Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Easy, but Stylish, Cross Stitch Samplers, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Sue (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
These lovely stylish cross stitch samplers are all in one colour either red or blue. This makes them very easy to stitch for the beginner (though there are no how to do cross stitch instructions in this book). They (as far as I can see) include only full cross stitches (no tricky quarter or half stitches) and outline/backstitch stitch and could be stitched on either aida or linen and use DMC threads. There are a lot of samplers in this book and the more experienced could design their own sampler using the many motifs and alphabets included. There are large samplers and smaller ones which include varied motifs which could be stitched individually. Charts are very clear, a good size and in colour (smaller ones in the book itself and larger ones in the envelope pocket). There are a few french words on some of the samplers such as Amite (which the author tells us means friendship) and this gives them charm. My favourites are: Romantic which shows a girl and boy dancing, alphabet, rose, butterfly and floral swags (quite vintage); Two Reindeer with tree and 'fairisle' type patterns (in a heart) - very Scandanavian; Folk Alphabet - this has an American patchwork type house and garden border with a full alphabet centre; more modern in style is a sampler which has a girl hanging out the washing with full alpha and duck, cat etc motifs. There are roosters, cherries, butterflies, wonderful alphabets, lovely repeating patterns, houses etc - surely something here to please everybody (some samplers have a vintage and some have a modern look) and can I just say that I feel the design shown on the book cover is definately not the best this book has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely selection of samplers with clear charts, 21 Oct 2012
By 
J. Nicholl "James and Aeryn's Mum" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
I am really in to french cross stitch at present and so love this book as it has lot of french themed samplers with lovely big clear charts. They are all mostly one colour and so make it much easier to stitch that charts with multiple colours. I particularly like that fact that you can take elements from some of the charts to make up your own designs. The "Fantasia" chart is my favourite with lots of different animals and scripts.
The only reason that I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars is that I would have liked it to have been "more french". There are some designs with the odd french word but I would have liked something with a few phrases. I appreciate this is probably for the British market and so not everyone will want this so may not be a problem but as it was entitled "made in france" I did expect it to be a bit more french!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous Cross-stitch experience, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
The Patterns were beautiful. The Instructions for all the parts of a pattern simple. The finished item Superb, Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good browse., 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
have been able to get some good ideas on how to design my own samplers. love sitting and looking at the different designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Patterns, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Ms. H. Collett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
Great book full of very pretty patterns. It is just a pattern book, no instructions as such and not a lot of reading material. It is a lovely book with some great ideas. I have completed quite a few of them already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross stitch loveliness, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
I have only made one sampler from this book but know that I will kep dipping into it constantly. The designs are easy to follow and so effective in just one colour stitching. Apart from the heart design on the book jacket the book contains 30 different projects including lots of alphabet designs and motifs that can be incorporated into your own design of sampler. Houses; cats; birds; chickens; pastoral characters and scenes with a French twist plus borders etc. The book contains easy to follow charts for the smaller items and also 8 full scale loose sheets in a integral pocket for the larger samplers. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to produce a French vintage style sampler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Working on them now, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
So pretty, and relatively simple.... Nice pieces to start up my cross stitching again with! Also, a variety of complexities, so some to do in an afternoon and some larger projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely projects, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
I first saw the heart sampler featuring two birds in my World of Cross Stitch magazine and did it immediately.
I had to have the book as it is full of beautiful pieces that can decorate any room and you can find a present for any person within this book.
Everything is done on 28 count aida in this book so if you do not feel confident to use that count yet it helps if you have a measure which will calculate your stitch count for larger count aida.
These projects are good if you do not want to use too much precious threads making presents too and each design can be made into cushions or totes or whatever you like if you do not fancy framing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers (Hardcover)
This is earmarked as a birthday present for someone who has just taken cross stitch as a hobby. Very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers
Made in France: Cross-stitch Samplers by Marjorie Massey (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2012)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews