Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book..
I love this woman.. I am a follower of Donna Hay and her cook books. She is an australian and has amazing ways with food, how it looks and taste.. Australians have a different approach to food than we do in the UK.. They love fresh, colourful and tasty food and they make time to eat and enjoy it. In this book there are so many great, easy and light recipes that I can...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT UP TO THE USUAL STANDARD
I HAVE MANY OF THESE BOOKS AND AS YET HAVE NOT COOKED ONE RECIPE FROM THIS ONE. I NEED INSPIRATION TO TRY SOMETHING DIFFERENT.
Published 9 months ago by C CASTELO


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book.., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
I love this woman.. I am a follower of Donna Hay and her cook books. She is an australian and has amazing ways with food, how it looks and taste.. Australians have a different approach to food than we do in the UK.. They love fresh, colourful and tasty food and they make time to eat and enjoy it. In this book there are so many great, easy and light recipes that I can create very quickly. I have to mention one thing here there are a lot of quinoa recipes in this book. For me this is an added bonus as I wanted to learn more about quinoa and quinoa recipes. Quinoa looks and taste like couscous or bulgur wheat. But the great thing about it that it is gluten free, tasty and doesn't bloat the body like the wheat products do.. I am very pleased with this book and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, tasty recipes, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
First impressions of this book were great - there are large, attractive photographs of all the dishes which make you want to jump in and cook them straight away. Its well laid out in sections (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks etc).

The recipes are well written and easy to follow, broken down into simple steps. A really positive factor I found was that the vast majority of them don't require a long list of ingredients. Instead they are based around a few store cupboard staples (or at least, they will be staples if you get into the swing of the book!) and topped up with some simple fresh ingredients you could pick up at most supermarkets. They don't require hours in the kitchen either, or generate a mountain of washing up.

However the best thing about the book for me was that all those things you think you should be eating more of (brown rice, quinoa, barley etc) but struggle to make tasty or appetising crop up in lots of different recipes. This allows you to replace pasta, potatoes etc with something a bit healthier without feeling like you are sacrificing on taste. The book even got some quinoa and chickpea burgers into a 3 year old whose normal idea of adventurous eating is trying to wriggle out of his chair and round around whilst eating yet another bowl of chilli con carne, so it must be a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for a health conscious cook!!!, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
I have got lots of Donna's books and I love them. I also buy her magazine. I think she is absolutely the best chef/cookery writer. Her recipes are very interesting, always using very fresh ingredients and the presentation is fabulous. The recipes are not difficult and quick, yet the food looks amazing. The photography in the books is stunning. I have bought 4 copies of Fresh and Light book and gave this book as presents to my two daughters (30& 23) and one of my friends. Everybody loves this book. We all eat very healthily with lots of vegetables, grains and little meat/fish. There are some amazing recipes using kale, quinoa, pearl barley, puy lentils, delicious light summer soups and lots more. The presentation is amazing and the dishes can easily be served at the sophisticated dinner party.
You will easily be a 'star of the day' if you serve some of the dishes at the dinner party. Buy, you won't regret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillent, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
I saw the review of this book in the sunday newspaper. It is a healthy eating book with that little extra. I love the receipes, completely addicted to the french toast receipe and now have it every moring (without the honey) as on a diet. The cheesecake is to die for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
RT (Luton, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
Love Donna's recipes. Love this book too. Wish it also gave you a digital copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing change, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
Love Donna Hays approach to cooking. This book is full of really useful recipes and anything I have made so far has been lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
good book nice food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and Light, 8 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
I love all her books , easy sassy and simple.just like her TV shows. Looking forward all the time . i hope she keeps this up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recommended cookery book, 5 May 2014
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
Full of interesting and easy to make recipes. Well laid out and illustrated and a good addition to my recipe books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good healthy meals, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh and Light (Paperback)
The meals are good healthy foods and easy to prepare with great nutritional value. Colourful as well as tasty. New health regime started!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fresh and Light
Fresh and Light by Donna Hay (Paperback - 10 Mar. 2014)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews