Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Eclairs
Easy to follow step-by-step instructions. Eclairs came out good and first time made creme patissiere which is now a firm favourite.
Published 19 months ago by KellyJ

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a disappointment
I used to make eclairs but so long ago that I thought this book would help me to get back in the swing. How wrong can you be? I followed the step by step recipe and was rewarded with lumps of fried, flat dough! I couldn't believe it!My friend read the book cover to cover and was rather nonplussed to see that despite the recipe being on page 24 the oven temperature was on...
Published 19 months ago by J. V. Grant-salmon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a disappointment, 7 Dec 2012
By 
J. V. Grant-salmon "JGS" (South West) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
I used to make eclairs but so long ago that I thought this book would help me to get back in the swing. How wrong can you be? I followed the step by step recipe and was rewarded with lumps of fried, flat dough! I couldn't believe it!My friend read the book cover to cover and was rather nonplussed to see that despite the recipe being on page 24 the oven temperature was on page 60.A v pretty book but it's back to Mary Berry for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Eclairs, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
Easy to follow step-by-step instructions. Eclairs came out good and first time made creme patissiere which is now a firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another lovely little book, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
I brought myself 'Secrets of Maracons' by the same publisher last year and if you liked that book you'll like this one even more.

It uses the same format as the previous book with a chapter on ingredients and techniques, which covers the basic recipe as well as whys and wherefores of the technical aspects of choux pastry making. Followed by recipes for various fillings inducing Creme patissiere, Creme mousselline, Chantilly cream, Chocolate mousse and ganache and then the different types of icing ganache, fondant, royal and caramel.

The book continues with chapter of recipes all accompanied by gorgeous photos. This section although repetitive has some nice ideas including ice cream filled chocolate covered éclairs, éclairs filled with lime creme patissiere and éclairs with a caramelise apple filling.

The only slight criticism and I mean slight is rather than the page 4 pages on mini éclairs and 2 pages on caramel ice cream éclairs which repeat whats already in the book it might have been nice to include a recipe or two for other choux deserts like the religieuse, the croquembouche, the paris-brest, the profiterole, the humble Chouquettes or even a nice savoury Gougères recipe.

However having said all that this is a lovely book which provides lots of inspiration so If you have a friend or relation who loves baking this would make a really fabulous little present.

BTW if the publisher reads this can we have more please maybe secrets of bread or secrets of pastry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For frivolous poring, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
This book is small but gorgeous. I am confident I will never make more than a couple of the recipes, but then this was never going to be a bible for everyday use. I could see, however, how this might be just the thing for a girl who likes to do dainty and who likes tea parties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little book, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
Really nice little book with several recipes. Nice pictures too. Will order this as a gift too for someone who likes eclairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book on Eclair receipes, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
We purchased this book to go with the Master Class eclair tray that we had purchased. A great book published in high quality with really good recipes and great pics on high quality gloss paper. A great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas., 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
I have been looking for a recipe book for eclairs for a while and I am so pleased with finally finding this little gem..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 30 Mar 2013
By 
F. Meril - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
it is a very nice book with nice ideas on a classic of bakery. it isn't big, but very well explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greed Central, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
Great little book, goes through the most basic elements of choux pastry through to mind blowing flavour combinations and beautiful presentation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Eclairs (Hardcover)
il libro é ben illustrato, le fotografie sono chiare e le spiegazioni altrettanto. belle ricette e buoni gli spunti. ottimo rapporto qualitá e prezzo

The book is well illustrated, the photographs are clear and explanations as well. good recipes and good cues. very good quality and price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets of Eclairs
Secrets of Eclairs by Marianne Magnier-Moreno (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
7.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews