Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another sumptuous book from Donna Hay
I'm sad to say that up until a few years ago I had not heard of Donna Hay. Then, one day I was watching the Good Food Channel and 'Fast, Fresh and Simple' was on. I was instantly hooked and soon after the show finished I purchased the book that accompanied the TV series. Since then I have gone on to purchase her previous book 'Seasons' and I have no added 'Simple...
Published 24 months ago by Mrs. E. Preval

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Dissapointing compared to all the other Donna Hay books which I have.
Published 1 month ago by Mrs.M.kYLE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another sumptuous book from Donna Hay, 25 Sep 2012
By 
Mrs. E. Preval "mpreval" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
I'm sad to say that up until a few years ago I had not heard of Donna Hay. Then, one day I was watching the Good Food Channel and 'Fast, Fresh and Simple' was on. I was instantly hooked and soon after the show finished I purchased the book that accompanied the TV series. Since then I have gone on to purchase her previous book 'Seasons' and I have no added 'Simple Dinners' to my collection.

This book is the same size as 'Fast, Fresh & Simple' In being the same size it means that you get lovely coloured pictures of each recipe as well as room to make notes should you require to do so.

I would say that this book does require you to have some basic knowledge of cooking but I wouldn't say that any of the recipes are that complicated. Thankfully, none of the recipes feature obscure ingredients that only people living in London have access to.

Since receiving the book I have made 3 of the dishes in this book and all of them turned out as I had hoped. They looked inviting and tasted delicious.

The book Divided into the following chapters:

Eggs
Bread
Pasta
Noodles & Rice
Couscous, beans & lentils
Chicken
Beef
Lamb
Pork
Fish & seafood
Vegetables
Fruit
Chocolate

Below I have taken the time to list all of the recipes features in this book. I do hope this helps you when deciding whether or not to purchase this book.

Caramelised onion and potato frittata
Soft egg and crispy pancetta pasta
Thai shredded egg salad
Souffle omelette
Moroccan eggs
Ricotta egg fritters
Baked pancetta brioche with thyme mushrooms
Smashed pea, goat's cheese and egg bruschetta
Smoked ham and potato hash with poached eggs
Bacon egg rolls
Spicy chickpea and chorizo fried eggs
Simple chicken schnitzel sandwich
Roasted pumpkin, blue cheese and pear bruschetta
Harissa pumpkin and gaot's cheese pizza
Bread and butter bacon pudding
Sourdough chicken pies
Prosciutto, sage and ricotta french toast
Crunchy top beef pies
Chicken and fennel salad with parmesan wafers
Lemon, caper and tuna grilled sandwiches
Roasted tomato, garlic and bread salad
Baked spicy beef quesadillas
Cheat's ricotta gnocchi with sage butter
Pasta with chorizo, tomato and basil
Prawn spaghetti with lemon vodka sauce
Cheat's ravioli lasagne
Chicken and porcini pappardelle
Asparagus, pea and pecorino spaghetti
Summer caprese lasagne
Pepper and garlic fettucine with ricotta
Beetroot and goat's cheese orecchiette
BLT pasta
Spaghetti with chunky rocket pesto
Ginger fried rice with egg
Chilli chicken noodles with spicy broth
Pea and mint risotto with crispy pancetta
Crispy rice and crab omelette
Thai rice with chilli salmon
Rice noodles with chilli cashews
Lemongrass chicken with noodle pancakes
Chilli salt and pepper tofu with soy noodles
Pork meatballs with chinese noodles
Simple paella
Baked chicken and porcini risotto
Butter bean, green olive and white anchovy salad
Spicy one-pot couscous
Chickpea, feat and carrot fritters
Preserved lemon, lentil and fried tomato salad
Smashed chickpea salad with chorizo
Prawn and white bean salad
Porcini, bacon and maple beans
Crispy chicken with almond couscous
Lentil and sausage cassoulet
Spicy lamb meatball and lentil soup
Chicken, chilli and couscous soup
Spiced youghurt grilled chicken skewers
Roasted chicken with pancetta and lentils
Spice-baked chicken with tsatziki salad
Chicken pan pie
Fast garlic chicken
Chicken sppon dumpling soup
Almond roasted chicken
Grilled chicken salad with green chilli ranch dressing
Asian chicken slaw
Thai poached chicken
Stir-fried salt and pepper chicken with coriander noodles
Parmesan minute steaks with garlic spinach
Sage salt steak with pancetta-baked polenta
Tomato, olive and mozzarella meatballs
Shaved beef and celery salad with bloody mary dressing
Mustard steaks with horseradish rosti
Thyme-crumbed veal cutlets
Prosciutto-wrapped steaks with mushroom and leek tarts
Spiced beef patties with crushed pea salad
Italian veal and herb salad with crispy capers
Balsamic steaks with tomato and mint salad
Garlic pepper beef stir fry
Fast flat-roasted lamb
Grilled lamb with rocket and olive salad
Lamb racks with warm parsnip salad
Lemon rice salad with minted lamb
Lamb with couscous and spiced almonds
Lamb cutlets with sticky balsamic figs
Pine nut and honey crumbed lamb cutlets
Maple mustard lamb skewers
Lamb, eggplant and feta bake
Lamb and feta burgers
Spiced lamb pies
Pork and sweet potato curry
Asian pork spare ribs
Caramelised chilli pork neck
Pork pasties
Maple-glazed pork and pancetta meatloaf
Chilli jam pork withr ice noodle rolls
Crispy pork wontons
Vietnamese pork skewers
Gourmet pork burgers
Roasted apple and quince pork cutlets
Chinese pork in paper
Sesame-crusted salmon with preserved lemon and zucchini salad
Lime and lemongrass prawns
Crispy fish sliders
Miso-grilled fish
Salmon and dill pie
Smoked trout and fennel nicoise salad
Mussels in chilli coconut broth
Crispy fish with sweet chilli vinegar glaze
Thai-style baked fish
Grilled lemon snapper with potato and horseradish salad
Tune and edamama salad with chilli ponzu dressing
Swiss chard salad with goat's cheese croutons
Roasted asparagus, ricotta and prosciutto toasts
Free-form ratatouille tart
Gorgonzola polenta with garlic roasted mushrooms
Three pea salad with feta pastries
Big vegetable curry puffs
Mint, zucchini and halloumi fritters
Red curry roasted vegetables
Roasted vegetable salad with buttermilk dressing
Crispy pancetta, spinach and ricotta bake
Spiced sweet potato soup
Fig and brown sugar clafoutis
Roasted strawberries and rhubarb with whipped mascarpone
Oven puff cake with blueberries
Strawberry, lychee and mint granita
Peach and raspberry coconut crumble
Pistachio cakes with raspberries and rosewater cream
Caramelised apricots with brown sugar creme fraiche
Passionfruit yoghurt fool
Cherries in wine syrup
Lemon curd and raspberry brioche pudding
Banoffee pie
Cheat's chocolate and salted caramel tarts
Chocolote semifreddo
Dark chocolate sorbet
Molten chocolate puddings
Chocolate meringue mess
Cookies and cream ice-cream sandwiches
Espresso granita with bitter chocolate cream
Baked chocolate and raspberry custards
Easy chocolate mousse
Milk chocolate panna cotta
Individual chocolate bombe alaskas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Dinners, made Simple.., 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
So glad I bought this cookery book,everything I hoped it would be, is exactly that...
recommend it , good buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another great Donna book, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
If you've not yet discovered DH I can throughly recommend this book. Great, simple, tasty recipes and fantastic food styling to inspire you into trying dishes that look visually stunning, and taste fantastic too.

A big bonus for me has to be the amount of everyday ingredients used. Unlike some cookbooks where you have to invest in a plethora of paraphernalia and ingredients before you can even try a dish.

If you've got the earlier books and/or subscribe to the magazine you'll be familiar with the style and content, but thankfully there is some new stuff in here as well. I've already drawn up a short list of recipes to cook over the next few weeks, all 30 minutes to 1 hours prep and cooking combined. Thanks again Donna - Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
Great book quick, easy and straightforward recipes would recommend for anyone who wants healthy food on the go. Give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what says - Simple recipes easy to follow, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
Well presented, clear instructions and lovely images. I also like how the recipes are sectioned. Recommend Pannacotta served with coffee icecream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great range of simple recipes!, 8 Jan 2013
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
First came across this book at our friends in Australia, really refreshing to find a cook book where everything is 'makable' using simple ingredients! Favourites have to be the sticky caramelised pork (uses chinese wine and orange zest), and the chicken and lemon cous cous soup...i haven't made one bad thing yet and I've made about 10 things out of this! Great book for the moderately skilled cook! xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 24 July 2014
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
Dissapointing compared to all the other Donna Hay books which I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
love the healthy recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful dinners that taste as good as they look, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Leggie "Leggie" (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Hay Simple Dinners: 140+ New Recipes, Clever Ideas and Speedy Solutions for Every Day (Paperback)
My sister brought around her copy of the Donna Hay simple dinners so that I could copy out a recipe. I loved it on sight and ordered one immediately from Amazon. Our other sister who lives in Turkey came to visit me and left with my copy as she too loved the simplicity and layout of this brilliantly designed book - I had to buy another! It is my favourite cook-book right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews