Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very dark indeed
A very convincing case that LBJ was complicit as hell in the assassination of JFK. What an absolute rotter and scoundrel.
Published 9 months ago by Volga man

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a rant
This is more of a rant than a studied biography on Johnson. Couldn't finish this book just got bored with the totally biased opinion. Just give us the facts and lets us make our own minds up.
Published 7 months ago by Martina h


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very dark indeed, 20 Feb 2014
A very convincing case that LBJ was complicit as hell in the assassination of JFK. What an absolute rotter and scoundrel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive compilation of LBJ Scandals leading to JFK's Assassination, 16 Jun 2009
By 
Herbert L Calhoun "paulocal" (Falls Church, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Forced to be published out of the U.S., this book was first published in 1968 in the UK, Joesten's research on LBJ is impeccable. Writing like the investigative journalist that he was, the author pulls the wool off of LBJ at every turn. In doing so, he is not alone in believing that LBJ is one of America's all-time corrupt political sleaze-bag politicians. Every detail of the Bobby Baker, Billy Sol Estes, Walter Jenkins, and many other LBJ scandals that go back to his first stolen election where he earned the name of "Landslide Lyndon," are revealed in excruciating details here. LBJ's relatives, friends and enemies were all interviewed and what they had to say about LBJ is about as explosive as one could imagine.

Included are LBJ's connection to the mob, Texas oil, political graft and corruption, blackmailing of FBI head J. Edgar Hoover (his next door neighbor for more than twenty years), including murders. The almost endless series of both high and low scandals, demonstrates that LBJ's capacity for evil was only exceeded by his capacity for crudity and "red neck" bad taste.

According to this author, LBJ not only was evil, but also thin-skinned, volatile, vulgar and knew and used the "ways of power." The crux of the book is that LBJ knew (and said so) that unless JFK was killed, he was not just off the 1964 presidential ticket, but was also headed directly to the nearest jail.

An LBJ led assassination of JFK was an imperative. It was his only "way out" of his tenuous set of circumstances bursting at the seams with scandals that could have landed him in jail. Five Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crook? Blackmailer? We was all of this a more beyond belief., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heavy going but fascinating well worh the read, but hard to believe he could get away with massive corruption and blackmail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, amazing, worse than all the scandal surrounding Clinton and Nixon - only so few know the truth., 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In truth, this book really has a story worth five stars but I have had to deduct a star because it is not that well written, although absorbing there are a few typos, the text repeats itself too frequently and it seems to be almost an advertisement for Mr Joesten's other books on the same subject which would be better covered by footnotes or endnotes.

There are so many conspiracy theories about the death of JFK but this appears to me to be wholly convincing. LBJ, comes across as a thoroughly unpleasant man prepared to lie to cover his own tracks and prepared to bring down his best friends. As the author asks - how did a man who came to Washington DC with only one suit die worth $14m when all he had was a congressional salary? A tale of corruption throughout the American Establishment, it does not even touch on the damage Johnson did to his country through escalation of the Vietnam war.

A really good read for anyone interested in Congressional history in the second half of the 20th C. My parents used to say to me that everyone can remember where they were when JFK was assassinated, in the same way that everyone of my generation can remember where they were when the Twin Towers were hit. This book unmasks one of the least savory politicians every to become President of the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a rant, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is more of a rant than a studied biography on Johnson. Couldn't finish this book just got bored with the totally biased opinion. Just give us the facts and lets us make our own minds up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an eyeopener this book is. When I read of the goings on of LBJ and his cronies it makes one think that they live in a different world to people like that. Very well wriiten in easy to follow narration that is why I give it four stars. Good author I like his style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific detail, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Grumbleguts (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even if you are not interested in the JFK assassination, as I am, if you have any interest in looking into the psyche of the then VIce President - this is a terrific read.

I am always interested in biographies of political figures - from all parts of the world. I found this one written to engage the reader and enjoyed it all the more for that. Some biographies can be rather dry to read - but this slipped easily into afternoon reading.

I never rely on one biography of a person - but this was an excellent start to reading more about LBJ - and corroborated some other mentions I've read of him in other Kennedy family biographies.

I would recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in the politicians who figure so largely in World History on the global scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book about the dark side of human nature must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamite which explodes the facts of a corrupt man, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joesten wrote this in May 1968 - so places this in context of time. The facts have since been reinforced by the History channel's "The Men Who Killed Kennedy" Ep.9 'The Guilty Men'. Explains why the 'conspiracy' has endured for 50 years. LBJ had the means, motive and opportunity to order, and then cover up, the crime of the century. He had the most to gain from Kennedy's death and the most to lose if Kennedy lived. The scary thing is the conspirators' interests are still being protected, and the only reason for that is they are still in power! This book gets tangled at times with the details, but get through that and the message is clear. Detailed and gripping stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the book, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Brian (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a lot of facts and assumptions....in fact far to many..impossible to follow the details given in the book...to much information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Side of Lyndon Baines Johnson
The Dark Side of Lyndon Baines Johnson by Joachim Joesten (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
£6.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews