Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love at first sight
First, do not open this book if you are in a hurry. Save it for a time when you have a few minutes to spare, a chance to sit down in a nice chair, a glass of something at your side, and just... start... to... dream...

This latest book from Donna Hay is not a thing for rushing, but it is a work for contemplation, a chance to consider food and hopefully a...
Published on 18 Feb. 2013 by I. Darren

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague!
Do not buy this product under any circumstances. The outer cover is not glued properly to the pages and thus peels off. I returned the item to get a replacement and the exact same problem happend again. A totally substandard and inadequate product. Avoid like the plague!
Published 29 days ago by MR CHRIS THOMAS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love at first sight, 18 Feb. 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
First, do not open this book if you are in a hurry. Save it for a time when you have a few minutes to spare, a chance to sit down in a nice chair, a glass of something at your side, and just... start... to... dream...

This latest book from Donna Hay is not a thing for rushing, but it is a work for contemplation, a chance to consider food and hopefully a precursor to a pleasant evening or two in nice company.

Looking at seasonal ingredients and how they can be combined together, this is really a recipe book hidden inside a sort-of inspirational lifestyle book. Camouflaged between lots of wonderful pictures that could look great framed on your wall, the author entices you in to her world, helps tune you in to her mindset and lets your tastebuds determine your destiny. This might sound a bit of pretentious twaddle but here the author and her publisher's team of talented designers have really managed to make a true fusion between a practical, good recipe book and an inspirational, aspirational lifestyle book. A sort of marriage for practical food-lovers made in heaven?

From the very first page to the very last page the reader is left nearly in a suspended dreamworld. Yet there is nothing fussy or unachievable here. Quite the contrary. The recipes, of which there are a lot, are almost an afterthought. As if placed there in a half-hearted apologetic way. Yet they are not haphazardly thrown in either. If you see the book you will understand what this means. They just sort of fade in and out. They are there when you need them but they don't get in the way either.

Taking a boring, practical approach the book needs more signposting, it needs to be easier to jump in and out, it needs an approximation of how long a recipe might take, how fattening (or not) it could be but... well.. pffff... Go and get another book if you want that! Don't rush it. Don't spoil it. Meander your way through the book, find what you want and bookmark it. Bookmark other things for later. If you absolutely must be oh-so-practical and in a bit of a rush, use the good index that sort of appears at the back.

The author gives you a lot of great recipes, stunning visuals to look at, much thought for your food (or should that be food for thought) and a reason to want to perhaps stumble into the kitchen and knock up a little dish or two. Split into the four seasons and then split further into savoury and sweet, you can find something for every tastebud. A few favourites and maybe something new and untested (for now). The recipes do seem achievable by even the most inexperienced cook - after all you are not going to be rushing these recipes are you? The recipes are concisely written but contain everything you need all in one place.

About the only real complaint, or should that be a niggle, is the binding. It keeps wanting to close the book on the reader and it does seem a shame to force the spine. Of course, in time, with lots of consultation, it will become a tired, floppy old sort of binding, holding the pages together with a relaxed sort of grip. Yet at the start it does seem a little sacrilegious to be a little rough with this gem... Unfortunately, it is not possible to give more than five YUMs (or stars) as the scale stops at five... Love at first sight and hopefully a long, lasting relationship ahead (with this book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
This was thankfully a book I first purchased in a book shop in north Yorkshire and had the chance to see it in person! It's a visual feast of huge beauty and the perfect large gift for any stylish girlfriend - the full width photographs are very special and the lifestyle images a treat- its right up there on your list with the vinrage tea party and goddess books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great recipe book from Donna Hay, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
Enjoy using this book & find the recipes easy to follow & create great dishes. Do like the idea of the recipe book being sectioned into seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I saw this wonderful book in New Zealand in our holiday home and ..., 24 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
I saw this wonderful book in New Zealand in our holiday home and both my friend and I ordered a copy the minute we got back home. It's full of the most tantalising recipes. Can't wait to work my way through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection., 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
Amazing photography and styling, printed on beautiful paper. Everything I'd expect from Donna Hay. Simple recipes sound like hit, only tried one so far and it was brilliant. Definetely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as expected, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
Donna Hay books [I think I have them all] are never disappointing, and this one was as good as ever. A good read with good ideas to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book to have on the shelf, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
I like this book and hopefully will make lots of the recipes. I also like the fact that she takes shortcuts but does not resort to using a lot of convenience food. I prefer food that is as natural as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague!, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
Do not buy this product under any circumstances. The outer cover is not glued properly to the pages and thus peels off. I returned the item to get a replacement and the exact same problem happend again. A totally substandard and inadequate product. Avoid like the plague!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons (Paperback)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seasons
Seasons by Donna Hay (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2012)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews