Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small expansion of the uptimers story
NIce little edition to the Axis of time trilogy. Brought up to date with mention of Apple & Google products and gives it a more "modern" feel to it.

The story centers around Prince Harry & Vaisilov with a few supporting characters such as Duffy & Stalin thrown in for good measure. The story is quite pedestrian and plods along at a decent pace.

It's a...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by Mike Renshaw

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short for it's own good.
I wanted to give this book a good review, I really did but I can't. I read it on my Kindle and loved what there was of it but no sooner had I settled in to a good read the book finished. It's that short that there is no way I can recommend it even at the Kindle price, let alone £7.99 for the paperback. It's good, but it's nothing more than a taster, the next book needs to...
Published on 20 Mar. 2013 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not great either, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an ok read but too short. Desperate to know what has become of othet Axis of Time characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hurry Mr Birmingham when is the next book. Stalin's hammer Cairo ???? The whole series of books are gripping. I want more !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I was hoping for a more detailed view of how society had changed, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was written more as just a spy story not my favorite genre. I was hoping that it would continue more like the Axis of Time trilogy which i really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing after the predecessors, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After hugely enjoying the Axis of Time series, I was delighted to find that Birmingham had returned to that world for a sequel. Forewarned by some of the luke-warm reviews, my expectations were set accordingly, but even so, it was a little disappointing.

So, plus points - it returns to the AoT world, set 10 years after the events of the last trilogy. The book focuses on two of the characters from the previous series, giving most of the highlight to one who was mostly a secondary character before. And, it's kind of alright - rollicking, high tempo adventure, as you would expect from the previous books.

But... it's short, and because of that, it lacks depth of both plot and characterisation; it doesn't have the multiple ongoing strands of the other, longer, books, and it suffers in comparison.

Overall, it's OK, but it's really half or a third of a book - a couple of hours reading and it's gone, leaving you wanting for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor follow up, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
David Farrow "doa-dave" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the Axis of Time books - sadly this is a very poor and lazy follow up. At best it is a short story and does not have the breadth and depth of the previous novels. Surely Mr Birmingham can do better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars TOO SHORT! not enough characters or plotlines., 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Axis of Time novels were great , this is not . It's good for what it is but what it is is only a few chapters of a sub plot in what should have been a much bigger and more expansive follow up. The initial blurb mentions that Kolhammer is in the White House , not even mentioned in this story . Dissappointed ,I won't be buying the next instalment unless the character pool is vastly expanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining short story to the Axis of Time World, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've read the Axis of Time trilogy then this is an entertaining addition. I brought the Kindle edition and was disappointed at the cost for the short story. Despite this I would recommend this to any fans, if you can wait for all the stories to be published as I'm sure cheaper versions will then be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - where is the rest?????, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, I really enjoyed this short story - mouthwateringly engineered to snare all of us Axis fans....it works...and has made me want to go back and read the old ones again.....
Please please please get the next one done quickly, and then perhaps a full novel, or serise to follow...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After enjoying the earlier books in this series I was greatly disappointed with this book as it was very short and the plot was too simple and boring.

Maybe John Birmingham has runned the course with this story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars When you sell a novel, there shouldn't be only half a book...., 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on Kindle as a big fan of Birmingham, and just as the story got moving the book ended. A complete rip off. My recommendation is to wait until he finishes this story and hope he republished the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stalin's Hammer: Rome
Stalin's Hammer: Rome by John Birmingham (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews