Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem - packed with aspirational destinations
An absolute gem of a coffee-table book packed with top-notch photographs, this is not only stunningly beautiful but inspirational. It has fired me up to visit Mashpi Lodge in Equador to see the wildlife; Hoi An in Vietnam to watch paper lanterns float at dusk from the Japanese Covered Bridge, and to walk the spectacular 11km Ruta del Cares in the Picos de Europa, Spain...
Published 14 months ago by Four Violets

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photos
There is no doubt the photographs in this book are stunning but I am slightly underwhelmed. I'm a keen traveller and have notched up around 50 countries with three more planned for this year. I regularly buy travel magazines and follow a number of travel blogs/sites. I say this because it may affect my take on this book. I got this free from Amazon under the Vine...
Published 12 months ago by Marand


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A book for long winter nights, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a book for those long evenings, post Christmas, when winter seems endless. You can choose where you want to go, read about it, look at the pictures and plan your trip or just dream. It is a gorgeous book that will lift the lowest spirits. It even works its magic when the power is down and you are reading it by firelight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography in this coffee table tome, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Vinman666 (Essex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book follows Great Journeys and Great Adventures in the Lonely Planet series. It's a fairly large book generally covering each location across four pages, two of which will be full page photographs and the remaining two a mixture of text, smaller photos and maps.

As a book to leave on a coffee table and occasionally flick through, it's pretty much perfect but don't expect to find too much detail in the limited amount of text. Typically the text will give a brief overview of the local culture, a few lines on things to do and a list of books or films that are linked to that place in some way.

I found myself flicking through and thinking 'wow, I'd like to go there' regularly but there isn't enough detailed information to make much of a decision other than the best months of the year to go. On the other hand, if all you want is inspiration for some fantastic places to visit then there is plenty to found here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks beautiful, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present so haven't been able to look at it properly yet - looking forward to doing so. Might have to buy another for own use! Came very promptly and beautifully packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and detailed, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
This book is superb - although its my first lonely planet purchase so maybe my excitement is old news to some...

This book covers all the details in a siple way such as best time of the year to visit, budget, places to stay... but not in a 'trip advisor' kind of way... For those who have used [...] you appreciate how its quite awesome when someone distills the babble down to one simple answer - this book is like that... no clutter, just facts and awesome pictures! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Gorgeous Getaways, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a superb book for anyone who is - unashamedly - a novice when it comes to travelling. I feel this is very important to consider, because although many of the suggestions that the author makes are can be viewed as 'mainstream' (as a previous reviewer has highlighted), to other budding travellers they are completely new experiences.

In this sense, I feel the book does an excellent job of recommending well-loved activities in unusual places. To make this even easier, the chapters are divided by the kinds of travelling that you would want to persue; including Culture, Luxe, Food and Drink, Romance, City, Chill-Out, Shoestring, Family, Wild and Party. Each chapter then has a selection of getaways that are inspired by a particular vision.

The photographs obviously play a huge part in how the book is assembled, so you're never short of food-for-thought. They are incredibly high quality and help to create a sense of the moment, as well as being a good reference point.

In short, I have nothing bad to say about this book and was pleased that it even came shrink-wrapped. As well as being a great influencer on your future travels, it has the potential to be a very nice picture book even if you just want to gaze at the photography. Some well-rounded travellers will obviously scorn at the fact that these suggestions don't take you to a tiny, unknown restaurant that serves the best fillet mignon in the world, but if you've never had the opportunity to travel as much as you would have like (either due to time or budget), then this book serves a great purpose of setting goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where to go to get away, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A large sized book, of the kind you would put on your coffee table, that aims to be a guide to great holidays. Places you might not have heard of, or might not have considered going to. But it shows you stunning photos of them, and gives you all sorts of information as to what you can do when there.

It runs for three hundred and eight pages. The format is that each destination will have usually four pages all about it. One page that introduces the place and tells you all about it. And gives useful guides as to what you'd need to take with you.

Then there's a big photo of scenery from it along with some general information about the place.

Another photo of something local with more information on the next page.

Then a page with recommended reading, smaller photos, and paragraphs all about things to do and places to see whilst there.

The book is divided into chapters, with the destinations grouped by subject such as family or wild or food.

Some of the destinations aren't quite as famous as others, so some of the information in here was an eye opener for me.

How useful this book will be depends what you want from it. For a coffee table book of great photos it's perfect. For a guide and inspiration to holidays it could give you great ideas. But since it broadened my horizons and I learned a few things from it, it gets five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Places, Beautiful Book, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is full of those beautiful places that make me wish I were a millionaire and could travel anywhere at any time I wanted. The photography and wide-range of locations are exquisite and had me wishing for the summer months ahead when I should be able to manage a couple of day trips to the Lake District - if things go to plan (unfortunately for me, I'm NOT joking!)

In addition to the kind of cities you wish to visit for cultural reasons, there are photos of endless white sandy beaches and gleaming blue seas.

Reading this book can help transport you to sunnier locales, but when you return to the reality of Great Britain in wintertime will probably lead to feelings of misery. Read it at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's allll good!!, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Yep, it's allll good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous coffee table book, great for the serious traveller, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
L. Thompson "mentorartemis" (UK, North West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An absolutely stunning book, the photography is breathtaking in places and the descriptions/information on each of the chosen locations was inspirational. I find my bucket list of places to go is increasing as I work my way through the book. Retirement may be a while away, but in the meantime I can dream, plan and look ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial) (Hardcover)
A beautifully presented book-great pictures and easy to read snippets to give you a good holistic view of the places suggested as 'Great Escapes'. It's divided into Chapters such as 'Adventure' 'Short City Stays' and 'Romantic Retreats' which I think is a genius idea. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Escapes: Experience the World at Your Leisure (Lonely Planet Travel Pictorial)
£20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews