner of interesting and provocative historical, cultural and philosophical ideas, movements and people: for example, Dadaism, Carl Jung, the Situationists, the Discordians, Doctor Who, Alan Moore and "Ideaspace", Generation X, Robert Anton Wilson, multiple-model agnosticism, and much more. If that list excites you then you are strongly advised to read this book as soon as possible. If not, move along, nothing to see here.

It's a superb, stimulating and entertaining read that I will be returning to again before much longer.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tangents, 20 Jan. 2013
Apparently a biography of purveyors of bizarre dance music The KLF, this amazing book flies off at various tangents and ends up being about so many other things as well as, or possibly instead of, what you first thought. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds (Paperback)
Excellent, first class and definitely a cracking read, not only on the KLF, but many other interesting people, topics, subjects, events and more that synchronise with the work of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magic, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Rolo "rolo211" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. It's not so much about Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cauty and the music industry but about chaos, magic, Discordianism, Dadaism, anarchism, The Illuminatus, the meaning of art and the meaning of life. And if that sounds pretentious, just be assured that this is an extremely intelligently written book and one of the most rational discussions of the importance of the irrational.

I think history has been kind to the KLF, and it is the vanities of the music industry and art world they set out to disrupt that now seem ridiculous. Arguably, the K Foundation's prize of £40,000 to Rachel Whiteread as 'Worst Artist of the Year', in the form of £50 notes nailed to a board, at the moment she had been awarded the Turner Prize (£20,000) now seems more significant that Whiteread's work itself.
As for the burning of a million pounds, while it still seems as absurd and disastrous as ever, this book presents another reading of the event as necessary and prescient. It is to the credit of John Higgs' powers of reasoning that both those views can be held simultaneously.

The book even has two endings - one for those who entertain magical thinking and one for those who don't. But that makes it sound both crazier and dumber than it really is; this is a very smart book, and even if, despite it all, you end with the opinion that Drummond and Cauty are a pair of attention-seeking idiots rather geniuses, you will have had a glorious ride on the way. Or, more likely, you will believe that Drummond and Cauty are indeed attention-seeking idiots and geniuses at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than I'd hoped, 17 Oct. 2014
By 
A. Webb (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds (Paperback)
I bought this on a whim, and rapidly discovered that it was much, much better than I'd hoped. More than just an expose of the main men from the KLF, the book takes its readers down many winding alleyways of thought, motivation and mental process. It provides signposts, theories and explanations , but never in a heavy handed fashion. Always there is enough space for a reader to make up his own mind. There is much in this book concerning what inspired the KLF, and what may have been behind their complex story, as well as a liberal humour. Written from an unbiased perspective, it's not a 'fanboy' special, and will make any discerning reader reconsider the world around them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds
The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds by John Higgs (Paperback - 26 Sept. 2013)
£8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews