Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demystifying Social Media
Eileen Brown's book is going to be my handbook for social media. I have already started following her advice to create my social media strategy (chapter 3) and update my on-line brand (chapter 6). 'Working the Crowd' is packed full of helpful advice but more than that has demystified for me the myriad of choices between different tools and networks. I love her social...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Margaret Williamson Boardroom ...

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for anyone already working in social media
I've worked as a social media manager for some time now and I found this book to be a bit of a pointless slog. It's someone pretty much describing the internet to you in rather boring terms. I was expecting it to be more strategy focused from the title, but it really didn't deliver anything other than a short-sighted overview of existing applications. I also got the...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by the-empty-bookshelf


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for anyone already working in social media, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've worked as a social media manager for some time now and I found this book to be a bit of a pointless slog. It's someone pretty much describing the internet to you in rather boring terms. I was expecting it to be more strategy focused from the title, but it really didn't deliver anything other than a short-sighted overview of existing applications. I also got the impression that this isn't someone with their finger on the pulse.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who is unfamiliar with social media from the outset and particularly those representing themselves (read: middle-aged motivational speakers). Very little value for professionals currently managing a brand online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demystifying Social Media, 14 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eileen Brown's book is going to be my handbook for social media. I have already started following her advice to create my social media strategy (chapter 3) and update my on-line brand (chapter 6). 'Working the Crowd' is packed full of helpful advice but more than that has demystified for me the myriad of choices between different tools and networks. I love her social media tools flowchart which helps you decide which channels to use and the helpful check-lists and guidelines scattered about the book. Most of all I love the fact that in spite of all the 'odd' terminology associated with the subject, this book is written in plain English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, strategic and good for beginners as well as veterans, 18 Dec 2010
By 
Elizabeth Aoki "MFA" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a business person, you may already know how to work a crowded room - now you must learn to extend your company sparkle and your brand across the Internet!

Often social media books are written outside the corporate walls, from pie-in-sky viewpoint of the visiting consultant, or solely with one corporate viewpoint or experience (or let's face it, largely about the United States) . Eileen Brown's varied experience and analysis of both the small and large businesses' need for social media makes her advice stand out from the crowded field - and told in the lively voice those hearing her via social media channels and live audiences have come to know and love. As an IT evangelist for Microsoft she made technology approachable and engaging while winning an international readership - now she expands upon the business dynamics as well as the technologies businesses can use for success.

From the early advent of blogging to the use of social games for business aims, Brown takes the reader step by step through this complex subject. Whether promoting your own personal brand (remember to put your social network identities on your business card!) or being the spokesperson for a billion-dollar business (and having to contain PR backlash), business readers will find useful nuggets throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I find myself using this book again and again ..., 18 April 2012
By 
D. Oliver "Technical Architect" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
I'm here in a busy airport lounge wondering again what the answer is to a challenge social media has presented my little area of the Enterprise I work for ... And yet again Eileen has the answer as clear as a bell in black and grey on my Kindle.

This book is the classic reference guide that I've dipped into again and again. Clearly the author has the voice of experience, with a clear, no nonsense, straight to the point style.

Frankly it isn't just recommended reading but required reading for any role that is affected by the ever shifting world of social media. It is no longer an option to just opt out for a high percentage of businesses it is a necessity to understand and this book really is just about all you will need ... But get the kindle version because a paper copy will get worn out and you will be gutted if you let someone borrow it ...because it won't come back that I can guarantee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book highly recommend for anyone considering the use of social media in their business, 24 Nov 2010
Its no secret that by now the use of online social network is exploding. Latest figures have shown that 74% of internet users have logged onto or contributed to a social network such as linked in or facebook. 74% also say they are influeced by the opinions and recommendations on these products and services. Social media dominates our lives and poses questions on what are the best tools and methods to help support a business in communicating with its customers.

Eileen helps you to navigate the social media marketing maze to ensure profitability and not gimmicks. She encourages you to really think about the aims and objectives of your business in considering a social media strategy before starting any of them which makes this book extremely practical and valuable. She also offers advice on how to measure the success of the tools you have implemented. Just like Eileen this book is not only straight talking and jargon free but hugely engaging and relevant. With simple practical steps, Eileen offers you instant access to a world that will offer a range of social networking tactics that will help reach news customers and clients as well as getting existing ones to engage in more business .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Social Media in plain english!, 4 Jan 2011
Is Social media something that you feel you should know something about, but seems that little bit ambiguous, or maybe you feel it's all hype with no science? I fell somewhere between the two and this book provided the education I needed.

The book is written in a practical, no nonsense fashion switching between theory and true real life examples constantly and seamlessly. The result is that one gains a true understanding of the principles of Social Media but also a 'coach' to help one implement the lessons learnt.

I can't recommend this book enough, and I am sure that you will find it an interesting (even entertaining!) read right from the start that will change your view on Social Media for good.
Cheap at twice the price is my summary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This makes for a great read, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business (Paperback)
This is a useful book for any existing business, or start-up, that needs to understand the usefulness of social media marketing. Eileen Brown's approach to this topic is refreshing and well rounded. Its not a topic written by an IT Geek for IT Geeks...... and it should serve as a good guide in forming corporate policy and strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good, practical guide to using Social Media in Business, 21 Jan 2013
By 
A. McLachlan "Alex" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business (Paperback)
This is a good, practical guide to using social media in business and the challenges for businesses to create a coherent plan in the face of the ever changing nature of social media - "living in the world of perpetual beta".

This second edition of Eileen Brown's book has 13 chapters, which fall roughly into five main sections.

The first three chapters discuss strategy and planning, explaining that social media needs to be approached for the long term, giving to the community rather than expecting instant returns.

The next part of the book looks at tools and networks. This covers the main socials networks and how businesses should think of using them, and some of the essential tools for businesses to manage the networks they are engaging through.

The middle part of the book - chapters 6-9 - discusses brand and reputation. Brown emphasises that the approach must be honest, authentic and rapid. There is a helpful section on using social media for recruitment (both from the point of view of a company recruiting and from an individual's point of view).

Chapters 10-12 then look at a number of issues to do with scaling - amplifying a company's message for a global audience, using Twitter and marketing issues, such as building engagement levels.

The final short chapter looks forward - always a challenge. It addresses the use of mobile and gives a brief mention to Google+ (which would have more detail if this was being written today).

The book is particularly strong on advice on using social media as a marketing tool and the issues that companies need to consider in using social media.

The only slight negative is that being a second edition, there is some information that is a little dated, which I assume is some of the first edition material that is still present - it maybe needed a little more editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as they are saying, 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business (Paperback)
Although I occasionally found some good information and advice, this is a book that has no structure and no real depth. It seems to be a collection of articles and notes loosely strung together. It is peppered with hundreds of disjointed grey boxes comprising bullet lists of information or one liners, often repeating what has already been said in other boxes. Diagrams are not fully explained. The chapter titles seem arbitrary, with the first one suggesting that the book provides guidance in the forming of a social media strategy, and yet on reading the entire book I found very little discussion on that. At times the book delves into interesting matters, such as copyright and B2B, but at others seems no more than a basic introduction to the Internet, often digressing into history of ICQ, Web 2.0 and bulletin boards. There is also an autobiographical section which is not relevant or interesting. The book appears to be written by an IT person rather than a marketing stategist -- and it shows. Together these factors make the book difficult to use either academically or practically. It functions as hit-and-miss reference book of tips.

I found the book partially useful because the tips are often good, based on honest experience, but I was disappointed because I expected much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 21 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good introduction, but seems out of date. an overemphasis placed on talking about Web 2.0 technologies which became dull.

Still useful and recommended for information on the basics of improving social media marketing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business
Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business by Eileen Brown (Paperback - 16 Jun 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews