Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2014
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Lonely Planet guides do inspire most that leaving suburbia for a few weeks is a great idea and this book again gives you the courage to look at countries/locations that you may not have thought about. The guide itself is a small book - perfect for a quick read or in your day bag and the quality of the photography is again of a high standard. Worth buying if going to the travel agent fills you with dread....
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2014
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book first picks a top ten of countries to visit in 2014, for example Brazil for the world cup and Scotland for the Commonwealth Games, Malawi before it gets too popular and Belgium for the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of WW1. There are lists of festivals and events to look out for, bizarre sights to see and random facts - eg fruit bat is served in Seychellois restaurants...

After this there are ten top regions such as The Kimberleys, Sikkim, and Victoria Falls (back in business!)

"Top ten cities" is followed by general top travel lists such as best for families, honeymooners, adventure, beaches etc.

This is a gem for the avid traveller, the suggestions are inspired and the photography just makes me want to pack up and rush off - those quartzite spires in Wulingyuan! The waterfalls of Macedonia...the beaches of Tonga!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2014
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Love the Lonely Planet books and this one doesn't disappoint, does exactly what it says on the tin. Lovely pictures and friendly descriptions make you want to go exploring immediately. Great stuff.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Great little guide, really gives you some brilliant topical ideas and has definitely added some trips to my bucket list! Well worth it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 September 2014
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As someone who likes to spend a good 10 weeks a years travelling around the world I find these little guides useful for keeping my finger on the pulse. But don't expect something that resembles typical Lonely Planet Guides. The information in here is pretty spartan and only provides the most basic details about things to see in the listed countries. Despite this I found this book fun and enjoyable and a useful purchase if you are considering a number of different places to go.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 December 2013
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another beautifully presented book from LP detailing their recommendations of places worth visiting. The content of the book can't be argued with, and is broken down into countries regions and cities. The pictures are stunning and really give a feel of the places being described. The only criticism I have of this book is that it's very small! It's approximately a5 sized so everything feels quite squeezed in ... Would have been so much better if it was slightly larger
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
My brother and cousin had recently returned from travelling across Asia and Australia. I got them both a copy for Christmas and they love it! They are already planning their next trip.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2014
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Full of ideas for travel this year. Beautifully illustrated, and masses of content packed into a very compact, easily-carried format.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There is nothing better on a cold dreary winter night than a new guide book which allows your imagination to take flight and whisk you to sunnier climes. This little guide has some wonderful pictures and fascinating facts about far away places which will not only allow the armchair traveller to dream but will whet the appetite for possible destinations to visit in 2014. Under each destination the guide lists reasons to go there in 2014 but also gives details of what is hot, where to find the best shopping and the 'classic' places to stay. For my money the best suggestion in the book is the suggestion that Victoria Falls, zimbabwe & Zambia be put back as a tourist 'hot spot'. However there is also a section with really excellent suggestions for the best places for travellers on a tight budget - one of the suggestions under this heading was Nicaragua which is not a destination which immediately springs to mind but which sounds interesting. There are also suggestions for honeymooners,those who like adventures and [with some surprising destinations] those who enjoy Shakespeare. All in all there is a lot of information packed into this small book and although the book is intendwed as a guide to travel in 2014 I could see it still being a favourite read in later years.fjs
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I didn't know what to think about this guide when I first received it. The format is a little different from that of guides I'm familiar with. Rather than focus on a particular country or city it selects a series of destinations it considers highlights for the coming year and divides them up by top tens for countries, regions and cities. It also has themed sections such as "best value destinations", "the cats meow" and "best adventure travel". All are covered in basic detail rather than the in depth format that's standard for the standard destination guides. You couldn't plan a trip in detail with this guide but it could be useful for those with too many options to narrow it down to something that would form the basis of a plan.

It's all presented in Lonely Planets informal style, replete with decent colour photographs and snippets of interesting information. So, whilst I was initially dubious of the value of the guide, by the end of reading I was looking at destinations I might not have considered previously. Not a bad effort at all.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse