Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful
What a delightful little book. Pamela Hicks gives us a forthright account of her early years and what I especially liked was the lack of whinging. The author portrays herself as privileged to have had the life she did, as indeed she was, but as a child coping with her parents open marriage and frequent absence must have been confusing and lonely,but young Pamela looks for...
Published 17 months ago by KAW

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Daughter of empire
Quite boring in places. To much detail of ceremonies & not enough of the fantastic characteristics of the uniqueness of the personalities.
Published 16 months ago by Linda Saint


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 29 Jan 2013
What a delightful little book. Pamela Hicks gives us a forthright account of her early years and what I especially liked was the lack of whinging. The author portrays herself as privileged to have had the life she did, as indeed she was, but as a child coping with her parents open marriage and frequent absence must have been confusing and lonely,but young Pamela looks for the positive and gets on with her life. There are some charming details which show her sensitive nature for example when she is evacuated she recalls pulling away from the house keeper's goodbye kiss.This haunts her " I imagined her back at Broadlands, upset and mystified by my rudeness. I made sure that I wrote to her with a lot of affection in my letters, telling her that I couldn't wait to see her again." Remarkable that after all these years her abiding memory of this lonely and frightening time is the guilt she felt at the upset she may have caused another.
Two small critisims it would have been informative to have had a family tree and it was too short, I wanted more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Daughter of empire, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite boring in places. To much detail of ceremonies & not enough of the fantastic characteristics of the uniqueness of the personalities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lady pamela hicks, 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. R. STEPHENS "BOOK WORM" (CAMBERLEY SURREY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In lady pamelas' first book india remembered we were given an interesting show and feel of india and all the problems that happened at that time . in this book we see her as she was and is in england . the writing is descriptive and well informed and one found it hard to put down so the read was quick and on finishing one can only hope that there is more to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pamela Hicks (Mountbatten) writes well as if she is talking to you. I was born in India just before Independence and my parents were caught up in all that she became an observer of through accompanying her parents when they went out as Viceroy and Vicereine and her father Earl Mountbatten handed India its nationhood. Indeed my uncle actually served as special security as a chief of police for her mother Edwina. Lady Mountbatten achieved greatly in India; this complex woman who had experienced sadness and rejection in childhood became a sort of hedonistic curious socialite...but when the chips were down and War approached she morphed into an efficient hard working volunteer of great worth at a high level. She took that same energy with her to India and with a special touch changed frought situations and was greatly loved. Pamela herself throws a lovely light on HM The Queen and her cousin Prince Philip in their early married life and then she was with them at the time of the Queen's accession in Africa. She then accompanied them on the great Commonwealth tour of 1953/54. For anyone growing up in the 1950s and 1960s this book is a fascination. I well recall the complete euphoria when The Royal couple arrived home to London as we were back in the UK and the 1950s was a different world...probably a simpler one then.

Those of us who care about India however have a great ambivalence to the partition of India and the expediency of it all....Mountbatten was too easily led by a disgruntled Prime Minister Atlee wanting to be rid of India and also he allowed Jinnah so much leeway....a great shame that the secret of Jinnah's terminal illness was so well kept. Dynasty in India has not actually helped India and her progress and one thinks of Nehru's daughter virulently acting against Indian royalty yet it seems the Nehru Gandhi dynasty is acting like....royalty without the true sense of duty and integrity. A great shame for all India.

Sadly however it has some curious errors that the publishers should think of correcting if it gets to a reprint. I found five and it would be really nice if someone eradicated them. A very good read which I recommend.India: The Peacock's CallIndia: The Tiger's RoarIndia: The Elephant's BlessingQuicklook at India
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable read, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not an in depth history book just a really good read. Gives an insight into their lives more than anything. Can she write another please bringing her right up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, a fascinating insight to a privileged life, well written and humorous too. I would like to have met this lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really worthwhile read. First class., 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully written account of her life. A first class read. It truly held my attention right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A detailed but dispassionate view of history from the inside., 7 Oct 2013
As usual, I received this book for free. This time it showed up in the mail through the kind and generous grace of a GoodReads giveaway. Despite this generosity, I give my candid opinions below.

The book centers on the whirlwind years of the author's first three decades of life. In that time she finds herself in every corner of the realm and witness to many of the epic moments and best-known personages of the times. She spends the war with the Vanderbilts and is traveling with Princess Elizabeth at the moment she ascends to the status of Queen. Her childhood and adolescence make for some truly enviable moments.

On the positive side, the text is well constructed and very flowing and conversational. We're introduced to quite a bit of history and seldom-used vocabulary. It's reminiscent of having a long night of conversation with your own grandmother as Mrs. Hicks seems to speak from a position of great wisdom. Most notably, unlike many memoirs of the elite, this one carries not even a whisper of pretentiousness. Hicks shares her memorable and sometimes amusing life with us in an almost matter-of-fact manner. Related, despite some sad moments she is never complaining or seeking sympathy from the reader. Everything, no matter how good or bad is just presented as you might see it in a history book.

Sadly, it is this detachment that makes for the primary negative of this book. The author relates the events of her life with great detail and clarity but they are simply events and seem to have no impact on the author. She's like a reporter impassively reporting on the facts of the matter. Further, so much time and history is covered that it's sometimes difficult to keep track of exactly what's going on. Clearly India is a personal highlight and one can imagine that section is simply a compression of the author's first novel.

In summary, Hicks has led a fascinating life (at least up to the point at which the book rather abruptly ends) but it's just not very fascinating the way she's written about it. I found my mind wandering waiting for the next amusing tidbit that only sometimes made an appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining look behind the scenes., 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A history lesson of a strange period in the history of the Commonwealth. A book dispelling much gossip. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the book to be an insightful look at the marriage of Lord and Lady Mountbatten and the upbringing of their children. Lady Moutbatten comes across as quite unmaternal and very insecure - needing reassurance. Whilst Lord Mountbatten actually comes across as more human and not so bombastic as he is sometimes made out. I think Pamela Hicks has done a good job and writes generally impartially and sympathetically about what are sensitive issues in the marriage. She also lets her feelings of loneliness come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daughter of Empire: Life as a Mountbatten
Daughter of Empire: Life as a Mountbatten by Lady Pamela Hicks (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews