Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great healthy meals
I've thoroughly enjoyed making a lot of these recipes. Have found it difficult to buy the quinoa flakes in local supermarkets or health shops in our area.
Published 13 months ago by joss

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not inspirational
This book is decent with several reasonable recipes that work OK. The problem is it doesn't really show you anything new to do with quinoa, it just mainly has fairly common recipes (see below) with quinoa substituted for other things. With the soups, rather than add pearl barley or lentils, quinoa is added instead. Salads unsurprisingly have cooked quinoa tossed with the...
Published 13 months ago by red0209


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not inspirational, 21 May 2013
By 
red0209 (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
This book is decent with several reasonable recipes that work OK. The problem is it doesn't really show you anything new to do with quinoa, it just mainly has fairly common recipes (see below) with quinoa substituted for other things. With the soups, rather than add pearl barley or lentils, quinoa is added instead. Salads unsurprisingly have cooked quinoa tossed with the other ingredients. There are cakes and desserts with quinoa flour substituted for standard flour. There are a few semi interesting meat recipes (I'd recommend trying Chicken Mexicana and Lamb with Garlic, Cumin and Peas), but again it's mostly quinoa instead of lentils, rice or pasta, or perhaps using it as a stuffing or the base for a crust. The recipes themselves apart from that twist, are no different than you find elsewhere. Perhaps I am being overly critical, and expecting too much from what is a rather simple ingredient but I did think that this book would offer a little more than it does. One thing I would have definitely expected it to have though is nutritional information for each recipe, which it doesn't. If you're wanting to cook with quinoa, you're probably doing so because of the health benefits, so nutritional information for each recipe would've been useful. The book has a good layout and most but not all of the recipes have photographs. It looks like the book is Australian, so for the British reader measurement in cups might be unfamiliar, and you've got different names for some ingredients (eggplant, zucchini, capsicum to name three). All in all not a bad book but I couldn't recommend that anyone rush to buy it.

The contents page looks like this:

What is Quinoa? 6
Soups 10
Breads and Pasta 28
Salads 42
Vegetarian 74
Meat 110
Poultry 132
Seafood 152
Sweet Things 168
Index 192

The full list of recipes:

Carrot, Ginger, Garlic and Coriander Soup
Cream of Lettuce Soup
Creamy Coconut Seafood Soup
Greek Egg and Lemon Meatball Soup
Zucchini, Garlic and Parmesan Cheese Soup
Roasted Tomato and Fennel Soup with Basil and Garlic Pesto
Sweet Potato, Chilli, Basil and Balsamic Vinegar Bean Soup
Lentil Soup
Pumpkin, Tomato and Pea Soup

Buttermilk Bread Loaf
Herb Bread
Olive Flat Bread
Cornbread
Fresh Pasta Dough
Gnocchi

Mexican Corn and Red Kidney Bean Salad
Lentil and Chilli Salad with Lime and Fresh Coriander
Roasted Capsicum and Cannellini Bean Salad
Beetroot Garden Salad
Pancetta, Mushroom and Zucchini Salad
Tabouleh
Salami, Roasted Peppers, Sundried Tomato and Olive Salad
Tomato, Basil and Garlic Salad
Prawn and Avocado Salad
Fattoush Salad
Chicken Salad
Mediterranean Vegetable Salad
Mediterranean Summer Salad
Thai Beef Salad

Mushroom and Garlic 'Risotto'
Eggplant with Chickpeas
Tomato and Basil Baked Capsicums
Moroccan Pumpkin Halves
Vegetable Bake
Sweet Potato and Zucchini Pie
Stuffed Tomatoes with Dill and Pine Nuts
Middle Eastern Bean Patties with Yoghurt and Mint Sauce
Mango, Sweet Potato and Tomato Curry
Cherry Tomato and Butter Bean Stew
Zucchini and Olive Bake
Spinach and Tomato 'Risotto'
Broccoli and Cauliflower Panagrattato
Spinach and Cheese Soufflé
Spinach, Mushroom and Chickpea Curry
Ratatouille
Curried Lentil Pilaf
White Cheese Sauce

Beef Lasagne
Moroccan Been Tagine with Cardamom Quinoa
Individual Eggplant Moussaka
Crumbed Lamb Cutlets with Garlic, Lemon and Oregano
Mushroom Meatballs
Lamb with Pomegranate, Mint and Nuts
Lamb with Garlic, Cumin and Peas
Bacon Meat Loaf
Pea and Ham Mint Pie
Chorizo Sausage with Peas and Tomatoes

Roast Chicken with a Spicy Garlic Stuffing
Chicken Rissoles
Roast Chicken with Bacon, Mustard and Herb Stuffing
Chicken Fillets with Pancetta, Olives and Sun-dried Tomatoes
Spicy Chicken, Apricot and Almond Tagine
Christmas Turkey with Pork and Cranberry Stuffing
Herb-crumbed Chicken Tenderloins
Chicken Mexicana
Chicken with Preserved Lemon Tagine and Coconut Quinoa
Quail with Rocket, Garlic and Pine Nut Stuffing

Tuna with Tomatoes and Olives
Salmon Croquettes
Spanish,style Mussels
Mustard-crusted salmon with Dill and Lemon
Prawn 'Risotto'
Whole Snapper with a Mushroom and Leek Stuffing
Salt and Pepper Squid
Beer-battered Fish

Apple and Cinnamon Buttermilk Pancakes
Apple and Cinnamon Crumble
Blueberry Friands
Apple and Orange Breakfast Porridge
Creamy Cinnamon Pudding
Chocolate Cake
Christmas Fruit Cake
Creamy Coconut and Mango Pudding
Basic Pancake Batter
Raspberry Muffins
Pear Clafoutis
Rock Cakes
Pineapple, Banana and Walnut Cake
Plum Tart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great healthy meals, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
I've thoroughly enjoyed making a lot of these recipes. Have found it difficult to buy the quinoa flakes in local supermarkets or health shops in our area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, was very well received., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
Bought as a present , was very well received .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK novelty, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
another novelty cookbook that was a stocking filler, again unlikely to repeat many of the meals but handy if you are a veggie looking for some variety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but not great, 20 Nov 2013
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
I bought this book as I am huge quinoa fan. Yes, I found some recepies here I use often now. However I expected more good quinoa recepies from this book. There are much more and tastier recepies online for free these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, great value, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
I bought this recipe book for my son to get him interested in cooking with quinoa. I flicked through the pages when the book arrived, and the recipes were so tempting I realised that I must order a copy for myself. Although I've been cooking with quinoa for several years, I found lots of new ideas in this book, and it's my current favourite. The recipes aren't difficult to make, and most of the ingredients are readily available. The book itself is well-produced with lovely photos of the food and clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking with Quinoa, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
This book is easy to folow and has some really good recipes in it. You can do sweet and savoury dishes using Quinoa. Which I had never thought about until I got the book. Have tried a few recipes out and found them easy to do andhave got very nice end results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New wonder food, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
I was put on to this by my Gym trainer and surprised how good it is and look forward to trying these recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and inspirational, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Antigone (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
What a find this book was for my gluten free family. There is a wide variety of recipes with beautiful photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 April 2013
By 
Monika Rose (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain (Hardcover)
The first two recipes I used were really really bland so I am not keen to try any more, this one is for the charity shop bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain
Cooking with Quinoa: The Supergrain by Rena Patten (Hardcover - April 2011)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews