Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small expansion of the uptimers story
NIce little edition to the Axis of time trilogy. Brought up to date with mention of Apple & Google products and gives it a more "modern" feel to it.

The story centers around Prince Harry & Vaisilov with a few supporting characters such as Duffy & Stalin thrown in for good measure. The story is quite pedestrian and plods along at a decent pace.

It's a...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by Mike Renshaw

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short for it's own good.
I wanted to give this book a good review, I really did but I can't. I read it on my Kindle and loved what there was of it but no sooner had I settled in to a good read the book finished. It's that short that there is no way I can recommend it even at the Kindle price, let alone £7.99 for the paperback. It's good, but it's nothing more than a taster, the next book needs to...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small expansion of the uptimers story, 18 Nov. 2012
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NIce little edition to the Axis of time trilogy. Brought up to date with mention of Apple & Google products and gives it a more "modern" feel to it.

The story centers around Prince Harry & Vaisilov with a few supporting characters such as Duffy & Stalin thrown in for good measure. The story is quite pedestrian and plods along at a decent pace.

It's a good way to expand John Birmingham's universe and works well but it's not really that in depth and no major shocks or surprises but it's a good old read. I paid £1.94 for this and it's okay value, but if it was below 99p or free then it would have got five stars. I read this in a couple of hours on the plane and was entertaining while it lasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short for it's own good., 20 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to give this book a good review, I really did but I can't. I read it on my Kindle and loved what there was of it but no sooner had I settled in to a good read the book finished. It's that short that there is no way I can recommend it even at the Kindle price, let alone £7.99 for the paperback. It's good, but it's nothing more than a taster, the next book needs to be a finished one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I hoped for, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is focused more on several characters we know from the original trilogy and doesn't have the same breadth of scope. It's a good story, and an interesting look into how the Emergence/Transition has affected history with time having moved forward a bit, however not as good as the other books in this universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a review, when is it coming out as a book?, 11 Nov. 2012
By 
SJ SMART "Smartie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this Axis of Time series and was very sad to see it end but I assumed that History just reasserted its self after this alternative World War 2; that although Staling wipes out many more enemies and his Armies advanced more deeply in to Western Europe that he would still die in the 1950s and the Cold War would continue until the 1980s.

So you can imagine my delight when all my questions/ theories would be addressed as this new story came out, however I dont have a kindle and was told by the publishers that a book was coming, but where is it????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short, but good fun, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love his three full size "World War 2.1" books, and this is a continuation, with the same characters. Its just too short, unless it is followed up quickly (or is this what genre-busting is all about?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rip off, 11 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Stalin's Hammer: Rome (Paperback)
if you read John Birminghams interview he is supposedly putting this out as an ebook in serial form wth a chapter every 2 months , For those of us that prefer an old fashioned book its a rip off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AOT is back!, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having first read Weapons of Choice years ago I was eager for the series to resume, I was not disappointed the book is part 1 of a larger collection, hopefully we will not have to wait too long for the next book!

The story resolves around 3 of the up timers, Julia Duffy, Prince Henry of Wales and Vaisilov in Rome 10 years after the end of the war, Rome is the Berlin of this time with a divided city. The soviets to the north, the allies to the south with a covert war waging in the back ally's and Vatican City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good way to continue Axis of Time series, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
M. Williams "fourthwall" (UK london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Birmingham back to what he does best, tight thriller with lots of imaginative asides on how the time traveling fleet has changed the world. The ebook format makes it like Charles Dickens and his serialized novels are taking on the technothriller. Looking forward to seeing XXXXX return in "Stalins Hammer: Cairo".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't wait for the full book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not great either, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an ok read but too short. Desperate to know what has become of othet Axis of Time characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stalin's Hammer: Rome
Stalin's Hammer: Rome by John Birmingham (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews