Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as a general travel guide as it is a book for stylist
This is a handy, hardbacked book with a 'wipe clean' surface that definitely has the designers' touch - textured matte paper, full bleed pages, pockets for storing postcards and notes, a luxurious elasticated divider, etc. It has a general introduction to NYC, then is divided in self-explanatory themed sections: Scents and Flower Merchants, Oddities and Curiosities,...
Published on 17 July 2011 by Gary White

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely but impractical
This is an undeniably pretty book. A lovely hardback with matt pages filled with gorgeous and eclectic photographs, it's obviously had a lot of care put into it. The style it is written in is very friendly and accessible too. Stylist Sibella Court takes you on a number of different routes around New York focusing on things such as Haberdashery, Furniture, Flowers, Scents,...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by Miss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely but impractical, 4 Aug 2011
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an undeniably pretty book. A lovely hardback with matt pages filled with gorgeous and eclectic photographs, it's obviously had a lot of care put into it. The style it is written in is very friendly and accessible too. Stylist Sibella Court takes you on a number of different routes around New York focusing on things such as Haberdashery, Furniture, Flowers, Scents, etc. She tells you where to go, when to go, and at what points to stop for breakfast or coffee! On each route are a long list of shops and she gives a brief description of what you will find at each place.

However, as lovely as the book is, I found it hard to get to grips with and I can't imagine it would be very practical to use. The maps in muted tones of grey and brown are difficult to read, and although the different stop off points are marked on them, the route you take is not. Also, the lack of any descriptions for the numerous photos mean you can't tell which shops a lot of the pictured items are from.

You should also be aware that this isn't a book which focuses on clothes or fashion at all really, which I found surprising. Court is more of a stylist for backdrops for photo shoots etc, rather than a clothes stylist, and so you shouldn't expect a trip round the designer stores or even vintage clothes stores.

I can imagine this being a great book to buy if you live in New York or regularly visit there and are interested in buying lots of homewares and similar things. However if you're just doing a short trip to NYC or don't fancy spending hours wandering around twenty different flower shops then this isn't the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful., 10 Mar 2012
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sibella Court, author of 'A Stylists Guide to New York,' is interior stylist who also owns her own 'haberdashery meets hardware store,' in her home city of Sydney, Australia. However, she lived in New York for a number of years and gained a valuable insight into the inspirational shops of the Big Apple. This book is lovingly crafted from the fabric cover, elastic binding and quality paper, to the stunning photographs, layering and maps. The guide is primarily for people with a similar passion for design who love spending time shopping for beautiful things for their homes or business.

The book is split into 'loops,' which cover Scents & Flower Merchants, Oddities & Curiosities, Jewellery & Hardware, Haberdashery & Handmade, Drapers & Upholstery, Art & Objects, Paper & Art Supplies, Kitchen & Table Paraphernalia, and Furniture & Interiors. Each covers a number of stores and is designed to be crammed into one busy day with breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack stops identified. However, as a map is included you can quickly use the ideas to create your own itinerary (but write it down as the book would be too heavy to take with you).

An index is included with all the shops listed alphabetically with addresses and websites where available and also by zipcode which is handy. One thing I didn't like is the fact that it isn't always clear which photograph matches which location- a numbering system of the photos would be handy for people who are inspired but perhaps don't have time to complete each loop in its entirety.

Whilst it isn't a guide for someones first trip to New York, it is lovely to dip in and out of or for travellers on repeat trips looking for interior design inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as a general travel guide as it is a book for stylist, 17 July 2011
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a handy, hardbacked book with a 'wipe clean' surface that definitely has the designers' touch - textured matte paper, full bleed pages, pockets for storing postcards and notes, a luxurious elasticated divider, etc. It has a general introduction to NYC, then is divided in self-explanatory themed sections: Scents and Flower Merchants, Oddities and Curiosities, Jewellery and Hardware, Haberdashers and Handmade, Drapers and Upholstery, Arts and Objects, Paper and Art Supplies, Kitchen and Table, Furniture and Interiors. Even if you are not a stylist, for the artisitically or design-orientated traveller, this is a very useful guide. There are also maps and illustrations to guide you on your travels around NYC and two indexes - based on zipcodes or alphabetical. Highly recommended....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good guide with new haunts, 5 July 2011
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book format and its a great gem to travel with to NYC-the breadth of little secrtet haunts mentioned would keep you busy for weeks, so you will have to cherry pick, but all are to be recommended-makes a refreshing change from the usual guides and has dreamy photography...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 22 Jun 2011
By 
L. Goldsmith (Featherstone) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A highly idiosyncratic guide, ideal for arty crafty people looking for an "alternative" NYC. It lists and describes places where you might find oddities, textiles, art, which can extend your social circle by hundreds of like-minded people in a few days.
Beautifully illustrated and printed, the edition it has a feel of authenticity about it, very suitable.
I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great style guide to NYC but more style over usability makes it difficult to read at times, 19 July 2011
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a difficult one for me as I liked the book but I'm not sure what she is aiming for with it. It's a cross between a travel book and a miniature coffee table book. It's nice to look at and has a lot of info but in many cases it is style over usability and I'm not sure how practical/useful it would be on a trip to New York. However if I was to go back to New York again I would probably want to take this book if I could justify it simply so I could use it to visit the places she describes in it. I want to like it because it is a beautiful book and I love the conversational style - examples would be how she takes you on a journey through a particular part of NY and says things like it's not quite time for lunch so let's stop at X for coffee, and after that we can got to Y and by that time it will be time for lunch so I recommend Z. It would be nice to follow the book and take those journeys through Manhattan. What isn't so good is when you open the book and the contents page is a horizontal list rather than vertical so you have to turn the book in order to read it, and then the next page it's back to vertical again. The contents list for each chapter is laid out like that. Also because of the colours of some of the pages, the muted tones and the matt finish, the text can be hard to read and that also applies to the maps which are subject to the same colours, background patterns, postmarks printed over the text etc. The zipcodes map is printed in muted shades of greens and browns with black text which is not the most user-friendly. I can imagine standing on a street corner, or a dark cafe/bar peering at these and not getting very far - even in broad daylight right now I feel a little eye strain. There are lots of photos of items presumably found in the shops, interiors of shops and probably enough detail on each place to give you enough of an idea as to whether you want to visit it or not. Whoever is responsible for the design of the book has done a nice job but it could have been made clearer and easier to read by changing some of the colours and backgrounds. If I go back to NY I probably would take this with me, even though I've been a dozen times before, there are lots of places mentioned in this book that I have never seen and it's a great book for allowing you to discover some of these off-the-tourist-trail gems. The book is getting 4/5 because it is packed with great information. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, 10 Dec 2013
By 
N. Sheppard "Neil Sheppard" (London, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
A great source of inspiration for my next trip to NYC. Covers all those hard to find stores, off the beaten track, where one may find that special item of interest. Nicely laid out and photographed book, with great production values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going to New York, then this is a must., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book with amazing images through out. Can't wait to visit some of the shops mentioned. Pleasure to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Great book with lovely pictures. It is good if you want to get away from the usual tourist sites and are interested in interior design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bulky, 16 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Stylist's Guide to NYC (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like others have already said this is a very attractive, quality looking book. It has some good sections and I've enjoyed reading it. However it doesn't really meet my needs. I'm about to go to New York for the first time and this isn't something I can take with me, it's just too heavy and impractical. As such I've bought a couple of other guides which will be more useful when I'm actually there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stylist's Guide to NYC
The Stylist's Guide to NYC by Sibella Court (Hardcover - 6 Jun 2011)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews