Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Angel on Earth, 15 Jun 2007
By 
Dr. D. Fraser (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If ever God put an angel on Earth he did it with Sister Luba. How many people are alive today because of her bravery and courage can only be guessed at.

Somehow she managed to protect the children from not only the worst of the material privations, but through her selfless dedication managed to protect them from the worst of the mental tortures also. As far as one could imagine it possible in the circumstances she managed to give these children a "normal" childhood.

Not only is the story itself remarkable and heart-warming, but also the book is written in real un-putdownable style. Once you start you'll want to read the whole thing in a night.

Every piece of holocaust survivor literature adds something to our memory and understanding of the "final solution". This one shows us how true love and kindness could fluorish in the worst of places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 18 Feb 2005
By 
Lynne Hughes (Caernarfon, Gwynedd Wales) - See all my reviews
This is the extremelly moving story of Hetty Verlome amd her experiences living in barrack 211, or the Children's House as it became known, at Belsen.
It is a fascinating recollection of the tradgic events that unfolded during the war. Hetty re-lives the horror of the concentration camp and details not only how it effected her and her family's lives, but also the lives of thousands of others.
Hetty was sent to Belsen with her two younger brothers and her parents after a brief stay at Westbork [a repatrition camp Jews went to before being sent out to one of the concentration camps].The children and their parents were seperated soon after and Hetty had to take care of her brothers. The three were put in another barrack with 40 other children. Hetty was the oldest so she had the sole responsibilty of trying to keep them all alive.It was an impossible task.
Luckilly Sister Luba,or the Angel of Belsen, found the children and moved them to the now infamous Children's House. There she did her best to feed and keep each child healthy. The children came to look at her as a second mother, and she in return grew to love them. They remaind in her care until they were reuinted with family after the liberation of the camp.
The book brings home the horrors of the Nazis Final Solution and through the innocent eyes of a child we are given a vivid image of how utterly disgusting people were treated. There are many stomach churning parts in the book, for example when Hetty finds hundreds of lice in her underarm hair or when she sees a man eating a corpses ear.
Even though there are many events that will leave you upset it is a book that has to be read. It gives a true, first hand account of the holacaut and brings home the message that we need to make sure this never happens again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing tale of survival, 21 Aug 2006
By 
S. wheeler (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A compelling read, i had trouble putting this book down. The courage of this girl at such a tender age and her rude awakening to the brutality and horror of the Nazi concentration camp moved me greatly. A true tale of human endurance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!, 14 April 2007
By 
Helen Simpson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Children of Belsen (Paperback)
A well written, to the point, account of life in the Westerbork repatriation camp and the horrors of Belson concentration camp from a child's perspective.

Any story that deals with war, children and suffering is bound to be moving but throughout you find yourself filled with admiration for such remarkable young children and the bravery of their parents and those, like Sister Luba 'The Angel of Belson' who did their utmost to ensure the childrens' survival.

My 16 year old daughter recommended this to me and I recommend it strongly to anyone who wants to know more about life in the camps and how the people who were there got through it...or sadly in some cases, didn't.

Far from being depressing (although I'm not claiming to have remained dry eyed throughout) Hetty's account fills you with admiration for the inner strength of the children and pride for those who fought and liberated the camps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the children of belsen, 21 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. R. A. Perring (west midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An exceptional account of the horrors of life and the struggle to survive in the Belsen concentration camp as seen through the eyes of a child. Compelling to read, it is emotionally devastating, highlighting the atrocities that took place at the hands of the Nazi's, made all the more powerful by the straightforward simplicity of the prose and the first hand account of the author.
It is also uplifting and hopeful in it's depiction of the love, care and selfless bravery of both Hetty and those who looked after her and the other children of Belsen. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusually positive but still poignant, 8 Aug 2008
By 
I've read a lot of Holocaust books that describe the terror and atrocities of the concentration camps, but I found this book very unusual in that despite Hetty being at the same place at the same time as the other victims I've read about, one turn of fate after another leads to her narrowly escaping all the worst horrors of WWII and surviving relatively unscathed right on the edge of it all.
Hetty's wonderful strong caring character shines through in this book, making this a less bleak read than most other Holocaust autobiographies, but still as poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving and True Story, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. S. J. Galway "Jaynes46" (Scarborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A book that you will read and remember for ever. Once you start to read this amazing story, you will not put this book down. See what Belson was like through the eyes of a young and very brave girl, Hetty Verolme. This amazing intoxicating story will touch your heart like no other book on this subject. Buy it, Read it and digest it, you will never read another book like it, very moving, right to the very last page, an absolute Gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Children of Belsen, 20 April 2011
By 
N. Oakes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent book giving a good insight into the harsh living conditions of those unfortunate enough to end up in Belsen. The Children's House of Belsen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required reading of history, 30 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. E. W. Palmer (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We never learn from history. The maltreatment of children is going on in this world right now by extremest religeous groups, in much the same way as the Nazis. It is based on the interpretation - or should I say misinterpretation - of writings done centuries ago, when the majority of people could neither read not write. It is about time that more educationwas provided on the scientific evidence that explains what is actually going on on this planet and the rest of the universe. We are a miniscule part of this and what has occurred to is almost, if not certainly due to some cheical or physical reactions and nothing to do with "God". That is a figment of the writers' imagination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different perspective, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many books about concentration camps during World War II and I have to say this creates a genre of its own. It's the story of a group of children and their heart breaking, moving and successful (in most cases) battle for survival. A must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Children's House of Belsen
The Children's House of Belsen by Hetty E. Verolme (MP3 CD - 17 Dec 2012)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews