Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure
I've read `Ill met by moonlight' many times before - indeed, I possess a first edition - but this Folio edition was purchased as a present for me and very good it is, too.

There is a forward by MRD Foot, plus an afterword by Paddy Leigh Fermor, neither of which appeared in the previous editions, but the prologue and epilogue by Iain Moncreiffe, which were...
Published on 18 Aug. 2008 by Mr. R. D. M. Kirby

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shortage of tempests
A short book that should have been shorter. If war is long periods of boredom punctuating by brief moments of intense excitement, this book is convincing, at least on the first element. I think i would have been better written by the other main figure, Patrick Leigh Fermor. There is no reference to the strategic value of the exploit, so it comes across as a pair of public...
Published on 21 Nov. 2010 by Edward Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure, 18 Aug. 2008
I've read `Ill met by moonlight' many times before - indeed, I possess a first edition - but this Folio edition was purchased as a present for me and very good it is, too.

There is a forward by MRD Foot, plus an afterword by Paddy Leigh Fermor, neither of which appeared in the previous editions, but the prologue and epilogue by Iain Moncreiffe, which were always present, are a delight. The extract from Fermor's letter to him, beautifully written from wartime Crete - "My island home, where the minotaurs roam" is the last word in self-deprecation.

And the story? Well, everybody who's got the slightest drop of red blood in his veins, knows the story - two wartime adventurers, Bill Stanley-Moss and Paddy Leigh Fermor who, as part of SOE's Force 133 were infiltrated into the German occupied island of Crete with but one objective - to kidnap General Kreipe, the commander of the Sevastopol Division and take him to the allies in Cairo. How they achieved this with a handful of Cretan andartes (resistance fighters) is thrilling stuff indeed, which resulted in Fermor being awarded an immediate DSO and Moss, an MC.

Not read it? Read it. Read it before? Read it again - you'll be reminded of the days when Britain was quite rightly referred to as `Great'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most exciting books about war behind enemy lines., 19 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This book, written by one of the protagonists, concerns the utterly audacious plot by the British to kidnap the German General commanding German forces occupying Crete.
Here is the inside story of one of the greatest adventure stories of the Second World War. Secret landings, contacting the Cretan "andarte", creating a team and researching the movements of their target...It's all here.
Days of "monotony and sweat and thirst and sickening fear...." It's all here. Told with great pace and skill this tells the story of
an exploit that even the Germans admitted to
admiring.
Read it and be reminded of the great buccaneers
of history. But read it because it is not only a great tale it is also told with an edge of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that is much better than the film, 17 Jun. 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The well known film of the same name is watchable, infact a good WW2 film. With just a touch of James Bond. But this book is much much better. Well written, a super adventure story. which just happens to be true. I enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great stuff!, 7 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This is the tale of the abduction of General Kriep from Crete in 1944. W Stanley Moss was intrumental in this kidnap. Luckily, he kept a diary of events. What an interesting read this makes! The narrative is broken up from time to time with brief explanatory notes. These are needed to help make sense of the events as they unfold. Altogether I liked this book for its lively style, and for the way the author describes the characters involved, most of whom seem a bit larger than life. I also found the symbiotic wartime relationship between the British and the Cretans to be facinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like WW2 or are going to Crete, 12 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill met by moonlight (Paperback)
The story of the invasion of Crete and the subsequent resistance action carried out by stranded troops and locals is pretty amazing. This book focuses on a particularly daring attempt by British Special Forces to help shorten the war. To be honest, these guys must have had plums the size of watermelons to carry out this action. Style is a bit dated but that is overlooked by the pure thrill of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear concise writing that captures the described moments brilliantly one almost feels stalked at times by advancing Huns! A real age of heroism in the face of a persistent enemy how sad the world never learns the all to important lessons of War. Do not delay buy and read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great new 2014 edition of the classic story, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Met By Moonlight (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I really enjoy this book. A very interesting new introduction and incorporating an Afterword by Patrick Leigh Fermor. This book precedes his other excellent SOE book, A War of Shadows.
If you have read previous editions, you must read these too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An account of daring and bravery., 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Met By Moonlight (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I read this whilst on holiday in Crete which brought it more alive. A wonderful story which is hard to put down.I saw the film years ago andthis book gives so much more detail. Makes you proud to have had such brave and adventurous men in the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless and a great price too, 17 July 2012
By 
Getty (Yorkshire, England UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book in great condition that arrived speedily in time for my holiday in Crete. Tense and exciting true story enhanced by the fact I was on the island whilst reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ill met by moonlight, 31 Aug. 2009
By 
Jax (Crete, Greece) - See all my reviews
Excellent book. I have also seen the DVD. I have lived on Crete a number of years and have read a lot of war books on the Cretan War. I have also visited a folklore musuem in Archannes, which displays a lot of the General personal items and also they have the car on show, which was used in the kidnapping. So by reading this book I can relate to the areas and situations they came across. Another good book is the Cretan Runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ill Met By Moonlight (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS)
Ill Met By Moonlight (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) by W. Stanley Moss (Paperback - 27 Mar. 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews