Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, fabulous illustrations
This, the latest book to be released from Alan Dunn is, in my opinion, worth every penny!
Every step is illustrated with step by step pictures of how things should look (!) at every stage of the process.
The flowers covered are gardenia, rose, peony,hibiscus,wild pansy, babies' bonnet, flamingo flower, orchid,iris,sweet pea, thistle,opium poppy, Chinese...
Published 18 months ago by J. A. Knights

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complex book for a beginner but excellent quality
This book at first was quite overwhelming for a beginner, but does inspire to reach the excellence I want to reach and that the book brilliantly demonstrates. Well worth adding to any collection.
Published 8 months ago by Mim_Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, fabulous illustrations, 27 July 2013
By 
J. A. Knights - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This, the latest book to be released from Alan Dunn is, in my opinion, worth every penny!
Every step is illustrated with step by step pictures of how things should look (!) at every stage of the process.
The flowers covered are gardenia, rose, peony,hibiscus,wild pansy, babies' bonnet, flamingo flower, orchid,iris,sweet pea, thistle,opium poppy, Chinese lanterns, bluegrass blossom, Chinese jasmine, anemone, lily of the valley , Easter lily, passion flower, bluebells, ginger lily, nasturtium, lisianthus, pelargonium and clown orchid. ( I'd want to know if I was thinking about buying another book on flowers!)
If you make sugar flowers you would not regret the purchase of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From scratch to expert, 27 July 2013
By 
paperlace (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
I love this book. I have several by the author and some of my reviews comment that the book assumes prior knowledge and is not for the beginner. But this book is aimed at the beginner and the improver. the pictures are fantastic - showing every little detail. the range of flowers is great and the instructions given on colouring is very detailed. THis book is a must have for anyone making flowers. it is my opinion that this surpasses alan's other books because it gives you the skills you need in order to use his other publications. I wish i had this book 2 years ago when i started in this craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Craft skills., 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even with the mixup of wires - mm and gauges the book is brilliant for people who are starting out on this wonderful hobby. Very good pictures and steps to follow. You just cannot go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best book yet especially for beginners. As a teacher of sugar craft I am always looking for good reference books, and this one has lots of information not found in other publications. The lay out is far better than any of his other books, more step by step pictures make it easy to follow. GREAT BOOK. Terry, Bradford College.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan does it again, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another lovely book from Alan Dunn. Lots of detailed pictures in this one and cross referencing - so a slightly different style from his other books. But I liked this as it was useful to see where in the book the particular flowers were. I cannot get enough of Alan's books and am already looking forward to the next ones!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very useful book, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a novice flower maker, the step by step instructions are very easy to follow. i would thoroughly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for novice or more experienced, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent clear photographs showing step by step instructions. Very clear and easy to follow. Very motivating. Good for ideas and designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
A. Hinchliffe (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugar Flower Skills: The Cake Decorator's Step-By-Step Guide to Making Exquisite Lifelike Flowers (Hardcover)
A great book for keen beginners. Clear instructions anf illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 30 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear instructions. Well illustrated. Good range of flowers to try. I will look for other books written by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having made several of the flowers using the tips and instructions in the book and felt that they were very successful I feel I can thoroughly recommend this as a excellent aid to anyone starting on sugar flower making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews