Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justified - in giving it five
Highly recommended - what a great and wondrously different read that was. Many thanks, Mr Higgs. The money burning incident was something that had lodged itself in a dark recess of my mind and popped out every so often for no apparent reason - so I was excited to hear about the existence of Chaos Magic Music Money and hoped to find the truth behind the...
Published 18 months ago by Graham Ellis

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the Records
OK, so the press reviews suggested that this would be as mindblowing as some of the KLF's records. Yes, it tells a fantastic story (and I mean that in all senses of the word) and links Drummond and Cauty to the Discordians, Alan Moore, the decline of the twentieth century and the birth of the twenty-first, and of course Tammy Wynette and ABBA. The problem is that it is...
Published 6 months ago by Amie's_Bar


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justified - in giving it five, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended - what a great and wondrously different read that was. Many thanks, Mr Higgs. The money burning incident was something that had lodged itself in a dark recess of my mind and popped out every so often for no apparent reason - so I was excited to hear about the existence of Chaos Magic Music Money and hoped to find the truth behind the art/madness/stupidity of the Zippo-happy KLF. But Mr Higgs has managed to write a book about the KLF while most definitely not writing a book about the KLF, if you know what I mean. I'm taking much away with me from this book, and the reasons for those lads burning a million is a tiny piece of that big chunk. It did need more spirit bunnies though, but hey . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour de force of the most awesome ideas ever, 7 Dec 2012
By 
P. Ashton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't really about the KLF. it's about the ideas that led to the KLF doing the things they did, and the ideas that led to those ideas. As such it's much more interesting and, dare I say, useful than your bog standard music biography.

It's also a really good guide to understanding where Bill Drummond is coming from in his art over the last decade, complementing books like The 17 well.

Personally I enjoyed how ideas and people I've been fascinated by over the last few decades are tied together, from Ken Campbell to Alan Moore to Robert Anton Wilson, and how often pretentious, academic issues that idiots love to obsfucate are explained and contextualised in plain entertaining language.

Book of the year, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you believe in magic?, 1 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds (Paperback)
John Higgs overlays a standard chronological history of The KLF (a wonderful, and very successful, pop duo active in the late 1980s and early 1990s who adopted the philosophy contained in "The Illuminatus! Trilogy") with all manner of interesting and provocative historical, cultural and philosophical ideas, movements and people: for example, Dadaism, Carl Jung, the Situationists, the Discordians, Doctor Who, Alan Moore and "Ideaspace", Generation X, Robert Anton Wilson, multiple-model agnosticism, and much more. If that list excites you then you are strongly advised to read this book as soon as possible. If not, move along, nothing to see here.

It's a superb, stimulating and entertaining read that I will be returning to again before much longer.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds (Paperback)
Excellent, first class and definitely a cracking read, not only on the KLF, but many other interesting people, topics, subjects, events and more that synchronise with the work of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head mangler, 13 May 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly amazing book that deals with philosophy, cults, madness, paranoia, business deals, the art world, synchronicity, murder and loads more.......

It starts off with the burning of 1 million by Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cautie, formerly known as the KLF. The book then tries to make sense of why they did it and in doing so touches upon so much heavy duty head mangling information and supposition that at one point I was going to put in the top 5 thought stimulating books that I have read in all my time as a reader, until I got to the end. There is a twist, which I will not even hint at, but suffice to say it left me pondering about the book itself(further instillation of paranoia).

Anyway, a most enjoyable, lucid and well written book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly brilliant, 1 May 2013
By 
J. Marshall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having lived through the rise and fall of the KLF without really caring all that much about the weirdness that surrounded them, this book is a wonderful exploration of just how weird Messrs Cauty and Drummond are and why.

Genius, I couldn't put it down and now I can't stop thinking about it. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's gonna rock ya, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was up until 3am reading this. It's brilliant.

It's certainly about the KLF and burning a million pounds, but it's also about so much else. Including itself.

It's thought provoking, deeply considered, and lively, whilst also being very clearly written. Perfectly balanced.

If you remember the KLF and something about them burning a million pounds, you should read it. If you're the KLF's biggest ever fan, you should read it. And if you've never heard of the KLF you should most definitely absolutely download it right now and start reading it straight away because your life is about to change.

Really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tangents, 20 Jan 2013
Apparently a biography of purveyors of bizarre dance music The KLF, this amazing book flies off at various tangents and ends up being about so many other things as well as, or possibly instead of, what you first thought. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more than the KLF, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is thankfully much more than a book about the KLF, as writing just about the actions and music of Cauty and Drummond would be a disservice to one of the more interesting bands in pop history.

For some it was their first time seeing The Smiths, for some the Sex Pistols, for me it was having my mind blown by some middle-aged pop-stars wearing horns on Top of the Pops. Like all great music it is rich with culture that for the intrigued leads to a vast array of ideas and concepts. This led to Discordianism, Robert Anton Wilson and a whole panoply of thinkers and dreamers — all stuff that this book touches upon. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic story, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is about the K L F. It is also about art, music magic,chaos, order, giant rabbits, and the number 23. Or it may be about none of the things. The simple act of burning a million pounds in a boat house on the isle of jura sets off a web of events stretching forwards and backwards in time. The author has an infectious enthusiasm for the music and wider artistic creations of the k foundation, and weaves a rich narrative around what may or may not have been unrelated events. Here we have dada and situationism alongside global capitalism and usury. If this sounds like a disjointed mess, it isn't. If truth exists here, then it wears a coat of many colours and a whole host of masks. Read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds
6.99
Usually dispatched within 9 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews