Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just the usual suspects
This type of book listing natural and man made wonders is quite common in book shops, what makes this book different, for me, is the easy going writing style and the informative but easy to understand explanations.

The book is split into 20 natural and 30 man made wonders. Each wonder gets an evocative introduction, as if a friend is telling you of their...
Published 13 months ago by Thrud Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An inbetween kind of book
This is kind of halfway inbetween a coffee table book and a travel book. It's a hardback book of a less than A4 size filled with some of our world's greatest wonders split into two sections: natural and man made. The man made are roughly in chronological order and go from caves painted by ice age people to the Burj Khalifa. Each wonder begins with a tantalising...
Published 12 months ago by Jo Bennie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just the usual suspects, 1 April 2014
By 
Thrud Fan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This type of book listing natural and man made wonders is quite common in book shops, what makes this book different, for me, is the easy going writing style and the informative but easy to understand explanations.

The book is split into 20 natural and 30 man made wonders. Each wonder gets an evocative introduction, as if a friend is telling you of their experience, then a sort section on getting there and what else to see in the area. This is followed by a number of pages (usually two to four) describing how the wonder formed or why and how it was built. All this is backed up with clear diagrams and high quality colour photos.

Another standout for me was that as well as the usual wonders the Terracotta Army, Pyramids, Mount Everest etc it also covers less well known wonders like Lake Baikal, Salar De Uyuni and Cappadocia.

Measuring 10" x 7.5" it is an easy book to hold compared to some coffee table fair.

Overall an enjoyable read from cover to cover or just as a dip in and out. If you are at all interested in the world around you give it a go.

It may even inspire you to take that once in a lifetime trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The World’s Greatest Wonders is another quality publication from Lonely Planet, if not quite as lavish as some of the larger coffee table tomes. The book contains some stunning photography which you would expect from this brand as well as a range of information across 2-double page spreads per place. A wide range of both natural and man-made wonders are covered, with a good spread across the globe.

As with their other similar books, the information provided within is succinct and thus is best seen as a great source of inspiration rather than a guide to any specific place. Each section follows a similar format, containing an introduction to the wonder, a section on getting there, another paragraph on while you are there and then further information that is more specific to that particular wonder. The only downside for me is that there are quite a lot of diagrams, which whilst useful, take away opportunities for more beautiful photos. From Mount Everest to the Dead Sea; The Eiffel Tower to the Terracotta Warriors, there is something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a Wonderful World, 30 April 2014
By 
L. A. Hardy (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Lonely Planet people certainly know how to produce handy travel guides, although this really isn’t one of them. More of a sumptuous mini coffee table book, The World’s Great Wonders is crammed with beautiful photographs and eye-catching graphics about (funnily enough) fifty of the world’s greatest wonders.

Both the author, Jheni Osman, and Dan Cruickshank (who provides the foreword) admit that the list is highly selective and it cannot be anything but, given the page count. But Osman has managed to cram in a broad selection of old favourites that will surprise no-one by their inclusion (the Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, the Taj Mahal and the Great Wall of China, for example) and a host of slightly more offbeat choices, such as the Maglev train and the Large Hadron Collider.

Split into two sections (Natural and Man-made Wonders), each entry starts with a quirky first-person introduction, followed by information on how to reach the destination and a few alternatives to view whilst in the neighbourhood; an explanation of the wonder then follows, complete with sidebars and graphics and a few alternatives from around the globe. In some cases, these are frustratingly short, teasing you with interesting information before jumping on to the next thing. The world-wide alternatives are not always given anymore page space than a photograph, leaving you wondering why those particular places had been chosen over any others.

But this really is a minor point – the book is interesting, and serves as a pretty introduction to a host of intriguing places. You would need to carry out further research before visiting any of the locations mentioned, but the book never pretends that its job is to do anything more than whet you appetite as to what is out there for the enthusiastic traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRULY, an amazing Planet and a Wonderful book., 22 April 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Stamp "Granma" (Bury St Edmunds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you can imagine a very, very large postcard that you might send back from your travels, this lovely book follows the format of a postcard:-- beautiful photographs, a brief but atmospheric description of the place and where it is, and some interesting facts about each Great Wonder and it also tells you what else of interest or beauty you could visit in the vicinity.
In some cases, you even get to hear about the weather-- and I feel that the essence of such a book is to make you wish you were there even if the writers don't actually say "Wish you were here!"
The Great Wonders covered by the compiler comprise 20 natural and 30 man made (or maybe alien-made in the case of the Nazca Lines!)--and Oh! for the chance to see just a few of them!! This is exactly the sort of book that makes you want to get on a plane tomorrow.
Many of the sights are very well-known such as The Great Barrier Reef and The Colosseum, but the information about each is so detailed and atmospheric it feels as if you are hearing about these places for the first time or that you are with a very knowledgeable tour guide. You are brought right up to date with efforts to preserve these Wonders against environmental or natural entropy.
Some are less well-known such as the rock Church of St George in Ethiopia and the Three Gorges Dam in China . Modern constructions such as the Burj Khalifa and the Large Hadron Collider are fascinating contrasts to the Alhambra or The Great Mosque of Djenne.
It is a small book (A2 I think) but a high quality publication which is a joy to flick through and fascinating to study. Obviously there is not the space in this format to satisfy someone studying such things in depth, but this is an appetiser for anyone planning an adventurous holiday and is suitable for early teens and up.
I acquired this for my grandson but he will have to wait for it as I can't put it down! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go Large !, 12 April 2014
By 
Duncurin (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A wonderful book, nicely bound with a lovely tactile feel, cloth spine; nice heavy cover with slightly raised embossed text front and back enhancing its quality image, and a reassuring weighty feel in one’s hands that no tablet can reproduce.

Once inside it has quality paper with that almost ‘oily’ quality that comes from heavyweight paper, printing and glazing. To be fair, the format size is probably just about perfect and it was redolent of those quality travel journals that one used to see before the tablet era.

The pictures are amazing and worth the cover price alone, inspiring, even for the armchair traveller a sense of wonder and excitement. Contents are always something of a subjective issue but, though I would have had suggestions of my own, the ones that had been chosen were entirely appropriate for a book of this type and depicted nicely with quality drawings, images and description. The little vignettes of what the traveller would perhaps feel or witness as they approached was also responsible for adding that sense of excitement that any traveller, who isn’t interested in just sitting on a beach, would seek. I have been lucky to see only a handful of the delights as expounded in the book, but I do remember the excitement and fear as I clambered along the narrow passages in the great pyramid of Giza – something captured quite nicely in the text by someone who has obviously made the climb.

The more recent man-made achievements are no less impressive, though, when talking of linear motors on the Maglev, it would have been nice to see a mention for Professor Laithwaite.

Finally, notwithstanding all my comments as above, my instinct with the book would have been to ‘go large’ at least to A4 or possible placed the format in a slightly larger ‘landscape’ so as to bring out the wonderful pictures and ensure that none were split across pages. I think this would have assured every reader that no tablet can match the lovely feel and experience of reading a book; just like this. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An inbetween kind of book, 23 April 2014
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is kind of halfway inbetween a coffee table book and a travel book. It's a hardback book of a less than A4 size filled with some of our world's greatest wonders split into two sections: natural and man made. The man made are roughly in chronological order and go from caves painted by ice age people to the Burj Khalifa. Each wonder begins with a tantalising introduction what it is like to encounter the wonder, a full page photograph, and 'how to get there' and what to do 'while you're there' sections. Then follows a section on the construction and history of the wonder with 'did you know' boxes and great little diagrams. It's informative and good to look at.

So why only three stars, well, because this book is neither one thing nor another. The 'what to do while you're there' sections suggest a travel book, but this is really too heavy to be carried unless you are travelling by car. The construction sections are good but so brief, too brief for me, it is not really big or detailed enough to be the kind of book you could devour at your leisure at home either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The World's Great Wonders Lonely Planet, 27 April 2014
By 
R. Gardner "Corriebob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a Lonely Planet book which in my experience always means a quality product. With good photos and although there is not a huge amount of information about each subject, I found it stimulates the mind to look up more. In fact to my surprise I found I'd been to quite a few of the out of the way places and even then learned something extra.
The book is split into two sections, Natural wonders and Man made wonders. some of the natural ones are the obvious ones such as Grand canyon, Dead Sea, Yellowstone, there are numerous others as well. the man made Wonders include Church of St George in Ethiopia, Machu Picchu in Peru, Great Wall of China and lots of others.
The main format is a good photo as a face page and the facts follow with more photos there after. Lots of little facts included..
I enjoyed this as a book to dip into when having a coffee break, Also good book as a present for someone whose tastes you are not sure of, or just as a nice thing to have or give.. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lonely planet to the worlds great wonders, 3 April 2014
By 
J. Aitken (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a book ideal for the young intrepid traveller. Not detailed as regards to each individual wonder, but well illustrated with useful diagrams, pictures, and being lonely planet, the inevitable tips as to how to get there. There is also a good section on other things to see in the vicinity and helpful travel tips about time of year etc, etc.

Anyone wanting in depth information about these individual places should look elsewhere for further info, but this is an excellent quick view guide which the gap year student or indeed any adventurous traveller with enough money to travel, would find indispensable. Some of the places are near at hand so the Giant's Causeway, Stonehenge and the Eiffel Tower are fairly easily attainable, more distant goals include the Potala Palace in Lhasa, Easter island and Kilauea.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly peculiar writing style but a good read, 7 April 2014
By 
Sue Bentley (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is about 50 of the worlds Great Wonders, both natural and man made. Each one gets at least two pages of information, with loads of really good photographs and illustrations. Some of the more outstanding ones get a couple of extra pages of background. With so many crammed into one book this is not a detailed or in depth read. Instead it is a quick hop around some of the best places on the planet. Each description talks as though the reader where there "A cup of Chai in hand ,from the rooftop cafe you take in a view of the Taj Mahal that is second to none". Its an odd style, which I am not keen on. However the book itself is full of colour and interest, and makes me want to go and visit all these interesting places. This is not a travel guide or a history book, it is a fast, light and attractive journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, inspiring and detailed enough, 7 May 2014
By 
Evan (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being a photographer and traveller, I love travel photography books. These Lonely Planet coffee table books are always appreciated when I get a chance to flip through their pages.

The book consists of many wonders from around the world as detailed in the description and some that other reviewers have covered. What I like about this book is that it doesn't go overly into the detail of each, as that's not the point of the book, it instead focus on the experiences and sights one is sure to encounter. It's basically and inspirational book.

Seeing as Lonely Planet have saturated the travel companion guide market, and given that so much is available on the net these days, for free, it's ventures like these coffee table books that will do Lonely Planet well into the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World's Great Wonders: How They Were Made & Why They Are Amazing
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews