Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slightly different take as always, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sri Lanka (Paperback)
A good book to read on the background to the country and wonderful photos. The maps were good descriptions round particular sights were a bit light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Buy, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sri Lanka (Paperback)
Excellent readable book that points out the best of Sri Lanka. This will certainly come in handy on my tour of the island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive Encyclopaedia, 2 Feb 2014
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sri Lanka (Paperback)
This latest edition, reprinted in 2013 of the ‘Sri Lanka Insight Guide’ builds on previous guides. It has been updated by Gavin Thomas and others with extensive experience of travelling around Sri Lanka, and with detailed knowledge of the country’s history, culture, religions etc. in addition to places and features to visit, and informed recommendations and explanations about transport, eating, accommodation etc. Publicity blurb refers to ‘guide’ but with in-depth treatment and a host of colour photographs it is much more – it is an almost exhaustive encyclopaedia. It is rather large and heavy for carrying around and therefore may be best suited for reading and planning before arriving in Sri Lanka – with a ‘pocket guidebook’ when you get there – and maybe a good map as these are limited and small-scale in the ‘Insight Guide’.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick guide, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very concise but all we need for our tour of Sri Lanka. It will be invaluable when we visit the various sights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very useful guide., 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sri Lanka (Paperback)
As I am shortly visiting Sri Lanka for a holiday, I wanted to find out more about history, geography, colonialism, culture, etiquette, and traditions of the country as well as the back ground on the usual tourist sights. This guide provides all that information and more besides. Excellent colour pictures enhance the well written text. I am enjoying using it as a reference to plan my visit and as a book to browse and ponder. I know it will be very useful on my trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sri Lanka (Paperback)
Still reading it, but it seems a pretty good, comprehensive, guide. Lots of photos but plenty of text as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed colourful travel guide with plenty of maps, 29 Aug 2013
By 
S. Holt "Intellectual Bookworm" (Kiddermiinster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully presented guide with plenty of background info and suggested travel routes. This is very helpful in planning my forthcoming trip to Sri Lanka knowing what to visit and what to leave out during a 2 week trip is key to a success holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sri Lanka (Paperback)
Just what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to date view of Sri Lanka, 26 Jan 2013
By 
I. Harry "X-man" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sri Lanka (Paperback)
This Insight guide is up-to-date and was purchased for friends who are making their first trip to the island. They were very pleased when they received the book - myabe a 5* rating on their return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insight Guides: Sri Lanka
Insight Guides: Sri Lanka by Gavin Thomas (Paperback - 1 Nov 2012)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews