Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
An excellent book giving much detail on identifying the more difficult plumages of many species of birds especially birds of prey and waders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tips to positive Identificstion, 10 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
Brilliant breakdown of individual markings on both juvenile and adult birds. The drawings are extremely detailed and clearly identify the subtle differences between similar species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different slant on your ID guide, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
Having admired the ID Insights articles in 'Birdwatching' magazine, its brilliant to have them all collected in one place. Obviously this guide doesn't cover every species, its supposed to help with the identification of the most difficult/similar species. You will still need a comprehensive field guide - this is the book you ponder over when your back in the warm after a days birdwatching!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy and Helpful Bird Reference, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
A very useful book for identifying and differentiating between certain birds. By no means is this a comprehensive book of all the birds you might see, but it is very helpful in showing the key differences in certain groups of birds you will probably see. The illustrations are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Birds: ID Insights, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. G. Gamble (Notts. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
If you are a fairly competent birder, you may like to consider this guide for in the field in the UK.
This book identifies the more difficult species, thus allowing you to leave a bulkier field guide at home.
Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
Good book, good pictures, adequate information. At first had doubts in their purchase, but took a chance and was not sorry.
Overall good quality and a book quite interesting.

I would strongly recommend your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful addition to your library - it's different., 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
Published & available, only within the last few weeks, reviews were unavailable (I prefer to do my homework before a purchase) nevertheless, I decided to buy based on the concept - printed on the cover - and that the author & illustrator were 'known' to me. I'm glad I took the chance, it states it's aimed at the 'improver', and strives to demystify known confusion species. In that, it goes a long way in fulfilling that goal. The book has a good 'feel' to it. Buy with confidence. P.S It's a hardback & same size as the smaller 'black Collins'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have., 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
If you want to know the finer details of identity, this is the book you must have. Excellent description and graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sorting the Birds, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
I passed over this title in Amazon's recommendations for several months till I accidentally used the 'Look Inside' facility. I was very impressed with what I read and decided to get a copy. As usual, the book arrived exactly as scheduled and was in generally good condition.

The contents are somewhat specialised but I think this is what most buyers will expect. The illustrations are very good, and many readers will be familiar with many of them from their original publication in Bird Guides but many are new and specially drawn. I found the text helpful and the illustrations particularly revealing. This will certainly sharpen up my recognition skills. Thoroughly recommended, even if it is a little large for the pocket when out watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Experts mainly, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
Dr. Peter G. Upton (Woolston, Southampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe (Hardcover)
Solves a few thorny identification problems, but you would really need to take good quality photos and look closely at home; pictures are painted so still some issues. Complements more general pocketbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds: ID Insights: Identifying the More Difficult Birds of Britain & North-West Europe
Used & New from: £39.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews