Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Little Wolf
From the first page, where Mrs Boggins is telling a story to Rolf (the good little wolf), Little Red Riding Hood and the three little pigs, my children were entranced. Rolf enjoys doing 'good' things - like baking cakes, hearing stories and playing with his friends. However, Mrs Boggins warns him that not all wolves are good. Some, indeed, are Big and Bad. When Rolf...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by S Riaz

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bedtime nightmare
Bought this for my three year old grandaughter as we enjoy a book at bedtime. The story was good, well illustrated and funny right up until the cruel twist at the end.
I felt very uncomfortable with the ending and although my grandaughter didnt quite get it,it left me wondering just what the writer was thinking about and what kind of warped sense of humour does she...
Published on 9 Aug 2012 by pavlova


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Little Wolf, 23 Jun 2011
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
From the first page, where Mrs Boggins is telling a story to Rolf (the good little wolf), Little Red Riding Hood and the three little pigs, my children were entranced. Rolf enjoys doing 'good' things - like baking cakes, hearing stories and playing with his friends. However, Mrs Boggins warns him that not all wolves are good. Some, indeed, are Big and Bad. When Rolf runs into a Big Bad Wolf in the woods he attempts to prove he really IS a wolf by trying to blow the little pigs house in and howl at the moon, to no avail. Rolf takes the Big Bad Wolf back to Mrs Boggins house, where they try to make him see the error of his ways. This is a very amusing book, with fantastic illustrations - worth the price for the picture where Rolf first meets the Big Bad Wolf in my opinion, which had my children giggling for ages. However, it is worth pointing out that the ending is not the tradional happy one and the Big Bad Wolf does triumph over poor, unsuspecting Rolf. This did not bother my own children, but if you feel yours will be upset by a twist in the tale, then you might want to bear that in mind. Overall, though, a fine debut from an author I hope we hear a lot more from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful book, 9 Jun 2011
By 
Bookshop Bob (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
So there you are of a bed time, reading this book for the first time to the little 'uns, enjoying the distinctive, stylish illustrations and the references to nursery rhymes and other children's stories which work seamlessly with the narrative, when all of a sudden - BAM - the ending is not at all quite what you had been expecting. And at first you think, 'gosh'! But then you smile to yourself, and then perhaps you might laugh a little, or even quite alot. Very amusing indeed. Every child should read this story - and every parent should have this on the bookshelf for when Mummy/Daddy needs cheering up after a long, hard day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book!, 16 April 2012
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
My 3 year old daughter loves this book, wanting it every night for a couple of weeks! It's great for challenging children about what they think will happen next and really good for encouraging questionning. Illustrations add to the story - in fact, my daughter immediately spotted 2 pages without and text and wondered why. She then realised that the pictures told the story! Fabulous ending too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 11 July 2012
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
Have been asked to read this again and again. Luckily, I enjoy it too! Does have a slightly dark ending, but all the best stories do. Can't stand versions of Little Red Riding Hood when they make the ending less scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly funny Children's Book, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
This book makes a perfect gift for any child and adults will enjoy reading it to them. Or reading it to themselves. It's fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly wonderful!, 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
As a first time new parent, I've discovered that on the whole children's books are boring for the parents... Lacking the plots and twists of a good page turner... But what can you expect? Which is why this book is worth reviewing. I actually enjoyed reading this. I don't want to spoil the plot, or give away the twist at the end, but it's brilliant! I'm fairly sure this will be the bedtime book of choice for quite some time. Oh, and my daughter loves it too, although shes more interested in the very sweet pictures. More Like this please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took me back to my own childhood, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
What a fab little read, with lovely big bold illustrations and quite delightfully written. This really took me back to the fairytales of my own childhood and reminded me of much loved books such as Little Red Riding Hood and Goldilocks. Gave me a warm fuzzy feeling all over and I am sure this will get little imaginations running riot. This would make the perfect present for a small person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Little Wolf, 9 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
Fantastic book for teaching year 1 children about recounting facts and fiction. I would definitely recommend this story. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Kindle Edition)
One of those great books that you either love or hate......I love it. Please share it with your children everywhere you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Little Wolf (Paperback)
Ms, Shireen is at her best with this book, great story, great pictures and fun for all of the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Little Wolf
Good Little Wolf by Nadia Shireen (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews