Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is so cool!!!!
Lonely Planet's 1000 Ultimate Adventures is 349 pages of fun. In full colour, the look is like a magazine with page after page of glossy photos and info. It's a heavy book, but with its short, squat size, it's perfect to hold or throw in the back of your bag for a days adventure.

The table of contents is broken down into dozens of subjects helping the reader to...
Published 6 months ago by Pizor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick passage of text for the suggested adventure.
This is a jack of all trades book. To my mind it does well as a coffee table book or a present for folks aiming to travel. The adventures range from well off the beaten track to popular recommendations. There is very little to else aside from a description of the adventure, like a blurb from a travellogue. It is slightly off putting as well to have a list of 10...
Published 6 months ago by Jack Chakotay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is so cool!!!!, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Pizor (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lonely Planet's 1000 Ultimate Adventures is 349 pages of fun. In full colour, the look is like a magazine with page after page of glossy photos and info. It's a heavy book, but with its short, squat size, it's perfect to hold or throw in the back of your bag for a days adventure.

The table of contents is broken down into dozens of subjects helping the reader to narrow down their specific interest. Topics range from Sensational Snowshoe Escapades to Best Surf Breaks for Beginners; from Ultimate Border Crossings to Iconic European Adventures. They even have Best Adventures in the Buff, Girls Only Adventures, Family Friendly Adventures and even Rousing Reads for Armchair Adventurers. You may think this last category is a cop out, but actually, it's pretty helpful. It gives 10 excellent travel books, some you may already know, but several are perhaps more obscure with older copyrights yet extremely interesting.

Adventures range, on average, between 2 and 4 pages with at least 1 excellent color photo paired with almost every adventure topic (best armchair reads and adventure movies didn't seem to have photos). So what's covered with each topic? To me, the copy feels very much like what you find in a magazine covering The 10 Best... Each topic has around 10 suggestions. Though info is obviously given as to why it's listed here, you won't get details about how to get there, costs on travel, hotels, etc. But don't get my wrong, this is not a bare bones travel guide, either. Each blurb highlights the adventure found, be it kayaking in Greenland or riding the rails in Russia. Underneath each blurb is a little bonus info such as useful websites or how experienced an adventurer you need to be to attempt this adventure.

Whether you're planning an adventure for yourself or just like dreaming of one, Lonely Planet's 1000 Ultimate Adventures is an excellent resource as well as a great book to keep on your coffee table and flip through whenever you want to escape the monotony of your everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pastimes and Places, 7 Dec 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Over the last 25 years, possibly longer, there has been a boom in action packed pastimes as a craze of thrill seeking for its own sake has swept Britain and other parts of the world, and the venues for participants have become increasingly far flung and exotic. Thrill seekers were first attracted to abseiling, canyoning, white water rafting etc., but their craving for ever more outlandish adventure has led to more extreme exploits, and far from nearby locations they now travel to distant places in mountains, rivers, deserts, caves etc.

For even longer than 25 years Lonely Planet has been the world's leading travel authority publishing guidebooks and magazines catering for adventurous explorers with limited budgets. `1000 Ultimate Adventures' combines pastimes with places, and is a superb stepping-stone to motivate readers to move from dreaming to planning, and from planning to embarking on what are referred to as `ultimate itineraries'. In 350 pages there are 1,000 suggestions relating to every part of the world, on land and sea, underground and in the air, from equatorial to polar. In addition to providing brief details of each adventurous undertaking there are occasional quoted experiences of individuals going before, using their exploits as challenging to equal or do better.

`1000 Ultimate Adventures' is printed on good quality semi-gloss paper with easy to read text, with colour coded tags to identify different sections, and with a comprehensive index. Excellent spectacular photographs are in glorious colour, page-setting is attractive, and `boxed sections' are incorporated for clarity. There are up to half a dozen `adventures' per double page with selective coverage, but brevity does not mean inadequacy, and every word seems well chosen to inspire readers. From armchair aficionados to extreme activists there is something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1000 Ultimate adventures, 30 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I approached this book with a mixture of curiosity (where are all of these exciting places), inadequacy (would the 1000 places be for the very young go getters segment only? - I am 64), niche (these far flung places are bound to be expensive to reach aren't they?
Well answering the last question first -yes the locations are all over the planet - but there are some in Scotland like the Munros and Fort William's Ben Nevis
In his forward to the book, Alastair Humphreys says that, "the world is big that (he) will never reach the bottom of (his) wish list". Also, "don't make the mistake of reading this book without making the adventures of your choice happen"
I thought there would be many places listed that I had not visited -which I find there indeed are.
But...there are also quite a few places listed that I have been to. I have enjoyed some of these places -like Yosemite's El Capitan (#115 in the book) - having just come back from my fourth visit in 10 years. I reflected on 2 things about this location versus the book.
I did lots of trail walks, enjoyed Vernal Falls in full flow. We were out every day and loved it -without climbing the biggest granite rock in the world. So you can pick the venues mentioned in this book, and adapt them to suit your own lifestyle, physical strength and of course your budget. Going to Yosemite (via San Francisco) was not cheap. Also, you can visit a 1000 places once or for use Yosemite -the same place - several times. It's up to you
Looking at the book I have -in my own way - visited #4(Cairo), #21 (Mojave Desert)
#30 (UAE), #36 (Munros - well Ben Lowers anyway!), #35 (Appalachian mountains), #66(Grand Canyon), #123 (Manta Rays diving -Red Sea - also Dahab in 2014 also listed)#187 Chatsworth, #207 (Speyside), #251 (Skye), #271 (Bosporus), #277 (USA Great Lakes), #289 (Peak District Parks), #300 (Big Sur)and at least 40 other places.
You notice there are many parts of the world that I have not been, but you possibly have.
The book does the energy bit discussing mountain biking, diving, rock climbing, taking a raft down the rapids, ice climbing, zip lining, city hikes, girl only adventures (?), sand surfing, tower running (Ahh!),snow boarding, skiing,pilgrimages - like the Hajj in Saudi Arabia, hut-to-hut walks in Switzerland, Appalachian Trail and others (I just drove over it in the fall on my way to Pittsburgh - still a great experience!)
For locations in the USA I would also recommend the National Geographic's "10 Best of Everything National Parks" too
Overall, I think the Lonely Planet "1000 Ultimate Adventures" is a great source book to stimulate ideas of where to go. Whether it's to do that long surf ride off Big Sur or just to visit some fantastic place like the Gobi desert (#534)there is a great width of ideas in the book.
As we heard earlier you won't see all 1000 "before you die" but you can at least home in on one or two to start with!
As Alastair Humpreys concludes, "There is a wonderful world out there and this book is a fantastic appetiser (which it is). Let's Go"
So see what suits you and your pocket - and how you want to enjoy these places. Hanging over the precipice. Or, as me and my wife did on the Yosemite trails -looking up at brave souls who were half way up El Capitan and were pinned in for the night in a makeshift hammock on the rock's face ready to continue the following morning (well before we got out of bed!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 23 April 2014
By 
E. Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Got this for my adventurous sister for Christmas, she loves it! A must buy for anyone with a sense of adventure, gives so much inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Great book, really well set out with some brilliant ideas to try, and even more ideas just to imagine and inspire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I must admit that I love travelling, however I don't have enough time or money to do as much of it as I would like. I ordered this book as I thought it would give me some ideas on what to do. I was apprehensive that it would be full of skydiving and moon walking adventures, i.e. ones that I would never be able to do. I was therefore surprised that there are a lot of 'normal' adventures, such as just really interesting places to see (as well as snowboarding and mountain climbing). I would really say that there is something for everyone in here. It is ordered in category, rather than location, which I found irritating at first, but I then realised there is an index at the back which you can use to find countries and places very quickly. I would certainly recommend this book, even if you just fancy reading about some of the possible places there are in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those who want a little adventure in their lives, 16 Jan 2014
By 
JoMaynard (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First, this book is great even if you just want to dream about Adventures you could (or would never want) to have.

Second, there is something in here do-able for pretty much anyone. No money? Brighton. Have children? Trips for the whole family. Or incredibly wealthy? A whole section on spending the kids inheritance. More of an Armchair adventurer? There are sections on books and films.

Third, no-one is going to do all 1000. There is my challenge to any super adventurers!

There are adventures for: walkers, bikers (motor and cyclists), in boats, climbing, indoors and out, by train or by car and in all the world's continents.

So who would I recommend this book to? Anyone who ever dreams of adventure; whether to give you inspiration for your next big one, to tick off the ones you've already done, or to dream (and maybe turn those dreams into at least a small adventure).

The biggest adventure starts with a single step, but this book could help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A quick passage of text for the suggested adventure., 16 Jan 2014
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a jack of all trades book. To my mind it does well as a coffee table book or a present for folks aiming to travel. The adventures range from well off the beaten track to popular recommendations. There is very little to else aside from a description of the adventure, like a blurb from a travellogue. It is slightly off putting as well to have a list of 10 adventures for a chosen theme and having around 2-3 pictures for the list (too bad for the ones on the list which didn't get a picture)

Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed it like all of the other Lonely Planet offerings But this effort felt very glib compared to the rival 501 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Mark H (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a fantastic travel book! Lonely Planet are producing some really good travel guides at the moment and this smorgasbord of experiences and adventures is really top of the line.

I love this book for two main reasons - firstly I liked chalking off places I had been lucky enough to visit already, and see if my memories matched the experience of the writer (and see if I might be inspired to return...). The second reason was that there are so many places I haven't been to, both at home and abroad, that are inspiring me to get out on the road again and make the most of the planet.

This book is a great all-rounder. There are the real extreme adventures that adrenalin junkies will crave like wave riding, artic adventures, canyoning, canoeing, diving in the sky and beneath the waves and loads more. There are more sedate activities that still offer great experiences like city hikes or even pilgrimages. Something for everyone of any age to be honest.

The layout is also particularly good. Sectioned off by colour into topics that cover a particular type of adventure so it is easy to leaf through and find particular sections. The photography is good, as is often the case with Lonely Planet books, and the level of information on each adventure is enough to point you in the right direction of websites, travel specialists and the relevant places to really investigate the logistics of making it happen.

Overall and excellent and entertaining book. Well laid out, quality feel and definitely something to have as a travel resource. You'll never have the excuse that you can't think where to go next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bucket List of a Book, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Angel - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I defy anyone not to get excited by the amazing planet we live on having looked at the pages of this book. As billed there are 1000 places to visit/things to do, in short paragraphs, in different sections - my favourite title being "Best Ways to Blow the Kids' Inheritance". From camel treks to bungee jumps there's something to enthrall every armchair traveller. Every other double page or so there is a photo to inspire you further.

It's a compact little book that's definitely one to dip into, it's inspiring, interesting and informative all in one and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference)
1000 Ultimate Adventures (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) by Lonely Planet (Paperback - 13 Sep 2013)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews