Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2013
An excellent book giving much detail on identifying the more difficult plumages of many species of birds especially birds of prey and waders.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Brilliant breakdown of individual markings on both juvenile and adult birds. The drawings are extremely detailed and clearly identify the subtle differences between similar species.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Having admired the ID Insights articles in 'Birdwatching' magazine, its brilliant to have them all collected in one place. Obviously this guide doesn't cover every species, its supposed to help with the identification of the most difficult/similar species. You will still need a comprehensive field guide - this is the book you ponder over when your back in the warm after a days birdwatching!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
A very useful book for identifying and differentiating between certain birds. By no means is this a comprehensive book of all the birds you might see, but it is very helpful in showing the key differences in certain groups of birds you will probably see. The illustrations are excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
If you are a fairly competent birder, you may like to consider this guide for in the field in the UK.
This book identifies the more difficult species, thus allowing you to leave a bulkier field guide at home.
Very good book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Good book, good pictures, adequate information. At first had doubts in their purchase, but took a chance and was not sorry.
Overall good quality and a book quite interesting.

I would strongly recommend your purchase.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Published & available, only within the last few weeks, reviews were unavailable (I prefer to do my homework before a purchase) nevertheless, I decided to buy based on the concept - printed on the cover - and that the author & illustrator were 'known' to me. I'm glad I took the chance, it states it's aimed at the 'improver', and strives to demystify known confusion species. In that, it goes a long way in fulfilling that goal. The book has a good 'feel' to it. Buy with confidence. P.S It's a hardback & same size as the smaller 'black Collins'.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
If you want to know the finer details of identity, this is the book you must have. Excellent description and graphics.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
I passed over this title in Amazon's recommendations for several months till I accidentally used the 'Look Inside' facility. I was very impressed with what I read and decided to get a copy. As usual, the book arrived exactly as scheduled and was in generally good condition.

The contents are somewhat specialised but I think this is what most buyers will expect. The illustrations are very good, and many readers will be familiar with many of them from their original publication in Bird Guides but many are new and specially drawn. I found the text helpful and the illustrations particularly revealing. This will certainly sharpen up my recognition skills. Thoroughly recommended, even if it is a little large for the pocket when out watching!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Solves a few thorny identification problems, but you would really need to take good quality photos and look closely at home; pictures are painted so still some issues. Complements more general pocketbooks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)