Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush Guide with a difference, 7 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Beat About the Bush: Mammals (Paperback)
This is no ordinary catalogue of bush animals, but a perceptive and fascinating insight into many characteristics of the animals and their behaviour patterns. It includes many of the comments that came from the guide on our walking trail. Had he read this too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations Trevor!, 8 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Beat About the Bush: Mammals (Paperback)
A fantastic work done by the author. A pleasure to write and a book to have on hand to consult. Please do keep it up. We all need this kind of good work. Irene Grilo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on African wildlife...ever, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat About the Bush: Mammals (Paperback)
This isn't the usual 'field guide' type of book, but offers deep insight into the animal's place in the wild or 'bush'. I have studied wildlife, especially African wildlife, for much of my life and have worked on conservation projects in Africa, and this book still had lots to teach me. I found it fascinating from front to back. I have also read almost every book on the subject and this offers something that few, or possibly no, other do.

So if you're in the market for a book that teaches you interesting facts about animal behaviour, tracking and field signs, and other aspects of animal's lives beyond what they look like, then this is the book for you. If this sounds like you, then I would also recommend the excellent (although a bit outdated in places) 'The Behaviour Guide to African Mammals' by the equallly excellent Richard Estes of the IUCN's Antelope Specialist Group (and the fascinating Gnusletter!). This book has been re-released recently but I own the old version.

So in summary, I simply cannot recommend or praise this book highly enough. My only complaint is that I wish it was 3 times thicker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clear, concise, informative, 22 May 2009
By 
J. Southern (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat About the Bush: Mammals (Paperback)
Compared to many of the field guides this give an excellent level of detail that can be viewed in the field with ease. Not a text book, but interesting facts abound. A very useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for nature lovers, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat About the Bush: Mammals (Paperback)
Very informative and easy to understand. Detailed and interesting. The Author obviously knows his stuff and conveys it in an interesting and understandable way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Read, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat About the Bush: Mammals (Paperback)
This isn't a dry impersonal reference book but a good engaging read. I'd expect to dip in and out of a book like this but I'm about half way through reading it cover to cover. There are many instances of the author recounting his own personal expeeriences which for me add to the success of the book. Because I have been drawn into the book as a whole I have learned about animals I might not otherwise have read about. Because it's not laid out like a typical reference book it can be a difficult to find specific things. It's a good book to complement a more rigorously formatted standard reference book. Strongly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mammals by Trevor Carnaby, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Beat About the Bush: Mammals (Paperback)
Again a thoroughly concise book. It is full of the
most interesting facts and general knowledge. Easy to
handle and fits in easily to your hand luggage. It's
more about general information, questions and answers
than a completely factual guide to all animals.
Very interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beat About the Bush: Mammals
Beat About the Bush: Mammals by Trevor Carnaby (Paperback - 13 Sep 2006)
12.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews