Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finest pops book we've found!
My mum is something of a cookbook lover. She is a whizz in the kitchen, and her snazzy mixer means she's often trying new things. The latest discovery is 'pops', mini cakes on sticks for the uninitiated.
This really is the finest example of a pops cookery book we have come across. The pictures are clear and utterly beautiful, and the recipes are thorough and...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by StarWarsFan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and Cheerful
Cake Pops have been becoming more and more popular since they first burst onto the scene a couple of years ago (thanks to Bakerella) and this is a fun little book to help you create some of these treats on a stick.

It is not the most exciting of collections of recipes - everything is quite straightforward and down to earth. This is ideal for those needing to...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Simon Tavener


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finest pops book we've found!, 22 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My mum is something of a cookbook lover. She is a whizz in the kitchen, and her snazzy mixer means she's often trying new things. The latest discovery is 'pops', mini cakes on sticks for the uninitiated.
This really is the finest example of a pops cookery book we have come across. The pictures are clear and utterly beautiful, and the recipes are thorough and clear.
The only niggle is that there are no beginners tips for getting things right and making the best pops. If you're new to 'pops', then maybe not the best book. However, an experienced baker should have no trouble with these recipes. Some of the presentation is fiddly, but a joyous challenge rather than an annoying experience.
All in all a worthy addition to your cookery book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kids love them - and so do adults!!, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. L. N. Taylor "lntaylor3" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Who would ever have thought there would be a recipe book for making biscuits and cakes on sticks - whatever next!! What may sound like a bizarre idea actually works very well. Many of the recipes in the book are very easy to follow and make, but be warned, there are a number of much more complex recipes too. I've had a go at several of the easier recipes and they have all gone down well. Not only do the finished products look unusual, they taste great as well. Excellent for kids parties, or for kids snacks anytime. These cake and cookie pops were also a big hit with the adults at my daughters party, and a number of mothers have now ordered this book. 4 stars for a very interesting and unusual recipe book, but minus 1 star for the complexity of certain recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very much the sweet treats of the moment, 12 Dec 2011
By 
Mozzie (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My friends at work all love this little book of novel sweet treats that you can make very simply and quickly at home using easy to source ingredients such as biscuits, cake bars or chocolates.

I've drawn inspiration from the book and tried the simple method of making small and large chocolate cake balls just by breaking up some cake bars and mixing with warmed-up fudge,rolling them into balls to bind them, then letting it cool a while and then dipping in melted white chocolate and finally rolling in dessicated coconut. Then using blunt lollypop sticks or kebab sticks with the point cut off it's easy to skewer a large and a small ball to make (you guessed it) a snowman body. Adding a face is easy using piped icing or tiny pieces of licorice, strawberry shoelaces or angelica. Use thin strips of strawberry ribbon to make a scarf etc etc.

This is a lot of fun to try and it seems to be a bit of a hit right now, I'd never heard of cake pops till I picked this up, but everyone at work seems to be talking about it, so I guess it's one of those ideas that has really taken off suddenly, no wonder when its so easy and fun to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars make me cake and cookie pops, 22 Nov 2011
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For the money, this is an excellent book. A great 'stocking filler' for the avid home baker or anyone who has children and might like to make something a bit different when it's party time.

The photographs are lovely in this book, and the recipes seem easy to follow. I particularly liked the way there are 'tips' in boxes on all pages, the ones in the 'Basics' section were particularly helpful.

I just have a couple of little niggles (which is why this book didn't receive 5 stars).........

1. I wish there had been a list of stockists included, as there are some lovely sticks and some 'unusual' ingredients that I'd love to be able to purchase (e.g. Iranian Fairy Floss!).

2. I really felt that there were just too many things on sticks for the sake of it by the end of the book - putting a shop bought meringue nest, or an Oreo cookie on a stick just seems a step too far in 'popping' for my liking!!

All in all, a good book for the money, but I think there might be too many 'ready made' options in there to make it an essential bookshelf addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get for the little Van-Helsings in the family, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an eccentric, some would perhaps say slightly-bonkers book which offers a myriad of recipes for cakes and biscuits (sorry cookies) all impaled upon lollipop sticks. I am sure that it will appeal to the potential Van-Helsings in the family as well as parents trying to encourage children to take an interest in the kitchen in a fun, safe (when accompanied) way which will (hopefully) lead to ones child achieving TV chef status.

Seriously, this is a very well put-together and thought-out little book. As a softcover it boasts something like 125 pages including over 50 recipes and is amply illustrated with photographs showing you what the final product should look like. The pages are all glossy and therefore wipe-clean which is a bonus for a book of this kind.

The book is broken into 4 main recipe sections, cookie pops, cake pops, party time and fast&simple. The use of the word cookie is a slight Americanism since (in the UK) we would refer to these as biscuits. That is these confections; yummy as they are; are harder and crispier and not the same as the larger and softer "cookies" which we all know and also love. Of course it would be hard to mount a soft cookie on a stick but I feel this is a point worth mentioning

There is a great range of sweet-toothed recipes in this book and nothing is savoury. As well as a range of biscuits and cakes, we see pops made from popcorn clusters, rocky road, marshmallow and much more. The range will excite any child and tempt any adult. Nothing is particularly difficult and the strength of this book really is that you can involve a child in the cooking process.

Finally, there is a basics section which details some of the basic processes involved (such as icing), provides details on where to get lollipop sticks (hint: search on Amazon) and fills in the gaps making the book very approachable and easy for even the novice cook.

As someone who avoids fruit because it is too messy to eat, I feel that the idea of mounting treats on keep-your-hands-clean sticks a brilliant idea and as such heartily recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love the pictures - it all looks so appealing!, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Fi P "Fi" (Chicago, Il) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I ordered this for ideas for my children's party bags. The front cover looked so appealing and then you open inside and the pictures popped out at me!
Inside there are ideas for cookie pops, cake pops,, party ideas and fast recipes.
The cookie pops are basically your regular children's biscuits with a stick attached but that stick makes them look so much sweeter and classy!
the fast recipes include marshmallow pops which are basically mallows with sprinkles and chocolate coating with a stick but they look amazing in the photos.
I can't wait to try them - but i will need to spend some money on the sticks and special toppings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and Cheerful, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Cake Pops have been becoming more and more popular since they first burst onto the scene a couple of years ago (thanks to Bakerella) and this is a fun little book to help you create some of these treats on a stick.

It is not the most exciting of collections of recipes - everything is quite straightforward and down to earth. This is ideal for those needing to make things quickly for parties. The text is very clear and well laid out and the photography is bright and fun - a well-presented book,

Indeed the whole feel of the book is geared towards children - which is understandable - but I would have preferred a slightly broader range of design ideas.

It is in no way a bad book - just rather limited in scope. For those of you with children who want something new for parties and goodie bags - go for it! It will be ideal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Make me :cake&cookie pops, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
VERY GOOD! LOTS OF VARIETY FOR CAKE & COOKIE POPS ,JUST COULD OF HAD A RECIPIE FOR A CAKE POP MACHINE & AN EGG FREE RECIPIE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs uses it all the time, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
The wife has become a big fan of pop cakes and hers are outstanding due to the stuff she has learnt in this book .She is happy with it so i am happy

it makes a good gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 7 Mar 2013
By 
B. Lyne "Bonnie" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops (Paperback)
This is an amazing little recipe book with such original ideas in it. I would recommend this to anyone who likes baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops
Make Me: Cake & Cookie Pops by Murdoch Books (Paperback - 5 Dec 2011)
5.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews