Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking pies to the next level
Stéphane Reynaud is a French chef and writer. I confess I know little about him, but I have to say I am impressed by this book.

Pies and Tarts contains predominantly savoury dishes, with a small chapter of sweet pies, all recipes gathered from the regions of France. The recipes are varied, ranging from rustic country-style pies, to luxury en croute...
Published 6 months ago by Mutherfudger.co.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Beautiful book, way too complicated recipes
Published 5 months ago by Slavi Thomsen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking pies to the next level, 16 Nov. 2014
Stéphane Reynaud is a French chef and writer. I confess I know little about him, but I have to say I am impressed by this book.

Pies and Tarts contains predominantly savoury dishes, with a small chapter of sweet pies, all recipes gathered from the regions of France. The recipes are varied, ranging from rustic country-style pies, to luxury en croute. Often with unusual ingredients, such as veal sweetbreads or eel, the dishes are more in line with a dinner party or celebration than a mid-week supper.

The first chapter covers the essential part of any pie or tart – the pastry. From pāte sablée to pāte brisée, it’s all covered here. The rest of the recipes are split into six chapters: Vegetables and Mushrooms; Poultry and Rabbits; Meat; Fish and Seafood; Cheese; and Sweet Pies. In total, there are 80 recipes, so plenty to choose from even if you are a fussy eater.

There are plenty of photos, one for each recipe, which is a big thumbs up from me. The photos are simple, not overly staged, and focus on what is important, the food.

The recipes are easy to follow. Reynaud’s years of experience breaks each recipe down into concise steps. Any cook with reasonable experience should have no difficulty following them.

My favourite recipes are Rabbit Pie with Basil, Salmon Pie, and Maple Syrup Pie. With winter on the horizon, we are well into pie season, so if you want to take your pie making to the next level, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Pie book, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Richard Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts (Hardcover)
Amidst the plethora of baking and pie recipe books, this brings forward a gallic flavour to the genre. These are excellent (and to British eyes) featuring a feast of unusual ingredients (I may pass on the smoked eel pie!). With the accent on presentation, there's plenty here for the dinner party, though not many designed to be eaten cold. Highly recommended, but not for the waistline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, the recipes are good and its now well thumbed, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts (Hardcover)
This is a great book with excellent pies and tarts. Combined with easy to use instructions and methods the book walks a careful balance between useful and innovative. Its already well thumbed in the household
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. T. Voller "Taz-Voll" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts (Hardcover)
This is a great book, filled to the brim (Like the pies) with very interesting and very tempting looking recipes.
I've made three so far, and they were so good, in a really novel (to me) way, I felt compelled to write a review.
Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
Slavi Thomsen "cookbook lover" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts (Hardcover)
Beautiful book, way too complicated recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts (Hardcover)
worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be disappointed, the recipes may be good but my copy ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts (Hardcover)
misleading - there are no tart recipes - it's all pies! Don't be disappointed, the recipes may be good but my copy is going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts
Stephane Reynaud s Pies & Tarts by Stephane Reynaud (Hardcover - 12 Sept. 2013)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews