Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet, great as usual
Love the Lonely Planet books and this one doesn't disappoint, does exactly what it says on the tin. Lovely pictures and friendly descriptions make you want to go exploring immediately. Great stuff.
Published 5 months ago by Nicolette Laurence

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good resource for the undecided
I didn't know what to think about this guide when I first received it. The format is a little different from that of guides I'm familiar with. Rather than focus on a particular country or city it selects a series of destinations it considers highlights for the coming year and divides them up by top tens for countries, regions and cities. It also has themed sections such...
Published 7 months ago by RM/TM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet, great as usual, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Nicolette Laurence "Lunarwillow" (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Love the Lonely Planet books and this one doesn't disappoint, does exactly what it says on the tin. Lovely pictures and friendly descriptions make you want to go exploring immediately. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pack your bags and hit the road...., 7 Jan 2014
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Lonely Planet guides do inspire most that leaving suburbia for a few weeks is a great idea and this book again gives you the courage to look at countries/locations that you may not have thought about. The guide itself is a small book - perfect for a quick read or in your day bag and the quality of the photography is again of a high standard. Worth buying if going to the travel agent fills you with dread....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bucket List, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Great little guide, really gives you some brilliant topical ideas and has definitely added some trips to my bucket list! Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift idea, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
My brother and cousin had recently returned from travelling across Asia and Australia. I got them both a copy for Christmas and they love it! They are already planning their next trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Jan 2014
By 
C. Peacock (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Full of ideas for travel this year. Beautifully illustrated, and masses of content packed into a very compact, easily-carried format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much to see, so little time, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book first picks a top ten of countries to visit in 2014, for example Brazil for the world cup and Scotland for the Commonwealth Games, Malawi before it gets too popular and Belgium for the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of WW1. There are lists of festivals and events to look out for, bizarre sights to see and random facts - eg fruit bat is served in Seychellois restaurants...

After this there are ten top regions such as The Kimberleys, Sikkim, and Victoria Falls (back in business!)

"Top ten cities" is followed by general top travel lists such as best for families, honeymooners, adventure, beaches etc.

This is a gem for the avid traveller, the suggestions are inspired and the photography just makes me want to pack up and rush off - those quartzite spires in Wulingyuan! The waterfalls of Macedonia...the beaches of Tonga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent LITTLE book, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Yankeeeee (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another beautifully presented book from LP detailing their recommendations of places worth visiting. The content of the book can't be argued with, and is broken down into countries regions and cities. The pictures are stunning and really give a feel of the places being described. The only criticism I have of this book is that it's very small! It's approximately a5 sized so everything feels quite squeezed in ... Would have been so much better if it was slightly larger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good resource for the undecided, 15 Jan 2014
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I didn't know what to think about this guide when I first received it. The format is a little different from that of guides I'm familiar with. Rather than focus on a particular country or city it selects a series of destinations it considers highlights for the coming year and divides them up by top tens for countries, regions and cities. It also has themed sections such as "best value destinations", "the cats meow" and "best adventure travel". All are covered in basic detail rather than the in depth format that's standard for the standard destination guides. You couldn't plan a trip in detail with this guide but it could be useful for those with too many options to narrow it down to something that would form the basis of a plan.

It's all presented in Lonely Planets informal style, replete with decent colour photographs and snippets of interesting information. So, whilst I was initially dubious of the value of the guide, by the end of reading I was looking at destinations I might not have considered previously. Not a bad effort at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is nothing better on a cold dreary winter night than a new guide book which allows your imagination to take flight and whisk you to sunnier climes. This little guide has some wonderful pictures and fascinating facts about far away places which will not only allow the armchair traveller to dream but will whet the appetite for possible destinations to visit in 2014. Under each destination the guide lists reasons to go there in 2014 but also gives details of what is hot, where to find the best shopping and the 'classic' places to stay. For my money the best suggestion in the book is the suggestion that Victoria Falls, zimbabwe & Zambia be put back as a tourist 'hot spot'. However there is also a section with really excellent suggestions for the best places for travellers on a tight budget - one of the suggestions under this heading was Nicaragua which is not a destination which immediately springs to mind but which sounds interesting. There are also suggestions for honeymooners,those who like adventures and [with some surprising destinations] those who enjoy Shakespeare. All in all there is a lot of information packed into this small book and although the book is intendwed as a guide to travel in 2014 I could see it still being a favourite read in later years.fjs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel) (Paperback)
Quick delivery, product as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2014 (Lonely Planet Best in Travel)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews