Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2014
My husband is an ecologist and as an animal scientist myself I often accompany him on trips to Africa. I must admit that birds are not my strong point (understatement of the year) however over the last five years I've slowly started to pick up the skills required using his traditional bird books that have drawings rather than images. This brings me to what I feel is the main advantage of this book. The photographs! As a total amateur birder I find it much easier to ID birds from photos. I know twitchers everywhere will be screaming at the screen about detail etc etc however seeing the actual bird in an image has been far more useful to me in six months than similar books with drawings. The book is easy to use and small which is handy on field trips. I would recommend for anyone just starting out with their birding or anyone that prefers clear glossy photographs
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Just recently returned from a holiday safari in South Africa/Swaziland. This book may be small but it was very useful for the uninitiated bird watcher. To my surprise is helped me ID about 99.9% of the population of bird life...and believe me I saw some rare birds. I took it with me to hides and on hikes......it was small enough to fit in my pocket for quick reference. So glad I had it with me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Bought this for my brother in law who's going to visit his son in South Africa and was told to bring his binoculars and a bird book. He's thrilled with it. It's clear, precise and small enough to be practical.
Lets hope he sees the birds when he's there!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Needing to conserve weight in luggage,this handy guide provides small photos of the bird species of South Africa with location maps. A handy guide to pop into a pocket.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Part of a gift for my grandson. Very informative little book, great glossy pictures. Very pleased.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
I purchased this book after I read some reviews about it. I am not disappointed with it, great size looks informative . Only time will tell as I am taking it with me when we go on holiday after Christmas.the photos and descriptions of the birds shown in the pocket guide look great. Can't wait to use it. Excellent price also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Received the book very promptly. The size is perfect for taking on a Safari with grandsons in Botswana later this year.Illustrations are excellent and descripions should help us all get the most from our trip. Many thanks Brenda Davies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Lots of detail, pictures, descriptions, calls etc. It is probably my own fault but I did not find it overly easy to look up birds seen as I am not yet familiar with the way they are categorised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Well presented information for a small field guide with good coverage. I would prefer illustrations to photographs for clarity including more on gender and juvenile differentiation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
I don't know who this guy Fred Gardener is but I hope that he enjoyed the items as much as me.
The book does all that I wanted it to do
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)