Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's certainly an education!
My 9 year old, who has enjoyed other books in this series Not for Parents Travel Book: Children's Publication(Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book): General Reference and Extreme Planet Not for Parents, loved this book which is full of interesting tips and facts for future explorers.

There are no photos in this hardback A4-sized book but it's engagingly...
Published 23 months ago by Angela

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea but too much text and questions over the appropriateness
I love the idea of this book - ideas for kids about exploring. I expected it to reinforce positive messages about the environment and conservation. Instead, the book feels a little too focused on hunting for my liking, and seems to reinforce a few stereotypes about indigenous cultures - which is a surprise from the Lonely Planet.

Also, for a kids/teenagers book...
Published 22 months ago by Max


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Educational fun for the budding Indiana Jones or Lara Croft in your life..., 3 Mar 2013
By 
Stuart Moses (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a 160-page hardback book, that my ten-year-old daughter and eight-year-old son adore. Much like Extreme Planet Not for Parents they will sit and read it spontaneously, without any encouragement from me. There are no photographs in this book, but I didn't mourn their absence. The comics-style graphics are engaging and the text is served in bite-sized chunks.

The text mixes practical advice for the brave traveller with stories of other adventurers. It is not for the faint-hearted, one section describes the process of 'globe luxation', which is the medical term for when your eyeball pops out of your head. At least this book tells you how to put it back.

The cover promises that How To Be A World Explorer is 'your all-terrain training manual'. It is suitable if you're interested in Jungle and Savannah, Desert, Polar, Forest and Mountain, Oceans and Rivers, Air, Navigation before finishing with Explorer Bootcamp. This book gives a broad overview of each subject. If you want great depth on each topic you'll need to look elsewhere.

Judging by the reaction of my children, I'd recommend this book to any budding Indiana Jones or Lara Crofts out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What About Livingstone?, 7 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Knowing what to do when being attacked by a Lion is an essential life skill, up there with learning how to tie your shoelaces and which colour snow is good to eat. This is the theory of another in Lonely Planet's new `Not for Parents' series of books for kids, `How to be a World Explorer'. Like with other books in this series the warning to parents is nothing to worry about as it is more tongue in cheek than anything. There is nothing overly rude or crude in this book, just a chance that you child may take jumping off furniture or digging up the garden when pretending to be an explorer.

As an encyclopaedic style guide to exploring different habitats `World Explorer' is excellent. It is full of fun and informative facts that will both inspire and perhaps teach the reader. It is suitable for a youngster who has some confidence in reading on their own, so they can take it into their room and pour over its contents to their hearts content.

I was very impressed with the written content in `World Explorer', but this cannot be said of the illustrations. They have a naïve look to them that is a little too simple at times. There is a picture of a big cat at one point that looks like it may have been the victim of an industrial accident. Credit should be given to the work rate of the illustrator as they fill the entire chunky book - perhaps there was a little too much for them? Thankfully, the quality of paper, the hardback cover and the great written content still make this a good book for an adventurous child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun facts, 23 Jan 2013
By 
S. Hammond "Steve" (Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
My 8 year old son really loves this book. It's nicely bound, pretty thick hardback, bigger than a4 sized I'd say.
The title gives it away, and there's various different titled sections dealing with different world terrain, e.g. Desert, jungle, etc...and then there's fun and interesting facts about these different themes....I.e. the story about a female falling out of a plane for around 2 miles, into the jungle where the trees broke her fall....yet she sustained nothing more than a black eye or two....lucky....then she kept herself alive by eating sweets.....my son loves some of these mad facts.

It's fun for adults too...brightly illustrated, interesting, and you're bound to learn something.

Very highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for young would be explorers, 27 Dec 2012
By 
JoMaynard (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
My 9 year old who thinks reading is "boring" has read at least half this book in the last couple of days.

It divides the world into various regions, and tells you about the hazards, past explorers and ways to survive in each region. So my daughter as well as learning about the effects of Altitude sickness, how Amundsen finally died and how to remove your own appendix (and which Doctor had to do this and why in the 1960s);she has also learnt how to use an ice-axe to stop herself sliding down an icy slope.

It is just the right mix of gruesome, practical and plain interesting facts for the 8 to 11 year olds. It would also be a great resource for the school classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEED RAY MEARS OR BEAR GRYLLIS TO SEE YOU THROUGH? NOT WITH THIS BOOK!, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Helpless "Helpless" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lonely planet guides for children?

This is a true World Explorer with a nice big `Not for parents' stamp on the cover.

It is a quality 150 page embossed hardback cover book full of hand drawn pictures of how to survive being stranded in the wild. It's Ray Mears for children but in no way is it dumbed down.

It has history lessons on the great explorers, how others live in extreme conditions, and how to live and survive disasters out in the wilds. Are you worried about climbing Everest? Shooting rapids? Crossing a glacier? Fighting a bear, Escaping from Quicksand?

Well if you need to survive it is all here.

The cartoonish illustrations take away any scary gore and make it child friendly and fun. It will appeal to nearly all ages, even parents and if you find yourself in a bathtub of piranha you'll be able to survive. I do draw the line at an emergency appendectomy though!

A Lonely Planet Guide for children and it is excellent. It really is a quality publication and that's refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My 5 year old Bear Gyllis loving son has loved this book even though he is too young to ..., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 5 year old Bear Gyllis loving son has loved this book even though he is too young to read it he has enjoyed the pics and we have been reading the other bits too him, a really lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, but room for improvement., 3 Feb 2013
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The spirit of this book is great. Getting children interested in the wider world using juicy titbits is never a bad thing.

I would have liked to see a little more use of maps, to give a sense of place to the territories being described. They are of course also an essential tool for exploration.

Some of the illustrations are genuinely amusing, but most are merely adequate. To be fair though, everything in the book is illustrated, which represents a lot of work for the artist. There are no photographic plates.

The content is pitched correctly for 9 - 11 year, but the tone of the writing could be seen as slightly patronising. I would have prefered it to be less dictatorial in places.

Ideal for a primary school library, or as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Clarke (Linlithgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My two daughters, aged 7 and 10, loved this book the moment I opened it up. It's colorful and full of the sorts of adventurous kids love. Lonely Planet have done a nice job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great hardback book, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Rob S "Rob S" (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I know I wasn't really supposed to have a look as its not for parents, but couldn't resist, What a great hardback book, full of interesting things, I now know how to fight a crocodile, get myself out of quick sand, what to do if I'm infested with horrible bugs and eggs (ugh!)

My boy of 9 thinks its great, not that I expect him to be going off exploring just yet hopefully he is storing all these facts for when he is exploring the Amazon or north Pole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 22 Nov 2012
By 
J. McNicol - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Full of information and suggestions this gives an insight into different worlds and how to survive. Odd facts and figures all interesting and a lot of it unusual, a good value product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet)
Not For Parents How to be a World Explorer (Lonely Planet) by Lonely Planet (Hardcover - 12 Oct 2012)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews