Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook EVER!
This is seriously an absolute gem of a cookbook...all the recipes are easy peasy to follow, and the food looks and tastes like you spent hours slaving in the kitchen when in fact no recipe takes long to make at all.

MAJOR plus point is the section by each recipe that tells you how to convert it to be Dairy/Gluten/Nut free, and Lucy also tells you if it can be...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Katy

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful tips - some great recipes
Enjoyed reading "Lucy's Food" and gained some very useful tips for stress-free cooking and preparation, especially for larger groups. Some great recipes, but a little disappointed with the choice of main courses.
Published on 13 April 2012 by JoJo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook EVER!, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
This is seriously an absolute gem of a cookbook...all the recipes are easy peasy to follow, and the food looks and tastes like you spent hours slaving in the kitchen when in fact no recipe takes long to make at all.

MAJOR plus point is the section by each recipe that tells you how to convert it to be Dairy/Gluten/Nut free, and Lucy also tells you if it can be made ahead of time (by a few hours or a couple of days) and then reheated which I find really helpful.

EVERY recipe I've tried so far has had great feedback from family and friends...absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kitchen must-have, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
What a refreshing change from all the celebrity cookbooks out there! I was looking for a good, solid, broad-ranging recipe book and this fits the bill perfectly. The author has a lovely chatty style and, with 20+ years of catering, knows her stuff. What is really fantastic is that you can cook many of the recipes ahead and reheat them when you need to. The recipes are very easy to follow (no fancy techniques or ingredients), there is lots of information on how long things will keep for and what to do with any leftovers as well. In my busy household with a hungry family, this book is set to become a firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a place on the shelf, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. S. (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
I would recommend this book for stress free recipes, with some provios.
Lucy doesn't quite hold your hand like Delia, and although the book is promoted as being fairly easy, I think a very novice cook could end up with problems as some recipes need a fair amount of cooking experience. I have found timings are on the optomistic side - maybe the recipes are tried out in a catering kitchen, whereas my domestic cooker doesn't have quite the same power. Thirdly, on several of the recipes which are "cook ahead" (very useful!), there are not always good instructions about when and how to re-heat ready to serve. It would also be useful if there was a symbol to advise whether the dish can be frozen.

However, I have used several recipes from this book and have been pretty pleased with the results. Good for family cooking and even more useful for parties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recipe book, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
Excellent well thought out easy to read recipe book with alternatives for every recipe to cater for various likes or tastes. Have tried many of the recipes already and have recommended to friends. Great Christmas pressie! Write another Lucy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!, 15 May 2011
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
Simply brilliant. Bought this copy as a present having bought our own copy a few weeks ago. Have never used a recipe book so much as this one. Maximum impact with minimum effort really does sum up the recipes. An easy book to follow for all ages. Can't recommend it enough. Thanks Lucy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to try next?, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
Bought this on recommendation of a friend who has found this book invaluable in helping her run a chalet in the Alps, providing great food, for discerning clients, within a budget of time and money. I'm glad I followed her advice.
I've had great fun browsing and experimenting with the wide range of dishes which are nicely illustrated. The book offers many shortcuts without compromising quality and encourages healthy eating principles, although there are plenty of fairly indulgent dishes too. Hints on how to save costs and adaptation for special diets are given as well as ideas to enhance the presentation of dishes to "wow" your friends and family.
Everything I've tried so far has been a success - the advice / method is practical and the flavours interesting / delicious. The recipes work!
You will develop a well stocked store cupboard as a broad variety of ingredients (eg: herbs, spices, sauces, nuts, pulses, dried fruit, seeds etc) are used, although if you are already a regular cook, you will probably have a stock of most of the items needed.
If looking for inspiration and practical ideas to create interesting and tasty meals / snacks, this will be a useful and very enjoyable purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite cook book, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
I have far too many cook books, most of which are glossy and pretty to look at, but have a small percentage of recipes that I actually want to cook. Lucy's food is the opposite. There are so many lovely recipes which are easy to follow, and quick and easy to make. It was introduced to me whilst staying at a skiing lodge where the chalet lads used the recipes from Lucy's book and we loved all the food. With a young family, I really dont have the time to fuss about with intricate cooking methods, but this book shows you how to make the most of the food you have, with time & money saving tips along the way. Ive bought this book for several of my friends/family, all of whom have loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
I think I'm in LOVE - what a fantastic book - brilliant background stuff - often reinforcing previous ideas and folklore - superb recipes AND THEY ALL WORK - just try her Tartiflette - better than anything served up in France!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't someone think of doing this type of book before?, 30 Oct 2010
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
What a fab find! Our house has hundreds of unused cook books (apart perhaps from the original 'Delia' & Mary Berry's Aga Bible) but this new book usurps them all and has been in constant use since we bought it.
The author has a terrific no nonsense style and somehow has managed to produce a book jam packed with user friendly recipes and ideas for every occasion which actually work. It's been extremely useful for everyday family meal ideas through to what she describes as minimum fuss entertaining. I've even managed to get my teenage sons to cook something from it - in itself a miracle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous food made easy for everyone, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucy's Food (Hardcover)
I probably own more cookery books than I've cooked hot dinners, but none of them impresses me as much as this one. I've had it for three days and cooked three meals from it - each one has been superb - and I'm no cook! I think what I love about it is the recipes have a limited number of ingredients; on each one there is a realistic estimate of how long it will take to prepare and cook; there are suggestions for a full menu to incorporate the dish you are working on; and guidance on suitability (e.g. vegetarian, gluten-free etc.) Instructions are easy to follow and the recipes seem to me to be really fresh and original. I have yet to attempt any of the mouth-watering baking ideas, but buoyed up by my success so far, it is only a matter of time before I fall prey to temptation in that department!
I've used Delia's Complete Cookery Course for years, and love Nigella's Christmas book and Nigel's Real Food, but this one beats the lot! If you only buy one cookery book, buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucy's Food: Minimum Effort, Maximum Impact!
Lucy's Food: Minimum Effort, Maximum Impact! by Lucy Cufflin (Paperback - 1 Oct 2013)
Used & New from: 12.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews