Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demystifying Social Media
Eileen Brown's book is going to be my handbook for social media. I have already started following her advice to create my social media strategy (chapter 3) and update my on-line brand (chapter 6). 'Working the Crowd' is packed full of helpful advice but more than that has demystified for me the myriad of choices between different tools and networks. I love her social...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Margaret Williamson Boardroom ...

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for anyone already working in social media
I've worked as a social media manager for some time now and I found this book to be a bit of a pointless slog. It's someone pretty much describing the internet to you in rather boring terms. I was expecting it to be more strategy focused from the title, but it really didn't deliver anything other than a short-sighted overview of existing applications. I also got the...
Published 23 months ago by the-empty-bookshelf


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Must Have Reference Book For Social Media, 6 July 2011
This is a really intelligently written, logical book that is based on experience and genuine advice.
You can dip in to a section and come away with actionable suggestions for how to make massive improvements to existing social media activities; or to give you pointers and inspiration on how to start out.
I cannot bear self-professed social media gurus that just seem capable of wow-ing you with words; but Eileen is credible, humble and helpful. I already have two people lined up to read this after me and I will definitely grab it back to ensure I keep on track with my social media activities.
Looking forward to a sequel when you get time Eileen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Working the Crowd: Social Media is an excellent resume of good practice in this rapidly growing form of communication between people and communities. Eileen Brown is a clear writer and the book has nicely highlighted blocks bringing key learning points into relief. The chapeter on Branding Impact and Branding Success was excellent. Highly recommend this book to anyone seriously looking at using social media in their business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Excellent, 9 Feb 2011
Really Excellent - full of practical guidance, clear explanations and great ideas. Recommend to anyone or any business planning their social media strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ideal introduction to social media, 24 Nov 2010
For those looking to develop a greater understanding of social media, this book offers a great introduction to the concepts and strategic reasoning behind it. Eileen's extensive experience and ability to articulate many valid points will enable any business owner to understand the opportunities social media marketing offers.

Easy to read, and easy to navigate - a valuable addition to your bookshelf that you'll want to refer back to regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide for Social Media for any Business, 1 July 2011
Eileen has produced a guide to the Social Media minefield that even a novice can follow!

There are so many different aspects to Social Media that a business can struggle to identify what is available, what is appropriate and, more importantly, what is working. I particularly like the human face put on the different kinds of Social Media, how she highlights what can go wrong, as well as right and the practical guidance for identifying, producing and implementing a Social Media strategy.

In this book, Eileen draws on her years of experience to produce a solid guide that will aid any business looking to work the social media crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what it says- social media marketing for business, 2 Jun 2011
Eileen has written an excellent book.

Having heard her speak at a British Computer Society event I felt compelled to buy the book; and it was a good decision. She covers the why to get involved with social media, what it is, the pitfalls, the options, how to choose what to do and plan, the links to your brand, reviewing and adapting your approach and what the future might hold. So it is really comprehensive.

There are many ways to access the book- read it all, dip into the chapters that relate to your immediate need, or skim by reading the useful summary boxes that are included. I chose to read the whole book and did find it heavy going initially. But it was clear that Eileen has a wealth of real experience and gives the detail that is sadly missing from most texts on the subject, so I kept reading a chapter at a time; and have changed my level of awareness, perceptions and approach as a result of reading the book.

Note, this is a reference guide rather than a novel, so don't expect to read it in one sitting, I suggest its best to read chunks and highlight the bits that fit your needs.

I recommend this book to anyone who has a business that could benefit from connecting better to its current and future customers.

Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some good advice but lacks focus, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book after Likeable Social Media: How to Delight Your Customers, Create an Irresistible Brand, and Be Generally Amazing on Facebook (& Other Social Networks) and frankly was disappointed. Whereas Likeable offers a wealth of clear and practical advice for marketing companies, this book seems more like a general introduction to what the internet is.

I was really unclear about who this book is aimed at. It seems to be mainly for people who have little or no on-line experience and are looking to use the web to market themselves as individuals rather than to market a business, albeit with advice for businesses mixed in. This confusing lack of focus is continued with some of the examples given and the topics covered. I really didn't get what the author was aiming for or trying to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business
Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business by Eileen Brown (Paperback - 16 Jun 2012)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews