Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the land of Montalbano and Lampedusa
I have found this guide invaluable for planning a 10 day holiday in Sicily. It is clear, attractively presented with descriptions of the "highlights" to visit, but also an indication of intrigung places "off the beaten track", plenty of photographs to whet one's appetite, useful little maps including a separate "Touring Map", and strikes a good balance between being...
Published 24 months ago by Antenna

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONLY gives you information on the monuments, churches, etc.
We needed advices on where to stay at night, good tips on where to eat, which the travel guide did not really give...
Thanks to the guide we got to know where we wanted to go, but did not know what were the best options to sleep or eat.
I would not recommend this travel guide if you want practical tips to plan your stay in Sicilia, especially if you are...
Published 21 months ago by Burgun


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the land of Montalbano and Lampedusa, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
I have found this guide invaluable for planning a 10 day holiday in Sicily. It is clear, attractively presented with descriptions of the "highlights" to visit, but also an indication of intrigung places "off the beaten track", plenty of photographs to whet one's appetite, useful little maps including a separate "Touring Map", and strikes a good balance between being either too detailed or too sketchy. It also "sets the scene" with the background history and culture of Sicily, a reminder of its past diversity and prosperity, yet remains a manageable size to take along on holiday.

If there is anything missing - and this is a common lack in guidebooks - it is the absence of any detailed suggested 7,10 and 14 day itineraries, and an estimate of driving times between places, although you can of course calculate this from, say, Google maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight Guides: Sicily, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
OK - so I followed the herd and selected this book on the basis of other peoples reviews - but I wasn't disappointed and it really is a very good book packed full of informed detail which easy to absorb.

Although it is good to plan a holiday and read up about it before departure, it probably never happens and you arrive wondering what to visit. But do take a we bit of time to glance through this book, considering your areas of interest and plan a visit using the guide - it is worth it. Read up in detail during the visit (in the shade with a bottle of water or three!) and perhaps over the evening meal.
On our recent visit, we didn't feel the need to purchase a single additional guide book and used this extensively throughout the stay.
As well as providing site/town detail, it is also provides an excellent overview of Sicily and its people. It doesn't pack its punches either and some of the views expressed may not be flattering but are true.

Congratulations Lisa Gerard-Sharp, this is a very fine book and it gets top marks from me (which must be a first!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONLY gives you information on the monuments, churches, etc., 9 Mar 2013
By 
Burgun - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
We needed advices on where to stay at night, good tips on where to eat, which the travel guide did not really give...
Thanks to the guide we got to know where we wanted to go, but did not know what were the best options to sleep or eat.
I would not recommend this travel guide if you want practical tips to plan your stay in Sicilia, especially if you are travelling with a little budget. The restaurant advices were way out of our budget for instance.
Furthermore, it mainly gives you information on the temples, churches, piazzas, etc. But not enough on the neighborhoods to wander in. Most of the cities (even small ones such as Francavilla di Sicilia) are mentionned. But all it tells you is the river is nice and there are nice churches. Once again, nothing about housing or nice/budget restaurants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this just before a family trip to Sicily a few weeks back. It has an excellent balance of information and interesting facts as well as hotel and restaurant recommendations. We only visited the South East of the Island but it has inspired us to visit other parts on future holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best guide, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
Think the Insight guides are the best for taking abroad, not as much detail as some but all major things covered, and great for putting in the rucksack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
I planned to have a ten-day trip to sicily by myself so i think i might need a good guidebook at my hand in advance. it is informative for first time traveller and also can be a table book to inspire your minds about travelling in sicily. when i came back, it definitely helps to refresh my memory about every good moments there. it means more a book for me actually
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as you'll find, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
This series of guides is beautifully produced and this one is brand new with much topical information. The illustrations are lavish and the descriptions are clear and while, personal to the author, the opinions and recommendations are helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have guide to Sicily, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent guide to Sicily. Plenty of useful information and detail. In my view better than the 'Rough guide' of the same island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As usual, very pleased, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
As usual for Insight Guides...great pictures, good maps combined with satisfactory detailed information, not as detailed as Lonely Planet. But I prefer to have some pictures which helps me to decide what is worth seeing, which is the reason why I do not like Lonely Planet. Insight Guides are usually my guide of choice, if available for my destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars quite heavy, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
Content good and informative but I found the book too heavy to carry in rucksack with everything else. basically the paper quality is too good for my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide)
Insight Guides: Sicily (Insight Regional Guide) by Lisa Gerard-Sharp (Paperback - 1 Aug 2012)
£11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews