Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars More than hilarious novels about the upper classes: Fellowes is really an anthropologist who loves to entertain
Entertaining slices of upper middle class and above English life though they certainly are, Julian Fellowes' novels- and it is a matter of deep regret that he has only graced our shelves with two to date - are so much more than that: they are anthropological treasure troves of their not so far back period as well as the social group about which is he clearly so well...
Published 7 months ago by Richard Paris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A kitchenmaid's novel
i had expected more from the writer of Downton Abbey. This tale reads as a very thinly disguised autobiographical selfpromoting tale of Mr. Fellowes himself!
Published 20 months ago by M.L. van Houtum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good value omnibus, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus (Paperback)
Received by me on the predicted date which is always a bonus. Both books are interesting and I can thoroughly recommend them. Very many thanks to the supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than hilarious novels about the upper classes: Fellowes is really an anthropologist who loves to entertain, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus (Paperback)
Entertaining slices of upper middle class and above English life though they certainly are, Julian Fellowes' novels- and it is a matter of deep regret that he has only graced our shelves with two to date - are so much more than that: they are anthropological treasure troves of their not so far back period as well as the social group about which is he clearly so well informed. It would be easy to mock some of the customs and traditions which are described with the sharp observational skills of a classic "outsider" but it is unquestionably true that it is only because he is at the same time very much an insider and participant that he is really in a a position to enlighten his readers about them at all. Lord Fellowes has an uncanny ability to dissect a relationship between two people with a startling brevity. "She had to keep him in his place, but she also had to keep him," surely tells us so much about a marriage in just 15 simple words in sharp contrast to the thousands that others would feel they would have to employ. His characters are always three dimensional and are beguiling in that they are always flawed but usually complex and likeable at the same time and he sets the scene in both novels in a captivating way but most especially "Past Imperfect," which has strong autobiographical overtones that give us some insight into at least part of the character of the popular writer and peer we see today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read!, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus (Paperback)
This author knows how to tell a tale and I thoroughly enjoyed these! He shines a light into the dark recesses of the lives of the upper classes with great humour and alacrity. A laugh out loud treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book to read, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. Sybil Walton "sibbi" (north east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed in the storyline. Not as good as the things he writes for tv and films. It was delivered promptly and in perfect condition. I have read it but would not want to keep it to read again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A kitchenmaid's novel, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus (Paperback)
i had expected more from the writer of Downton Abbey. This tale reads as a very thinly disguised autobiographical selfpromoting tale of Mr. Fellowes himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus (Paperback)
This double story book makes very good reading and is very good value for money. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus (Paperback)
I found this a disappointing read. The characters didn't capture my interest and I found the plot slow. Gave up on both books half way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus
Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus by Lord Julian Fellowes (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews